11/6 Max AMPS 127 +2 82 +3.5 35 +4 65 +5 73

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
It looks like Max is determined to get a reduction anyway. He did fine yesterday while we were gone but I loaded him up with HC food in the morning then left some LC in the auto feeder for nadir time. Last nights dose was one hour late as we were late getting home. Today I fed him MC @+2 and he still dropped to 35, so I think he’s telling me he’s done with this dose. I have a feeling we will be right back to it, but I guess we ought to give the reduction a try. I’m thinking just a 0.25 unit reduction, even though protocol says 0.5 units at his dose, but I don’t know if that will work or not. He came up nicely today with some HC and a little honey added for good measure. I was afraid I’d have a hard time getting him back up. Tonight’s bounce should be really yucky.
Previous https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-3-max-amps-123-102-4-59-5-73-7-66.283209/#post-3120010
 
Good luck with the reduction. I would have done a 0.5 unit reduction for a number under 40 at this size dose. But that's me and what worked for Neko. Don't want that overfull depot to get ahead of you.
 
I was back and forth with what I should do about that @Wendy&Neko and once he clears this bounce hopefully by in the morning then I may do the 0.5 unit reduction tomorrow. You never know with Max what he will do. I’ve been pretty aggressive with the dose lately trying to keep him in the good numbers he’s in. He’s been feeling so much better lately and I know that’s why.
 
I was just looking at his PM numbers, and seeing that he's coming out of the bounce at a decent clip. I was always a little extra careful for a couple cycles after seeing a below 40, due to the depot.
 
I see that too and I think you’re right. He may need the 0.5 reduction. It has been hard trying to keep him in the good numbers. I’ve been feeding higher carbs so I wouldn’t have to reduce but I see that he is working hard for the reduction lately.
 
Back
Top