11/7 Chewie AMPS 266/ +2 280/ +4 243/ PMPS 227/ +2 242

Virginie & Chewie (GA)

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

Happy Monday from the Hot Mess Express :cat:

There's been so many disruptions to the insulin schedule, between slowly moving the shot an hour for daylight savings, missing a shot when we ran out of insulin a few days ago and then shooting an entire hour late last night, that understandably Chewie's numbers are all over the place.
I'm giving her a few more days at a stable schedule to see what happens, then if she is not settling in the lower blues, we'll be increasing to 8.5 units. Given my serious sleep deprivation and need to sleep through the night at least for a couple of weeks, the fact that Chewie doesn't feel good when she is in the greens and is becoming so resentful of repeated ear pokes, I moved our goal to lower blues for now.

Haven't heard from vet yet regarding her IGF-1 test results, but will keep you good people posted when I do!

May all our pokes be easy and all our kitties surf easy today :bighug:
 
Yesterday

Happy Monday from the Hot Mess Express :cat:

There's been so many disruptions to the insulin schedule, between slowly moving the shot an hour for daylight savings, missing a shot when we ran out of insulin a few days ago and then shooting an entire hour late last night, that understandably Chewie's numbers are all over the place.
I'm giving her a few more days at a stable schedule to see what happens, then if she is not settling in the lower blues, we'll be increasing to 8.5 units. Given my serious sleep deprivation and need to sleep through the night at least for a couple of weeks, the fact that Chewie doesn't feel good when she is in the greens and is becoming so resentful of repeated ear pokes, I moved our goal to lower blues for now.

Haven't heard from vet yet regarding her IGF-1 test results, but will keep you good people posted when I do!

May all our pokes be easy and all our kitties surf easy today :bighug:
You’ve got the right attitude and a great sense of humour “hot mess express” lol. I think Chewie will settle in.
 
Aaaand she stole a couple of bites of another cat's raw food and ended up barfing her lunch of fishy canned food (of course) and two bites of raw food INSIDE the tracks of the screen door... I need a second pair of patience pants to wear over my first one o_O
 
Oy vey! I completely sympathize with moving the goal posts a little to accommodate sleep and sanity. I work from home so I can sort of scoot by with being a half-zombie but it does catch up with me. And if we aren’t fully alert then how can we best care for our kiddos?

In solidarity with Chewie, Biggie gave me a good hiss prior to his shot today! ;) It was my fault though for not making his breakfast appealing enough to distract him while I went in for the poke lol.
 
Oy vey! I completely sympathize with moving the goal posts a little to accommodate sleep and sanity. I work from home so I can sort of scoot by with being a half-zombie but it does catch up with me. And if we aren’t fully alert then how can we best care for our kiddos?
Thank you for that... I also work from home and thought I could get by but my forgetting to test her PMPS and THEN forgetting her insulin shot altogether until an hour later really shook me. If I could blank out on something like this, I clearly need to take a step back and prioritize getting sleep so my brain can work. I slept in the guest bedroom last night without any cats or any testing, and felt tons better this morning (and those jerks did NOT wake up my boyfriend like they wake ME up, so he slept fine too).

In solidarity with Chewie, Biggie gave me a good hiss prior to his shot today! ;) It was my fault though for not making his breakfast appealing enough to distract him while I went in for the poke lol.
Oh, Biggie... take it easy on your mom, will you?! :oops:
 
Thank you for that... I also work from home and thought I could get by but my forgetting to test her PMPS and THEN forgetting her insulin shot altogether until an hour later really shook me. If I could blank out on something like this, I clearly need to take a step back and prioritize getting sleep so my brain can work. I slept in the guest bedroom last night without any cats or any testing, and felt tons better this morning (and those jerks did NOT wake up my boyfriend like they wake ME up, so he slept fine too).
I’m glad you got a good night’s sleep! Haha of course they left him alone! Your cats have definitely got your number!

Oh, Biggie... take it easy on your mom, will you?! :oops:

He says he’ll try!
 
I’m glad you got a good night’s sleep! Haha of course they left him alone! Your cats have definitely got your number!
It's ALWAYS like that. The few times I have had to travel back home and leave him in charge, they were also mysteriously less picky about food... so now on top of demanding catholes (my loving nickname for them when they're naughty), I have a bf who tells me I should just toughen up :eek:

He says he’ll try!
Haha my guess is he won't try tooooo hard :p
 
I found this exchange highly entertaining, thank you @Jackie and Biggie and @Virginie lol
I’m also in zombie mode and battling a cold or flu so I’ve got Herman on a slightly reduced dose for a couple days until I can catch up. I feel a little guilty doing it but I desperately need a good night sleep to better care for him! He can be a real “demanding cathole” sometimes but I love him!
 
It's ALWAYS like that. The few times I have had to travel back home and leave him in charge, they were also mysteriously less picky about food... so now on top of demanding catholes (my loving nickname for them when they're naughty), I have a bf who tells me I should just toughen up :eek:
Well, I’m glad you don’t have to worry about them being fussy when you’re away…but I think your bf is more than a little bit off in his assessment! ;)

Haha my guess is he won't try tooooo hard :p
Nope! But he is the last cat I’ve had that I would have guessed would put up with everything I do. I had to check bg on one of my kitties (Celeste) who passed away last year, and she probably needed insulin but I didn’t know anything about it at the time and my vet was telling me numbers under 300 were fine. But, she was the kind of cat who just melted and rolled around and purred when you walked in the room and was really docile. But to poke her ear took two people! So, I don’t know how that would have gone, but I’m sure we would have figured it out if I had thought she needed insulin.
This is Celeste, my heavenly kitty:
upload_2022-11-7_17-20-36.jpeg

upload_2022-11-7_17-21-26.jpeg



I found this exchange highly entertaining, thank you @Jackie and Biggie and @Virginie lol
I’m also in zombie mode and battling a cold or flu so I’ve got Herman on a slightly reduced dose for a couple days until I can catch up. I feel a little guilty doing it but I desperately need a good night sleep to better care for him! He can be a real “demanding cathole” sometimes but I love him!
I hope you feel better soon! Yes, the cathole comment cracked me up, too!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-11-7_17-17-35.jpeg
    upload_2022-11-7_17-17-35.jpeg
    125.8 KB · Views: 93
  • upload_2022-11-7_17-20-36.jpeg
    upload_2022-11-7_17-20-36.jpeg
    119.9 KB · Views: 115
  • upload_2022-11-7_17-21-26.jpeg
    upload_2022-11-7_17-21-26.jpeg
    125.8 KB · Views: 126
@Jackie and Biggie wow, Celeste was absolutely stunning - I have a soft spot for long-haired kitties :cat:
In the end given her temperament as you described it, maybe it was for the best that she never received insulin?
Thank you, I’d love to see more pics of Chewie, she looks gorgeous, too. Yes, I did think that, but you always second guess things…I think that it worked out for the best, though as far as that goes. :bighug:
 
Back
Top