11/6 Klinger AMPS 436; PMPS 483; +4.5 269

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Very Active Member
Good morning,
AMPS 436 3.0 u
~O)
PMPS 483 3.0 u
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=29095

Have a great day! Going to look for some new food and joint supplements today (for Klinger).

Klinger was hungry all afternoon. I wonder if he went too low when I was out running errands?
I wish his numbers would just continually post across his forehead. Make things a lot easier. :roll: :lol:

I was able to find Cosequin today on my travels. I gave him the recommended (for his size) two capsules at dinner. Hope it doesn't upset his stomach.
No luck on finding a different food. I'll try the small mom & pop pet store tomorrow. I think that's where I found raw food (that Klinger wouldn't eat) a few years ago.
 
Re: 11/6 Klinger AMPS 436; PMPS 483

Hi there! I haven't been following Klinger's saga, but just thought I'd say hello. Pretty quiet here today. I-)

I like the post on the forehead idea, like those thermometers they had for a while you could just press on your forehead. Maybe someday...

Hope you are both having a great day!
 
Re: 11/6 Klinger AMPS 436; PMPS 483

wonder where klinger went between 436 and 483? anyone's guess.
 
Re: 11/6 Klinger AMPS 436; PMPS 483

klinger needs to have a SS open all day long for us to gaze upon...he is soooo erratic! i always think if i gaze at a SS long enough i will see the pattern, the problem or the solution. not with your special boy...he is as i said before...an anomoly.
 
Re: 11/6 Klinger AMPS 436; PMPS 483

I really hope that he "calms" down in the next few weeks. But maybe he won't...he can be a case study on your protocol. :YMSIGH:
PMPS +4.5 269
 
nice 4.5
and yes he will be studied...under a microscope!
 
Marcie,
How's Klinger's mouth healing? You may remember Tenderfoot had 4 extractions about 4-5 weeks ago (He now is my toothless wonder) and he is doing really well now- he's gained weight, is looking happy, and actually RAN around the house yesterday like when he was a kitten. whatever chronic pain/infection those teeth produced is no longer poisoning him- best thing I've done for him in a long time...

How's the Pancreatitis? Are you still giving 2.5mg pepcid 2x/day? Is he still on AB's? Did they/you ever consider subcutaneous lactated ringers soln to help flush the digestive enzymes that could be eating his abdominal cavity?(thus the pain)
Chronic/acute p'itis could still be the source of some of your regulation trouble- I would follow up on it.

I give LRS almost daily and have plenty of tips if you would like to give that a try. Its much cheaper than leaving them at the vet for IV fluids, and it can be done in about 5 min. I buy a case of fluids from Sams for about $25, which is the same as my vet charges for 1 set (bag/line/needles). The line can be reused multiple times, and a box of 100 needles cost about $6-8.

Hey- keep posting - we miss you! :-D
 
yes, now more than ever we need all pz'ers to keep posting. everyday if possible.
important for yourself and everyone here.
 
and another thing- I was thinking that some of the "whacky" high numbers and variety of curve response/no curve response days, could be (probably is) because of food. He is free fed so you don't know when he has eaten in relation to your testing. so if he just chowed down at +5, on that day you may not see a good nadir. Another day you catch him after a long nap (no food) and he is blue. Friday when you did that awesome curve (nice job BTW) you saw how much effect the food had on his +1 numbers.... see what I mean?

I wonder what the other folks who free feed experience along these lines-... Help

I try to feed Cody every 4+/- hours, and I always TRY to test BEFORE he eats.
When I am away/or asleep, I set a timed feeder to open so he keeps his schedule.
I measure out the food each meal, and feed lighter at PS and heavier at nadir, to help flatten/steady the "curve"
I freeze a portion for the overnight feeder, although its not really necessary.

if you are interested in a timed feeder - I use the Petsafe 5 meal feeder, (and would not recommend the 2 meal feeder bc its noisy and easy to break into).

Also- if you want to improve the carb count (BG) and decrease the fat (p'itis) of his food ( I saw you went shopping yesterday) you could consider adding cooked chicken breast to his meals. I used to buy them on sale, gently boil a big pot full, food process them, then refreeze in mini ice cube or mini muffin tins, and add to his food- (I've gotten lazy- or less obsessive and no longer do this, but it might be worth it to help his numbers and the p'itis)

My thoughts for the day....
 
It's great to hear from you, Nancy! I'm glad Tenderfoot has healed so nicely and is feeling so wonderful.
Klinger is healing...he's a lot more vocal (like he used to be), he's eating a little bit more than before - still doesn't finish a whole can and likes to graze. I've been giving him the pepcid once a day, which he finds horrifying. He tucks his head under my arm to hide - it's quite pitiful. He's off ABs. I need to talk to my vet about the fluids. She's back in the office on Tuesday.

I've been concerned about the fat in his diet because of the p'titis too, which is why I went shopping again yesterday. I was hoping to pick up some Merrick flavors to try, but I couldn't find them. I've also checked out Gator's Home Cooked recipe.
So, Nancy, do I cut the amount of food from the can in 1/2 and add chicken to that or still give him the whole can plus some chicken? Sorry, I'm a little off kilter today with the time change.
I looked into getting a feeder before his dental and DH wanted to wait until after...I guess it's after. ;-)
DHs parents are coming to stay with us for 7 days at Christmas. Hopefully it won't stress Klinger out too much (hopefully it won't stress me out to much- introvert). He generally likes other people, but it's been a few years since they've been here.
 
well... since the canned food has the "magic" amount of vitamins/minerals etc, I wouldn't replace 1/2, I don't think.
I used to do a 2-3 part canned food to 1 part chicken mush, so i guess that would be 25-33%.

Maybe you could start by seeing how he likes cooked chicken, maybe white meat from a rotisserie chicken (avoiding seasoning or skin- garlic/onion is toxic to cats I think). If that goes well, maybe gently boils, chop or grind, and refreeze in small cubes, and add to 1/2 can as a supplement. Maybe the dollar store has those mini ice cube trays, or mini muffin tins. One of those cubes added to 1/2 can of FF sounds about right.

heres 2 old links about feeders - hope they still work

pet feeder recommended from ebay ( copied from another post)
http://cgi.ebay.com/4-DAY-LCD-AUTOMATIC ... 2a079bc798

PETSAFE.NET feeder link
http://www.petsafe.net/Products/Feed-an ... matic.aspx

As for the pepcid A/C-
what if you made a little "pea" of cat food, hiding the pill, and hand fed it to him, BEFORE the dinner. Or I've also used velvetta, or other soft processed cheese to create the "pea".

As for the in laws..... well I schedule doctor appts, hair appts, whatever I can to escape for a break, and give Klinger a "bed" in your closet or under your bed to retreat. :lol:
 
Do not supplement more that 10% by weight of the diet with unbalanced foods like chicken. Probably not a good idea to do any more than that. For instance, cooking meat reduces if not eliminates taurine which is very important for kitties. In cat food it is added back in the processing. And there are other important nutrients and the appropriate balance which are important which even raw boneless breast, for instance, does not have.

EDIT: If one really wants they can find the nutritional profile of the supplimented food in the USDA SR21 database here [search "chicken" for instance]:
http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp/search/
[seems to be currently down?]
Then proportionally [by Kcal consumed] do the weights [and ultimately Kcals] and nutritional profiles of the supplement vs the food and see how much one can get away with supplementing the supplement of choice with the food of choice. The AAFCO guidelines can be found here:
http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm ... 44&aid=657
Hehe, or one can just make sure the supplement and the food meet AAFCO guidelines and then just mix to approximate fat of about 35% as %Kcal, cabs below 9% and protein wherever it ends up [since cats do not drink alcohol]. This later approach is the one I chose. :smile:

I like Nancy's idea about testing. You could make some chicken and put it in the food processor with some water and make chicken pâté lol. If he likes that then he will most likely like the cooked chicken recipe. If he does not like it straight off then mix just a bit 50-50 with the current flavor du jour - as a test. Also if you can use raw boneless chicken with the http://www.knowwhatyoufeed.com site and it would cut WAY down on the prep time and energy. Using the KWYF product and site one is able to create a fully AAFCO guideline compliant food. If you want more info or tips about the home prepped let me know. I'd be happy to help create a recipe too - or I know Ms. Kaspar at KWYF [and old Levimir FDMB person] would be happy to help. It does require the use of 2 scales, one that can accurately measure small amounts [to the .1g] and one cooking type scale that can measure to the 1g. I can guide you in the purchase of scales too :-D .

Basically you take a weekend day and get all the good, prep it up and freeze it for later. I liked approx 400ml twist top cartons. When ready to use set in in the fridge overnight and it thaws.

I have a pictorial for creating the cooked that I can share if you like.
 
Thanks for all the great information, Nancy and Gator. I will test the boiled chicken with Klinger - some point this week and let you know how that goes.
I'm off next week, so I hope to get a lot more testing in and try different food options for him when I can be around to test.
Thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top