11/6 Killa, (67 @+5) Dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

willow & killa

Member Since 2011
I recently reduced Killa to .5 from 1 unit due to having to miss PM dose's for low'ish number and not being able to monitor. Today he went down to 67 @+5, 74 @+6. Should i hold at .5 for a few days and see what happens or does the 67 earn him a reduction to .25?
Thank you for your feedback!
 
I don't know if you are following slgs or TR???

That said 67 on a pet meter would typically just earn her a reduction even on TR, however, it is only 4 cycles since you reduced the dose, and the depot can be in play for up to 6 cycles, at 4 cycles it's borderline whether the depot of 1u may be influencing today's cycle....so it's a tricky choice.

If you are able to monitor closely over the next couple of days you could hold the dose and see if she really wants the reducie, you will need to be prepared to steer her with higher carb food.
Another option, if you are not able to monitor closely to keep her safe over the next couple of days, would be to take the reduction but watch for numbers trending up and be ready to call a failed reduction and bring her back up to 0.50u should her numbers warrant it.
Additionally if she were to bounce by pmps, and be in high yellow or pink you could shoot through the bounce, holding the dose and taking the reduction tomorrow morning.

The above options are only applicable to TR, if you are following slgs, then take the reduction to 0.25, seeing as that 67 is way below the recommended reduction point of 90 for slgs.
 
I don't know if you are following slgs or TR???

That said 67 on a pet meter would typically just earn her a reduction even on TR, however, it is only 4 cycles since you reduced the dose, and the depot can be in play for up to 6 cycles, at 4 cycles it's borderline whether the depot of 1u may be influencing today's cycle....so it's a tricky choice.

If you are able to monitor closely over the next couple of days you could hold the dose and see if she really wants the reducie, you will need to be prepared to steer her with higher carb food.
Another option, if you are not able to monitor closely to keep her safe over the next couple of days, would be to take the reduction but watch for numbers trending up and be ready to call a failed reduction and bring her back up to 0.50u should her numbers warrant it.
Additionally if she were to bounce by pmps, and be in high yellow or pink you could shoot through the bounce, holding the dose and taking the reduction tomorrow morning.

The above options are only applicable to TR, if you are following slgs, then take the reduction to 0.25, seeing as that 67 is way below the recommended reduction point of 90 for slgs.

Thank you for your reply. I am following TR. his PMPS was 119 and due to our work schedule I'm worried we won't be here when he's at his lowest. I will try your second suggestion. fingers and paws crossed
 
I don't know if you are following slgs or TR???

That said 67 on a pet meter would typically just earn her a reduction even on TR, however, it is only 4 cycles since you reduced the dose, and the depot can be in play for up to 6 cycles, at 4 cycles it's borderline whether the depot of 1u may be influencing today's cycle....so it's a tricky choice.

If you are able to monitor closely over the next couple of days you could hold the dose and see if she really wants the reducie, you will need to be prepared to steer her with higher carb food.
Another option, if you are not able to monitor closely to keep her safe over the next couple of days, would be to take the reduction but watch for numbers trending up and be ready to call a failed reduction and bring her back up to 0.50u should her numbers warrant it.
Additionally if she were to bounce by pmps, and be in high yellow or pink you could shoot through the bounce, holding the dose and taking the reduction tomorrow morning.

The above options are only applicable to TR, if you are following slgs, then take the reduction to 0.25, seeing as that 67 is way below the recommended reduction point of 90 for slgs.

changed my mind and decided to be brave, give him .5 and set my alarm a few times throughout the night and he did well. hoping for some good numbers today.
 
At the end of the day, you have to do what you feel is best and safe and it looks like you are doing that. I think it's a good idea to find a dose you can shoot the same in am as pm, hopefully more experienced people will chime in with how you can do that. I think it messes with the depot too much if you flip flop and you'll never really know where you're at.

Killa really seems to be responding to the insulin, I hope he has another remission in him. :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top