11/6 Olive PMPS 148, 173+2, 202+3 She keeps going up :(

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-5-olive-pmps-165-170-2-118-3-102-4.238123/#post-2673991

Olive has had a great day. She's been like her old self, moving about, and engaging with her world. Just being a cat, as nature intended. :) I wanted to shoot a .01 this morning but the caliper arms were so close together I couldn't see (I have terrible up close vision), so I set it at .06 which I COULD SEE and made that skinny. So my hope was I got close enough to that .01
As I said, I know nothing about this end of the spectrum when reductions factor in, but isn't reductions the same as "holding" and shouldn't you "hold" for 7 days before dropping the insulin and giving more and more reductions? I thought she was doing great on the .12 since I was able to keep her in the greens for a good length of time. On this new reduced dose she only went into the greens a fraction of that time. If anyone can explain the process to me I'd greatly appreciate it. Hubby was telling me that he believed reductions are based on the lowest number and not her highest in the cycle. This is very confusing to me. As long as she's on the right dose at the right time I'm okay with it, but I wish I understood the process in the meantime.
 
Look at Olive go :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Good luck with the reduced dose! And your hubby is right on - Lantus is dose on the nadirs. Some kitties bounce more than others. It always helps me to look at other spreadsheets to compare though of course ECID - you may want to look at ones that have gone OTJ. If you search for "OTJ Party" from user "Camille and Cyclone", you'll get lots :) So open up those threads, find the guest of honor, and then look in their signature for their SS.

Perhaps this search result link will go through:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/search/47801031/?q="otj+party"&o=date&c[user][0]=374
 
With SLGS, you don't hold the dose for 7 days, unless you are in increase mode, or seeing nadirs from 90-149. Reductions earned mean an immediate reduction - no cycle counting needed. Hate to say it, hubby is right. :p

Great Olive report on your spreadsheet. :cool:
 
With SLGS, you don't hold the dose for 7 days, unless you are in increase mode, or seeing nadirs from 90-149
Her lowest was 84 today but she's shot up to 130 +9. So from what I'm understanding, if her nadir rises above 90 then I increase her back to the .25 immediately and hold at that for 7 days? she almost hit that today. But since she didn't, I still have to continue with the .01 for the PM cycle, right??? I'm heading to the store for more food for the girls, so I'll take down the question mark on the thread title when I return. I appreciate the help in understanding all this.
 
Good luck with the reduction. Has she been able to gain any more of the weight back? I saw your post on Jan’s condo. If you feed her less at +9, be sure to feed her more at the other feedings until she’s back to her ideal weight. Once the pancreas is starting to recover is when a +9 snack should bring the preshot numbers down. With Olive, a couple teaspoons will probably be fine at +9 but you can experiment with that. Squeaky isn’t ready for the +9 meal to bring down his numbers. It works best for cats with a pancreas that is coming back like Olive.
 
So from what I'm understanding, if her nadir rises above 90 then I increase her back to the .25 immediately and hold at that for 7 days?
Not quite. You hold the new reduced dose for 7 days, unless she earns another reduction. At the end of 7 days if she hasn't earned a reduction, you evaluate where her nadirs are, and if not in the 90-149 zone, then you increase to 0.25 units.
 
Has she been able to gain any more of the weight back?
She was just shy of 10 pounds last I weighed her... and the vet wants 1 more pound on her. She's gaining slowly, which isn't a bad thing. I'll be weighing her her on Sunday. I'm weighing in every 2 weeks. Yeah, I'm trying to find a balance with her food intake, trying to get her to eat more at the first half of the cycle to make up for what she's eating less of later.
Not quite. You hold the new reduced dose for 7 days, unless she earns another reduction. At the end of 7 days if she hasn't earned a reduction, you evaluate where her nadirs are, and if not in the 90-149 zone, then you increase to 0.25 units.
Ohhhh, so she has to be on the new reduced insulin of .01 for 7 days to evaluate her nadirs at that time. I thought I could take her back up to the .12 or .25 at the next cycle if her nadir was 90 + never reached below that. So I have to hold her where she is unless another reduction is gained and if she never drops below the 90 for the next 6 days then an increase is given at that time? Do I have it right now?? lol
 
I'm glad Olive is feeling good. You hold the dose for 7 days and then evaluate where the nadirs are, unless she earns a reduction during the 7 days. If the nadirs are between 90 and 149, you hold the dose. If they are higher than 149, you increase the dose.
 
I'm glad Olive is feeling good. You hold the dose for 7 days and then evaluate where the nadirs are, unless she earns a reduction during the 7 days. If the nadirs are between 90 and 149, you hold the dose. If they are higher than 149, you increase the dose.
I think I get it now...lol...thanks everyone for explaining it to me. :bighug:
 
Back
Top