11/6 Whitey AMPS 366 - increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ryanms3030

Member Since 2013
Hello all. Haven't posted in a while. I increased Whitey from 1 unit to 1.25 a couple of weeks ago. The problem is that his highs seem to be getting much higher. He used to rarely break 300 but now he seems to hit the high 300s regularly but at the same time his bottom numbers are regularly in the 60s and even as low as 40 on this dose. A lot of his 60s have been +3/4 so he might be going lower but from history he does seem to nadir earlier then +6 .

Question is should I try going up to 1.5 units now or hold longer since he has been getting lower bottom numbers?
 
I would hold the dose as is. It looks like he's bouncing, to me. And it looks like the bounces are not lasting too long, lately, which is good. Good job getting those night time tests! That helps a lot in determining how Whitey is doing on this dose.
I would have tried to get another test especially yesterday, like an out the door test, if you had to leave. I think his numbers are okay. We base the insulin dose on the nadir don't forget, not the pre shot test. Is he eating as much at night as he is during the day? Are you feeding mini meals?
 
Thanks for the feedback. As for meals, I free feed. We have 2 other cats in a small house so it's hard to control who is eating what when and hard to segregate them. All 3 of them get the same fancy feast. I put 3 cans out in the morning after his shot and 3 cans after his evening shot. All three eat when the food is put out and then graze throughout the day until it's gone. Whitey definitely seems more interested in eating at night, I'm guessing that's the nocturnal nature of cats. Before raising the dose to the current 1.25 we weren't seeing many numbers below 200 for a while so I'm happy to at least see some more greens lately so I'll hold him here for a while
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top