Ok thank you so much. To clarify it’s going up do I feed and give her shot? Or just ask for helpHi Nikki
That's good you got a +11
It's always helpful to do that because if they are low, we can see if they are on the way up at +12
Get a +12 and don't feed, stall and ask for assistance if the number is still low.
Do not feed yet 61 is still good and she is at the end of the insulin action.At what level do I feed and/or give her 0.5 dose insulin ?
Are you following SLGS or have you swapped to TR?To clarify it’s going up do I feed and give her shot? Or just ask for help
I would post the PMPS and, we'll see what it is . Don't feed..Ok thank you so much. To clarify it’s going up do I feed and give her shot? Or just ask for help
SLGS just getting very confused.Do not feed yet 61 is still good and she is at the end of the insulin action.
Are you following SLGS or have you swapped to TR?
OK on SLGS you do not shoot if she is below 90.SLGS just getting very confused.
I have plenty of strips and high carb and honey. I can stay up and check to around midnight and set an alarm to check between 2-4 ish I suppose. I got up last night and checked her even though she had no insulinI would post the PMPS and, we'll see what it is . Don't feed..
If she is still quite low, do you have plenty of strips to test and high carb food and honey and are prepared to stay up all night if necessary?
What is that in + hours based on her normal shot timeI can stay up and check to around midnight and set an alarm to check between 2-4 ish I suppose.
+5/6 if given in 15 minsWhat is that in + hours based on her normal shot time
Ok I’ll feed her nowYou can't shoot that number Nikki, so you will have to skip.
You need to give her some higher carb food to bring her up higher.
Test again in 20 mins after food and post result.
Please do check again in an hour as Bron suggested, we need to see if she is on her way back up.Ok I’ll feed her now
Yes thank you will doPlease do check again in an hour as Bron suggested, we need to see if she is on her way back up.
She was on hills science diet weight reduction r/d as per vet instructions to keep her on it when diagnosed. She was having up to 3 iu at one point and really high numbers. Vets thought she was insulin resistant. Then I changed her to fancy feast as per help here and she dropped in 24 hours.Nikki I see you note a food change on the SS, can you tell me what Fifi was on before you swapped to the fancy feast?
I have just checked her now half hour after food and she is 3.6 so going upShe was on hills science diet weight reduction r/d as per vet instructions to keep her on it when diagnosed. She was having up to 3 iu at one point and really high numbers. Vets thought she was insulin resistant. Then I changed her to fancy feast as per help here and she dropped in 24 hours.
Oops 3.6 (64.8)I have just checked her now half hour after food and she is 3.6 so going up
What did you feed?Oops 3.6 (64.8)
Was that the kibble or the pouches.She was on hills science diet weight reduction r/d as per vet instructions to keep her on it when diagnosed. She was having up to 3 iu at one point and really high numbers. Vets thought she was insulin resistant. Then I changed her to fancy feast as per help here and she dropped in 24 hours.
KibbleWas that the kibble or the pouches.
George was on the kibble prior to diagnosis, crazy HC
She had a little dry kibble I had of purina (I have to check exactly what). Higher carb added to some fancy feast pate I have a fancy feast gravy for if she goes really low and honey.What did you feed?
Have you been giving this in the past few days when you have seen her go a little bit lower than you are used to?She had a little dry kibble I had of purina (I have to check exactly what).
she has just been having her normal fancy feastHave you been giving this in the past few days when you have seen her go a little bit lower than you are used to?
d.
I assume I check her a bit tonight to see she continues to rise and then do the Amps and shoot anything over 50? Is that right?No
she has just been having her normal fancy feast
Oops I think I got that wrong. Anything over 90?I assume I check her a bit tonight to see she continues to rise and then do the Amps and shoot anything over 50? Is that right?
Yes. over 90. She may be quite high after the kibble, it can take longer to get out of the system.Oops I think I got that wrong. Anything over 90?
I assume I check her a bit tonight to see she continues to rise and then do the Amps and shoot anything over 50? Is that right?
Yes I can get rid of the dry. It was just a back up as I knew it was HC and was a sample pack I got. I’ll get some more fancy feast gravy for times I may need. I can try my best at reducing the dose to .25. So tomorrow morning as long as she is above 90 I’ll shoot that. If she is below 90 do I skip?Yes. over 90. She may be quite high after the kibble, it can take longer to get out of the system.
Yep grab another test in an hour or so see where shes heading. Feed her now her normal FF as you would any other day.
If you'vee managed to transition her to wet food, personally I would keep off the kibble altogether, it can stay in their systems quite a bit longer and plays havoc with the numbers making it hard to know what to do about dosing, when the effect of the kibble wears off the numbers can come tumbling down. In contrast the wet HC will be out of the system in a couple of hours so it's much easier to know exactly what is going on with her BG how much is bounce, how much is food related. Would you be willing to take the dry out of the picture altogether?
With the drop below 90 today (she dipped to 50) she earned another reduction. Usually I don't like back to back reductions as they often don't hold. But in your case I am going to suggest that you do take her down to 0.25u ( I now that's going to be tricky for you with the syringes you have. Do you think you can manage that? Perhaps draw a sample up that you will call 0.25 (make sure that's less than your 0.5u you have been shooting) so that when you draw 0.25u you can compare and make sure you are being consistent.
The reason for suggesting that you take the reductions are.
She dropped below 90 after a skip just 3 cycles ago.
She was on a very HC kibble 10 days ago and we may be seeing the effect of this, it's possible that her insulin needs have reduced significantly now it's finally out of the picture.
Do I give her more fancy feast pate now? Or do you just mean Normal future meal times. I just checked her and creeped up to 3.9 (70.2) after 1 hour of eatingYes I can get rid of the dry. It was just a back up as I knew it was HC and was a sample pack I got. I’ll get some more fancy feast gravy for times I may need. I can try my best at reducing the dose to .25. So tomorrow morning as long as she is above 90 I’ll shoot that. If she is below 90 do I skip?
Just her normal meals as you would usually.Do I give her more fancy feast pate now? Or do you just mean Normal future meal times. I just checked her and creeped up to 3.9 (70.2) after 1 hour of eating
Get a +11 and if she is below 120 post for some advice at that point.Yes I can get rid of the dry. It was just a back up as I knew it was HC and was a sample pack I got. I’ll get some more fancy feast gravy for times I may need. I can try my best at reducing the dose to .25. So tomorrow morning as long as she is above 90 I’ll shoot that. If she is below 90 do I skip?
Yes tomorrow I can check frequently.Just her normal meals as you would usually.
Get a +11 and if she is below 120 post for some advice at that point.
If you need to tomorrow morning would you be able to test her frequently.
Excellent. Then +11 if Fifi is low then it gives us time to formulate a plan for PS. If she is high, which she may well be then go ahead with the 0.25, but get tests at regular intervals starting at +2 and if you find she is dropping sharply post for help and increase the frequency of monitoring.Yes tomorrow I can check frequently.
Ok will do. Thank you all for your help yet againExcellent. Then +11 if Fifi is low then it gives us time to formulate a plan for PS. If she is high, which she may well be then go ahead with the 0.25, but get tests at regular intervals starting at +2 and if you find she is dropping sharply post for help and increase the frequency of monitoring.
Yes I will. Can’t believe what the change of food has done. She was having no real change for 3-4 months and up to 3 iu 12 hourly. Hope it continues for her.Yes, very well, considering you have had 2 skipped doses in the last 2 days.
Fifi has done really well since you swapped over to low carb food.
Many cats don't respond this quickly/well to the insulin.
Hopefully you will be able to shoot both cycles now with the reduced dose.
Please keep posting so we can see her progress.