11/7 Bailey +10 312

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Bailey

Member Since 2011
Good morning Lantus forum,
Bailey's PMPS last night was 486 (509 on recheck) :o So I tested her a little early this morning. I am thinking I need to get rid of the dry food ASAP. Wish us luck!
 
Good luck! It's a very important step in getting FD under control. Some kitties go for it much easier than others. Hopefully Bailey will fall in that group. Do test frequently during the transiton because the numbers may take a significant drop.
 
Hi guys .. Have we ever stopped into bailey's condo before? If not, welcome from us! Good luck in getting your kitty off of dry food, that can have such an impact on numbers .. just be sure to stay on top of spot checks while making the transition .. hope you guys have a great day!
 
Thanks guys, we will be sure to do spot checks. My husband is able to be home with the kitties today so I have picked up the dry food... we will see how it goes. Bailey has always been a dry food kitty but is enjoying the Fancy Feast.
PeterDevonMocha, we are very new here. Thanks for the welcome!
 
It looks like Bailey had a bounce!

You really need to test before every shot. Otherwise, you have no idea whether it's safe to give insulin. Likewise, you should do what you can to get at least one test per cycle. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot test numbers so those spot checks are vitally important.
 
:lol: :lol:
'A Bouncing Bailey Girl"


welcome to Lantus Land!
it is a magical and healing place...

celi & binks


edited to add...not laughing at the fact that Bailey is bouncing...
laughing because it reminded me of how expectant fathers were given the news..
 
I checked in with hubby and at +6 Bailey was at 177. So far so good :smile:
So... what exactly is a bounce? (we are kind of new). Does that mean she got too low and then went high? I have been checking pre-shot twice daily (at least since we started hometesting a week ago) but have not gotten a lot of in-between numbers until yesterday. That 486 was my reward, I guess :lol:
 
Your AMPS numbers are missing on your SS for 11/4, 11/5, and 11/7 (today).

A bounce can occur in one of two ways. A cat can drop into lower than usual numbers (which could be a green, a blue, or even a yellow) or the cat drops quickly into a lower range of numbers. When this happens the liver "panics" and releases a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. These cause the BG level to spike upward. This is the body's way of protecting itself from what it assumes is a dangerous situation. It's a normal process.

It doesn't mean that Bailey was in a dangerous number zone. It may mean that your cat isn't used to being in blue numbers.
 
Bailey PMPS 177 tonight.
Sienne, thanks for your explanation of bouncing. I have been trying to test before every shot; on the 4th I just couldn't get any blood from her. The 5th we went to the vet... I put in a note explaining what happened there. Glad you took a look at our spreadsheet!
Celi & Binks, thanks for the welcome! Really glad we found this site.
 
just saying hi - the bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear, so don't panic if bailey is higher than you expect for the next couple of days. it will resolve and bailey's numbers will come down. over time the body gets used to the lower numbers and the bounces will lessen.

always hold the dose while the bounce is still going on. it's hard to watch the higher numbers and not increase the dose, but we wait til the bounce clears.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top