? 11/6, Little Man, amps 432, +3 444, +6 429

Little Man's mom (GA)

Member Since 2021
Hi all! Finally posting in here as I was told easier for all of you to see posts.

So, we are day 3 of an increase from 1 up to 1.25u lantus. Last night after pmps of 396 and a +3 last night of 270 (lowest it's been ever). I expected some shoot up in am since he is bouncing some. However, I didnt expect numbers to stay in 400's now at +6 today.

The food he is getting is low carb only 1 carb per can and he is only getting at most half a can at a time during snacks (inbetween 2 larger meals) as I'm spacing his food out so he doesnt become anxious and frustrates raising bg. He tends to be a beast about his food.

I've been taking his bg every three hours today and actually think I will try to do so overnight to see what is going on.

Three questions, is it normal to see a bounce like this after an increase? Secondly, can anyone see a pattern with his numbers that I'm missing. I do see daytime he is running higher and then at the +4 evening seems to be lower. This is why I want to stay up or rather nap and get up every three hours overnight to check if its lowering any furthur than the +4

Should I increase again, or hold for the 5 days and see what happens?

I know my signature says slgs, I am trying to prepare myself for tr as it's much more involved and definitely will need advice and guidance as we move forward to get his numbers down. Just afraid to hurt my baby.

Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend so far. Gorgeous here cooler temps and sunshine but working in closets...meh.
 
Is he still getting the Hills C/D as per your signature? It is high carb food.

I do have a suggestion for you. Whenever you see a big drop to a +2 or +3 numbers, try to get a later test that cycle. A big drop compared to preshot is an indicator of a more active cycle. So last night he bounced either from a lower number than he was used to, or possibly from a big drop, which can also cause bounces.

If he's still bouncing tonight (likely) then getting more tests tonight might not tell you much. Get that +2 or +3, and based on whether is about the same (normal Lantus cycle), higher (bouncing = get some sleep!) or quite a bit lower (get a test), it'll tell you what to do next.

As for increases, with SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days before increasing, regardless, unless he goes under 90 and earns a reduction. TR would have you increase after 6 cycles/3 days. If you do want to switch to TR, and are feeding low carb food now, feel free to post every day and ask questions.
 
Is he still getting the Hills C/D as per your signature? It is high carb food.

I do have a suggestion for you. Whenever you see a big drop to a +2 or +3 numbers, try to get a later test that cycle. A big drop compared to preshot is an indicator of a more active cycle. So last night he bounced either from a lower number than he was used to, or possibly from a big drop, which can also cause bounces.

If he's still bouncing tonight (likely) then getting more tests tonight might not tell you much. Get that +2 or +3, and based on whether is about the same (normal Lantus cycle), higher (bouncing = get some sleep!) or quite a bit lower (get a test), it'll tell you what to do next.

As for increases, with SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days before increasing, regardless, unless he goes under 90 and earns a reduction. TR would have you increase after 6 cycles/3 days. If you do want to switch to TR, and are feeding low carb food now, feel free to post every day and ask questions.


First off I will apologize I still havent been able to figure out how to quote each paragraph and answer each section separately so I will at least paragraph out my answers to your questions.

C/D....we havent been on it for almost a week. I've left in signature as this is a sort of test to make sure we dont get blocked. Scared momma that tried this a couple years back and well it backfired on me. No dry kibble this go around at all only canned wet with added water so hopefully successful. He has been eating only the purina pro plan focus 11+ senior which is also listed in signature.

If I understand you correctly... get a +2 +3 reading tonight...if still high get some sleep still in bounce. If lower take another test +6 or sooner or later? Also would a drop from where he is to say 270 like last night be significant enough to take more tests later through evening?

As far as increase tr means I increase tomorrow morning? Slgs means I wait another 4 days?

I think that covers the questions I have based on your answers and comments. Please let me know if I've left something out. Appreciate the advice!
 
A week after Neko was diagnosed with diabetes, my other cat was diagnosed with idiopathic cystitis. Maybe he was jealous of the vet attention? :p Anyway, I started him on C/D, but couldn't keep at it, because Neko would push him out of the way to eat his food. So I had to find a food that worked for both. His vet suggested raw. That with plenty of water added worked, but really any low carb food, with lower phosphorus food if you can, will work. More info on the catinfo website. Diet change plus putting in some Feliways helped me. My guy was a semi feral and skittish.

For tonight, what you are looking for at +2 to +3 is a drop from PMPS. If you do see a fast drop (roughly 50 points per hour, depends on the cat), I would also give some of his regular food to see if you can slow the drop. If you find that he likes to really drop fast at onset (typically between +2 and +3 for cats on Lantus), I might give him a small meal at +2 so he has fresh carbs on board to slow the drop. None of this is hard and fast for Little Man, as ECID (each cat is different), but more general guidelines. You'll have to gather data to see what works for Little Man. Many people swear by the +2 test for Lantus, but my girl onset later so it didn't tell me anything. I had to get a later test.

For increases, TR would say increase tomorrow morning, provided you don't see blue tonight - in which case you'd keep holding the dose. And SLGS says to hold the dose a total of 7 days.
 
A week after Neko was diagnosed with diabetes, my other cat was diagnosed with idiopathic cystitis. Maybe he was jealous of the vet attention? :p Anyway, I started him on C/D, but couldn't keep at it, because Neko would push him out of the way to eat his food. So I had to find a food that worked for both. His vet suggested raw. That with plenty of water added worked, but really any low carb food, with lower phosphorus food if you can, will work. More info on the catinfo website. Diet change plus putting in some Feliways helped me. My guy was a semi feral and skittish.

For tonight, what you are looking for at +2 to +3 is a drop from PMPS. If you do see a fast drop (roughly 50 points per hour, depends on the cat), I would also give some of his regular food to see if you can slow the drop. If you find that he likes to really drop fast at onset (typically between +2 and +3 for cats on Lantus), I might give him a small meal at +2 so he has fresh carbs on board to slow the drop. None of this is hard and fast for Little Man, as ECID (each cat is different), but more general guidelines. You'll have to gather data to see what works for Little Man. Many people swear by the +2 test for Lantus, but my girl onset later so it didn't tell me anything. I had to get a later test.

For increases, TR would say increase tomorrow morning, provided you don't see blue tonight - in which case you'd keep holding the dose. And SLGS says to hold the dose a total of 7 days.

Thankyou so much for the advice!

He so far seems to drop after pm dose much more than am dose.

He came down again at pmps to 353 so suspect the pm dose will continue to drop him and I think that is what os what is happening to cause the super high amps bounce. Will be keeping an eye on that tonight.

I will definitely give a good snack if I see a big drop. To maybe slow the drop to help prevent the bounce.

Again thankyou so much for all the help have a great night!
 
Back
Top