11/6 Gracie PMPS 148 +2 178 +3 155 +5 109 +6 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29118

Recap:
AMPS: 262
+2: 240
+4: 204
+5: 173
+9: 133
+11: 169
PMPS:195
+2: 255
+4: 221
+5: 262


Happy Caturday LL!! Hope everyone is having a wonderful day no matter what time zone you are in or are soon to be in :lol: :lol: Reading your posts, I am happy that we don't change time in AZ!!

WCR: Super...especially after the contraband cornbread debacle last night. After many of you were asleep, I posted that Gracie decided to help herself to my cornbread (with corn kernels...she is a cornaholic) while I was talking to DH on phone. I had my back turned for 5 mins and looked back and she had gobbled the entire piece down...she looked like a little squirrel with her cheek pouches full and cornbread crumbles on her whiskers and face and chest :lol: :lol: Luckily it wasn't a large piece but it ruined my hopes of a lovely night as her PMPS last night was one of the better ones. I'm hoping she'll get into some nice surfing numbers today.

I went btb and woke up shortly before +1 to have a cold wet, tiny nose nestled against mine. When I opened my eyes, I was looking straight into Tobey's big bush baby eyes...I think we both went cross -eyed for a moment. He and Gracie have been doing their wild child thing again this morning.

BTW, Gracie's nutrition vet has started her on a supplement called Gymnema..I'm sure those of you who have been around a while are familiar with it. It is supposed to help control blood glucose levels. What she told me is that it works best in non-insulin dependent kitties (diet controlled) but she thought, after looking at Gracie's SS that it might possibly help flatten her out a little bit on her AMPS/PMPS but she does not think it will allow her BG to get down into numbers that she doesn't need insulin...she said the insulin and being in healing ranges will have to do that. So..we'll cross our finger..it can't hurt esp since I am monitoring her. The only thing is it has a horrible taste (I tried it). Gracie is good about eating supplements in her food or taking them mixed with water in a syringe but I am having to put a little butter on it and pill her..not my preference and I'll discontinue it if I don't see a difference. The good thing is..she is an angel and doesn't seem to mind getting pilled.

Have a wonderful day!!! We are so excited about Muffin but we will miss her condo!
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS 264 +2 206

Nice drop already for Gracie. I think she'll get over that little contraband incident very quickly. Actually I would have expected more of a food spike.

Have a great Caturday, I don't have to adjust out shot time, just the clocks and my perception of the time.Getting up when the clock says 5:30 rather than 6:30 just makes me sigh.
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS 264 +2 206

:lol: on food thief gracie! she no fool...

and the whole idea of just getting up sometimes makes me sigh...but some days you run out of bon bons...
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS 264 +2 206

What is that stuff?? never heard of it!--Ok give it a try & let us know--
If you see Moonie's picturs & click on the online--You;ll see us & the jewels-- :lol: :lol: Dont get frightened!! HUgs!
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS 264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69

So glad I tested +3 to see her dropping...gave her 5%; gave 1/2 tsp 8% at +4 to see if she'll slow down and surf.

Thanks Roni....I would love to look at it!!! Can't believe I hadn't noticed the link before DUH. Gymnema...check it out online. One of the leading holistic vets, Dr. Shawn Messonier (sp?) highly recommends it too. Again...not sure if it will work for her but if it can just flatten out the AMPS/PMPS, I'd be so happy.

Celi...I hear you, girl. I think wistfully of the sleep I used to get...uninterrupted. No longer...I only get MAYBE 5-6 hours uninterrupted when I'm lucky and DH is manning the helm :lol: :lol: Weekends...foget about it!

Ann and Michelle...absolutely...I expected today to be ugly with all that cornbread she ate. She did pop up last night but not too terribly bad. I did shave her dose by a drop...maybe not enough..we'll see how today pans out.
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS 264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69

+4.5 61...fed 1/4 tsp 8%, rechk in 30

So glad the cornbread did not have long-term effects :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS 264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5 55

ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile Ann..that is hysterical. That is exactly like Gracie would be if we let her. When she was a tiny baby at the breeders, they commented on how she lived her life for the next meal. It is constant for us to monitor how much she gets and weigh the food AND her so she doesn't gain weight even on her strictly regimented diet now.

So she's at 55 at +5. Still only fed 1 tsp 8%...SURF!!!! I am afraid if I bring any HC into this, she will, as usual, bungee up. Will rechk in 30. All her numbers are on her SS but I'm only posting every hour in the subject line.
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS 264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5 55

Hi Marjorie, am I a bad sugarbaby mama,if I laugh at the cornbread incident? (heehee)
Surf Gracie, surf!!
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS 264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5 55 +5.5 46

Barb...you are so TOTALLY not bad if you laugh....I actually cracked up last night, too. She was like a bad child being caught...if she'd had opposable thumbs, she would have been stuffing it in her mouth before I turned around....only so much she could eat kitty style but she still got all of it :lol: :lol:

Ok...so looks like I will now have to break out the higher carb stuff..durn.
+5.5 46...gave her 1 tsp 8% with 13% gravy...and yes...she'll eat as long as I feed her :lol: :lol:
I haven't found any good MCs with gravy...has anyone? I'll rechk in 30 to give the 13% a chance to work. The other day, DH was anxious and so he gave her 13%, rechkd in 15 and it hadn't changed so he gave her more 13% and by the next 15 mins, she had bungeed. So I want to let it work. Keeping an eye on her.
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS 264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5 55 +5.5 46 +

This little girl is SOOOO carb sensitive. No feed...hopefully she'll surf a bit.
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS 264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5 55 +5.5 46 +

SURF, IT, BABY...SURF IT!!

CELI

tobey...sorry bout the marty feldman comment my bean made...but hey, the guy is hilarious...
binks
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS 264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5.5 46 +6 69DO

I had to take some of the testing numbers out of the subject line so here's today's recap:
AMPS: 264 fed 1 tsp 4%
+2: 206 fed 1 tsp 5%
+3: 133 fed 1 tsp 5%
+4: 69 fed 1/2 tsp 8%
+4.5: 61 fed 1/4 tsp 8%
+5: 55 fed 1 tsp 8%
+5.5: 46 fed 1 tsp 8% w/13% gravy
+6: 69 no food
+6.5 82 no food

This is her fourth cycle on the reduced dose of sk1u; I don't think she bounced last night...I think those numbers are due to her cornbread fiasco because she had a nice PMPS..she seems to like this dose so I think she might have had a nice blue surf..speculation but the cornbread threw it off I am certain. So..she dropped below 50 but I wasn't working her hard on this....I didn't give any MC until she got below 50 since, as you can see, she shoots up. I know for a newly dx kitty, she should get another reduction tonight (or if she bounces, I may shoot through the bounce). Even considering the protocol, I'm worried about changing her too often. If you do want me to reduce her, I would suggest just to a f.75u...the current reduction is the first one she's held and again, it's only been 4 cycles on the reduced dose. She was on f.75u for 4 cycles 10/28 and 10/29 and couldn't hold it. Obviously, my goal is remission so I really want to be sure she can hold the reductions. Thoughts??? Thanks!!
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5.5 46 +6 69 DO

Very pretty day for Gracie! I understand your hesitation regarding a dose reduction since she couldn't hold the last attempt at 0.75u.
I had to giggle a little at you wanting to go to a fat 0.75u when the current dose is a skinny 1.00u. When I was shooting.... they looked like the identical dose to me. :lol:
If you can measure it, then go ahead!
Maybe she won't bounce at PMPS and you can go ahead and take this tiny reduction. :mrgreen:

You know your kitty better than anyone and know how she reacts with her foods and her dose. Great job!
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5.5 46 +6 69 DO

Marjorie, have you tried the Wellness pouches. They are called Healthy indulgence, highLC to low MC range of carbs figured by Metabolized Energy, like Janet and Bink's list are. I got the As Fed numbers last week.
  • healthy Indulgences Pouches
    Chicken, Duck & Shrimp 10.7%
    Turkey & Duck 8.6%
    Turkey & Chicken 12.5%
    Chicken & Chicken Liver 12.2%
    Chicken, Crab & Herring 9.0%
    Salmon & Chicken 12.1%
    Salmon & Tuna 11.6%
    Tuna 13.7%
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5.5 46 +6 69 DO

Gracie is still surfing :mrgreen: :mrgreen: 88 at +9.

Would appreciate an advisor taking a look at my dose question above please..I'm not sure which is the best way to go to keep Gracie doing well and in
healing ranges. Thank you so much!!
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5.5 46 +6 69 DO

Hi Majorie, if you don't take Gracie's dose reduction you will probably have to work harder to keep her BG level up using food to manipulate. You are a good tester and watch her very carefully so you could be a little more aggressive. So you must not like to sleep much, huh? :lol:

Seriously... a fat .75u is very close to the skinny 1.0u - Gracie's current dose. Do you not want to take the reduction? Or are you wondering if you should do a fat 0.75u or regular 0.75u?
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5.5 46 +6 69 DO

it looks to me like skinnying the dose worked well last time, so that is what I would do.
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5.5 46 +6 69 DO

Such a great day today! The fats & skinnies work for Moonie..There are about 3-4 drops in between a half a unit--Moonie is on a 0.75+ a drop(really almost a fat)--Moonie doesnt hold the reductions easily either..I think Gracie will though.. Her Great Bean will see to it! :-D :-D You are doing great!
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie AMPS264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5.5 46 +6 69

CD :lol: :lol: :lol: I know..it IS funny...I asked that question the other day when I reduced her...is there a difference between a sk1u and a f.75? Jen told me that, for her, a sk1u is just "sneaking" the plunger past the 1u mark so you could just barely see a sliver of the plunger on the needle side of the 1u mark. About a drop...and I practiced it :lol: I have a diagram of the .75u blown up; so when I was doing f.75u, I had the 1u mark just about in the middle of the plunger...the .75u is more towards the non-needle side of the 1u mark....I think Roni is right..it's just a few drops between the half units. It seems crazy that one or two drops would matter, but it seems to for her.
I LOVE to sleep but I hate it when she her BG is up for a few cycles while she is acclimating to a new dose...so the more time I can give her in the normal range, the better. However, having said that....she has really surfed today; normally if I stay up with her, I can get to bed by 2:30 am but if she surfs tonight like she did today...I'd be up all night...so I'm going to give her the reduction tonight and see what she does. I definitely don't want to take her to .75u....it hasn't worked a couple of times now...if I have to shave her every four cycles all the way down to 0..so be it :lol: :lol: :lol: She told me she's tired of up/down/up/down...oh wait...maybe that was my impatient bean subconscious :oops: :oops:

Libby...you got it...I'll shave again to what I have been consistently calling f.75u and hope that she will like just having another drop shaved.

Roni...thanks for the info on Moonie...Seems like there are quite a few that like this shaving, huh? I know Tess does and Ann is just ekeing her down....Maybe Binks, too.

Thanks to all...
 
Re: 11/6Gracie AMPS264 +2 206 +3 133 +4 69 +5.5 46 +6 69 +11

WOW - looks like i missed another exciting day for Gracie. wow on the dosing- and to think I struggle with just the .25's. aiyee - i still hope that sometime, somehow, somewhere there will be syringes designed for this type of dosing....

Great job today - looking really good these days Gracie.
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie PMPS 148

Thanks Michelle...we are so excited to see her AMPS/PMPS looking better these days...that's been a real problem. I don't know if the feeding cycles are finally
kicking in or what. Well...with the dosing...I'm just trying to be consistent and shave by a drop. If that's how we have to work her down...OK by us :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie PMPS 148 +2 178

Yes...it has been a lovely day for Gracie. I'm so happy to see her in healing range for such a long time during the day.

The cornbread contraband was pretty funny I have to admit. She has such an innocent little face! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie PMPS 148 +2 178 +3 155

I just realized I missed all your excitement today just wanted to stop in looking great Gracie :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/6 Gracie PMPS 148 +2 178 +3 155 +5 109

Wht a nice blue surf, cat naps for you tonight too! :-D Soon :mrgreen: ?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top