11/6 Pepper AMPS 445, +4 373 - Dose Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy&Pepper (GA)

Member Since 2012
previous condo

Pepper's numbers seem to be getting worse, not better. How much should I increase his dose this time? I spoke to Pepper's vet today and he suggested increasing to 5 units. I'm sorry I only increased by .25 u last time, so I'll increase it by however much the resident experts suggest this time. Thanks!
 
Re: 11/6 Pepper AMPS 445 - Dose Advice?

Do you have a profile for pepper? Is there any other illnesses or issues going on? What is his weight? What are you feeding him? It would help to know more.
 
Re: 11/6 Pepper AMPS 445 - Dose Advice?

If you're seeing nadirs that are consistently above 300, I'd increase by 0.5u. That would bring your dose to 4.75u.
 
Nancy:

In addition to raising the dose, I want to make a couple of other suggestions in an effort to brainstorm. Pepper's numbers are high and flat. While it may be that we've not found "his" dose, there could be other things going on. You noted in mid-October that he managed to snag some kibble. For many cats, kibble in the house is a huge temptation and they make it their mission in life to inhale, steal, and otherwise ingest dry food. If it's there, a persistent and resourceful cat will find it.

Could there be anything medical going on? Is Pepper acting normally? Is he behaving like his usual self? If not, a vet visit with blood work and a good general exam would be indicated. The other vet issue is teeth. Does Pepper need a dental?

I know you're on the fence about TR. I really want to do everything I can to twist your arm to increase Pepper's dose every 3 days. If nadirs are consistently above 300, increase by 0.5u. I know this may seem aggressive but I am as eager as you are to see Pepper's BG in a better range.
 
Hi Sienne. I didn't mean to ignore your reply, I just noticed it. Pepper's AMPS today was 220, after some yellows yesterday. as far as other health issues, he was in the hospital with DKA in late July (he had a bladder infection) which is why I started researching on the web and found this forum. The vet did bloodwork just before the DKA and said he might be in early CRF. And the vet examined him in August and didn't say anything about needing a dental. And i plan to try increasing every three days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top