11/6 Loudogg AMPS 409 - Dental Today - UPDATE - He's home!

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
November 5, 2018 Condo

Good morning all,
Today's the day! We fasted Lou until midnight last night, and I ended up giving him a half dose of insulin, 1.25u. Surprisingly, he was at 409 this morning. I was going to skip his insulin dose this morning for the dental, but that high number made me reconsider. I gave him another half dose of 1.25u this morning. I dropped him off at 0800, about 30 minutes ago. Annoyingly, he's scheduled to go last for the procedure, not until around 1000. Now I'm doubly glad I didn't start fasting him at 8pm last night. I am rather shocked and dismayed that they're not having him up first. Regardless of the knowledge that the half dose shouldn't bring him too low, I probably would have skipped if I had known. I guess next time I'll know better and ask the appropriate questions. I found myself weepy this morning and when I dropped him off. He's been under anesthesia at least twice in his life, once while he's been with me, so I know it should be okay. The fact that it's just a dental and not a full surgery makes me feel better, but I still worry. Feline diabetes changes everything. So she said his procedure is at 1000, around +3.5 in his cycle, and I should get a call by noon (+5.5). I brought some of his LC food in for him for when he wakes up....

I don't know why I'm so worried or nervous. I've been wanting Lou to have a dental for the last year. But I can't shake this feeling of dread. I'll try to occupy myself until I get the call. My phone is on high and right by me. I hope you all have a wonderful day. I'll let you know when he's back in my arms....
 
Sending prayers for Lou's dental and calming prayers for you. It's always harder on us than it is on the cats. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Amanda I know how you feel. Olive was high risk not just because of the diabetes by then we knew of the abdominal mass, hcm and the acro. We knew nothing of her history (still don't). Had no idea of her age let alone how she tolerated anesthesia. AND a doctor we've never seen before. His office decor is from the 70's and looked old. Which made me even question myself more.

I wanted her to have at least one good dental. I can't tell you how many times I wanted to just take her and run, forget doing it.

I think it was more that she has never been away from me or husband for more than an hour. I was always around if she needed anything and I just handed her over to unknown people.

When leaving the office you have to cross the road, go into Lowe's parking lot to turn around. I just sat there and cried had a couple of smokes before driving the 45 minutes home.

I kept my phone on me didn't answer any calls until they called me. Cleaned house, look at phone, washed floors ,looked at phone, paid bills, looked at phone, folded laundry looked at phone. Constantly looked at clock. Smoked more than normal. Tried to keep busy. I knew when discharge time was. I left early to be there to pick up immediately not waiting for their call. I didn't relax until she was back with me. I think I drove my husband crazy that day.

It's harder on you than on her. Only thing I can say is keep busy. Lou will be back in your arms before you know it.
 
Good luck with the dental! I know what a stressful day that can be ...sending hugs and vines to you both. Hope you can relax tonight and have a glass of wine...:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck with the dental. I think I can speak for most of us that going under general anesthesia is always worrisome even if there aren't any high risk conditions.

Keep up posted. :bighug:
 
UPDATE:
I just got a call from the vet. They're right in the middle of his procedure, but he's going to have to lose ALL of his teeth. Apparently the roots are all rotten (was that the word she used?) under the gum line. They have to take them all to avoid absorption in the future. I am shocked, and pissed at myself for not getting him in sooner. He must have been in a decent amount of pain. I wonder if his insulin needs will decrease after this. They said cats do well without teeth, and thankfully he's already on a all-wet food diet. Is this true in your experience? Is there any other toothless kitties out there? Caleb's first words after a shocked curse were: "where do we find kitty dentures??" They'll call me when they're done, but now I'm even more nervous about what to expect during his healing.

Thank you so much for the vines and your kind words. Your story helped immensely as well Paula. I keep trying to be productive, but all I can do is read a good book. Caleb and I will be going to vote soonish.
 
I've heard of cats having to have all their teeth removed and they do just fine after the recover from the procedure. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh poor Lou but I think he’ll be so much happier without those painful teeth!

I’ve heard of toothless cats on kibble. They just inhale it lol
 
UPDATE:
Just got a call from the vet. Lou is out of surgery and in recovery. Unfortunately I can't pick him up until 3pm (+8.5). They ended up not taking all of his teeth. I think he will have about 5 left, so he won't be a full-fledged member of the gummy brigade. I cannot wait to see him! Thank you again for all the well-wishes and vines!
Sending vines to you all, heal fast Lou
:bighug: Amanda and Caleb
 
Sending healing vines for Lou, and hugs for Amanda and Caleb :bighug:
I hope he heals quickly, and that his BG numbers improve dramatically.
 
My friend's senior kitty has only 5 teeth and has no problem eating both wet and dry food. Lou will feel better without those decayed teeth. :bighug:
 
Glad he's out of surgery and doing well. Sure he'll feel much better after the recovery period which is different for every cat. Yes, my Leo had 3 dentals between 6 months and 13 months old so the 3rd one he had all teeth removed. He's a sensitive little dude so his recovery was a bit rough (2 weeks or so) but nothing stops him from eating now! Hopefully Lou's insulin needs will go down...be patient though...it can take a little time.
 
Rusty only had 5 teeth and ate just fine. Before he came to us he had had a lot of bad and broken teeth removed. Apparently he had been injured when he was on the streets.
I'm glad the dental is over and hope that Lou's recovery will be swift. Do you have all-meat baby food on hand? (easy to eat; also put more water than usual in his regular food.)

Hey Lou, get ready for a visit from the kitty Toofs Fairy! She'll bring you some nice presents for all those teeth!!;)
 
Well, the big man is home, but goodness is he out of it. He keeps trying to go up or down the stairs and won't stay in the nice cushy spot I left him. Right now he's basically collapsed at the foot of the stairs, but he doesn't seem to be sleeping. At least this is the longest he's stayed. He's refused water and the vet advised waiting a bit to feed him to see if the water stays down. It's like he doesn't even know who he is, let alone how to drink water. I wish I had a play pen or more rooms with doors I could keep him in. He doesn't want to stay on the main level but I can't keep him away from the stairs. He tries to "run" anytime I leave him. Sigh. Me thinks it's going to be a long night... Poor Caleb had to go to work by 4.

I did get a can of baby food. I'm just not sure when to offer him some.
 
I’ve had more cats come home & want to just keep going! I would think that they would sleep & be exhausted, but no. The drugs seem to make them think they can leap small buildings in a single bound! I had one that lost nearly all of her teeth & finally (after 3 hrs of pacing) decided to go back to the carrier & zonk out. I hope Lou calms down soon & gets some rest, along with you. :bighug::bighug:
 
So glad he's home: Let the healing begin!!

A few months ago, one of our civvies had nine teeth pulled. He was pretty woozy for a few hours after he got home, and he would not stay away from the staircase. But by bedtime he was himself again. He ate well that night and hasn't seemed to have any problem without teeth ever since. Hope Lou's recovery is as quick and uneventful!
 
Hope Lou settles down soon and drinks and eats a little.
I had a kitty years ago that eventually wound up with all but about 3 teeth pulled. I had put him on wet food as his teeth dwindled, but he often ate the other kitties dry food too. He crunched it up like he still had all his teeth. Once Lou heals from the surgery, he shouldn’t miss his teeth at all.
 
Thanks again everyone! It was actually a bit scary how not in control of himself he was. He didn't seem to be able to close his mouth, and only slowly got control of his tail. He couldn't walk straight or without falling over, but he would not leave the stairs alone. He was trying to jump over the boxes and such I had blocking the stairs. At one point, he somehow jumped over a bigger box, ran up the stairs, and hid in the bedroom all in literally a couple of seconds while I had my back turned. I was right there and I didn't even hear him. I spent 5 awful minutes looking for him. After searching the whole house and near tears, I checked the bedroom again and he was under the bed right up against my nightstand. I looked there, I know I did. Needless to say I bawled for a few minutes, checked on him, and then locked him in the room. I checked him at one point and I could not tell if he was breathing or if his heart beat. His eyes were open and his face was planted against the floor. He didn't wake up until I moved the nightstand to get at him and then he moved to the other side of the bed. Oh my goodness you guys. My heart has been all over the place tonight! I feel like a drama queen, but seriously I'm not used to this and my emotions have been up and down like fiddler's elbows (gosh I love British colloquialisms).

He wasn't interested in water, and finally at 1745 (+11.25) he seemed interested in trying to eat. He had trouble with the wet food (I put a little bit in mostly water), but he was able to lap up the turkey baby food much easier. He's eaten at least half of a 2.5oz can right now, and he's taking a bit of a break. He's finally walking much better, but he's still a bit wobbly and actually came to me for some attention. Looks like he finally has some control over his mouth, although he couldn't do anything about the food on his chin, haha. With the late food eating and the fact that he's still wobbly and tired, I decided to do a NS tonight. It may not be the best choice, but I don't want to bother him too much with BG checks right now. I just want him to rest and come back to himself.

Thank you so much for all of your vines, good thoughts, and commiserating stories. You guys have helped me stay sane(r) today and I cannot tell you how much that means to me. I wasn't expecting so much excitement today, just a cleaning and maybe an extraction or two. Haha, guess that will learn me!
 
Any way you can lay with him on the bed for a bit. Poor Lou. Hope he settles and sleeps off the wonkiness. Did they send you home with any pain meds?
He's under the bed for now, so I'm leaving him alone for the moment. I'll probably lay with him in a bit here actually. Thankfully I have 5 days of pain meds. They gave him a pain injection today that will last for 24 hours, so I'll start the bupe tomorrow.
 
I'm glad he is eating a little bit for you and seeming more in control. How scary when he was face planted on the floor. I think skipping is a good idea tonight. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
UPDATE:
I just got a call from the vet. They're right in the middle of his procedure, but he's going to have to lose ALL of his teeth. Apparently the roots are all rotten (was that the word she used?) under the gum line. They have to take them all to avoid absorption in the future. I am shocked, and pissed at myself for not getting him in sooner. He must have been in a decent amount of pain. I wonder if his insulin needs will decrease after this. They said cats do well without teeth, and thankfully he's already on a all-wet food diet. Is this true in your experience? Is there any other toothless kitties out there? Caleb's first words after a shocked curse were: "where do we find kitty dentures??" They'll call me when they're done, but now I'm even more nervous about what to expect during his healing.

Thank you so much for the vines and your kind words. Your story helped immensely as well Paula. I keep trying to be productive, but all I can do is read a good book. Caleb and I will be going to vote soonish.
My FIV+ cat Blackie had all of his teeth removed a couple months ago and he has turned into a kitten! He must've been in discomfort before. His drooling is gone and his appetite and energy levels are terrific! He plays with toys and runs now. I worried about his healing rate, but he's great.
 
Back
Top