11/6 Alska AMPS=296 PMPS=245

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
yesterday

I have discontinued the Cosequin to see if something in this is affecting Alska's bg. He has been on it for about a month. Also he was rejecting the raw food the past couple of days so last night I withheld the cosequin sprinkled in it and he gobbled up the raw with no issues. I think he got tired of the tuna/chicken flavor of the powder.

Will go to vet in December and will probably ask for Levemir instead of Lantus.
 
Re: 11/6 Alska AMPS=296

I think you will like Levemir, I know it is partly personal preference but of the two L's I like working with Levemir over Lantus. The curves are flatter and with its delayed onset its easier to shoot low to stay low.

It does take time to get use to as it's slightly different than Lantus.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/6 Alska AMPS=296

Well since I don't have any aversions to shooting low, Levemir is looking better and better. I just don't think Lantus is working for him anymore. He is bouncing repeatedly and high and doesn't seem to want to level out. I am very worried about all the stress this is putting on his organs. This has been going on far too long. I can't imagine that it is another bad pen - could the whole batch be bad? I am beginning to think that Lantus is just no longer working for him. Can't up the dose until I can get mid-cycle tests in this weekend.
 
Re: 11/6 Alska AMPS=296

You are seeing what I did with both my girls. In the beginning Lantus worked great, but once we had been at it awhile because of the steep curve of Lantus I couldn't get the preshots down without nearly bottoming them out at nadir. And if I got a decent nadir they resembled a rubber ball. Bounce, dive, bounce, dive rinse repeat.

As well as both of them started being a pain to shoot because they would try to evade the shots or lash out. If it had just been Autumn I would have just chalked it up to her personality, but Musette was so easy going that it was clearly a 180 for her to react like that.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/6 Alska AMPS=296

Yeah - last night Alska jerked as I was removing the syringe and I am sure it didn't feel good. He's been pretty good with the shot with the new pen - until last night.

Building a good case for Levemir.
 
Re: 11/6 Alska AMPS=296

Oh and since it has a later nadir in Autumn's case her next preshot I don't sweat the midcycle tests as much except that she is trained that she gets tested before she eats.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/6 Alska AMPS=296

Lantus never did work well for Lucian, it was a constant battle and stress. Super high and super low, staying up all night, many times on Hypo watch. Lev has not only been fantastic for Lucian, but better for me as well.

Hope you can get Alska leveled off.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top