11/5 Tiggy AMPS 247 PMPS 220

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/5 Tiggy AMPS 247

Reductions can be tricky. With increases you need patience for the depot to fill in to the new dose, and then there may be magic at the end of that process.

When reducing you are depleting the depot, thus not waiting for magic. If ultimately the depot for the newly reduced dose is insufficient, then you may lose ground waiting around for magic that likely isn't coming.

So you want patience pants after increases, but not after decreases. If things are looking bad after a decrease, might as well get back to the last good dose and use your patience to "settle" the increase.
 
Re: 11/5 Tiggy AMPS 247

i had to do a double-take to make sure i was looking at Tiggy's ss - did you have a pmps on 11/4 (yesterday) of 74 and a 49 at +12 the night before?

if i'm reading that right, i wouldn't increase the dose yet. that 49 was 7 cycles after the dose decrease, so i wouldn't think it was shed action. that's a mighty low nadir to increase on. what's your thinking? are you trying to get rid of the yellow ampses?

but you're not new and you know Tiggy best - i just wanted to throw in my 2 cents worth. no charge. ;-) :-D
 
Re: 11/5 Tiggy AMPS 247

:)

Yep I am following Tilley - zero tolerance of numbers over 200... although I let the bounce clear first.
 
Re: 11/5 Tiggy AMPS 247

his ss reminds me of Tommy's - have you seen it? Tommy's SS Lauren (photosquirrel) has done an amazing job of managing his acro. his IGF-1 was higher than punkin's IGF-1 when they were diagnosed and Lauren plowed on staying with TR. i had some vocal people telling me to not let punkin get below 100 and it really scared me. i think keeping the numbers down is directly related to keeping the dose down.

Tiggy has a very nice ss! Chip does too. good job.
 
I am still kinda in denial that he even has acromegaly... The lab and and my vet say no (104) but gayle/blue etc say yes. He's borderline at best.. So I am continuing the protocol assuming he isn't.. His numbers never did that solid pink red either.

Shooting him low doesn't bother me.. He is fairly predictable and I am more comfortable shooting him low than bailey... If anything I think he might be one of those cats that Tilly refers to that likes and needs to be kept in the 40s (quote below) but I am not sure how to handle that as whenever I get him close to the 40s he drops too low....

(N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way).
 
yes i've read that part. i like the Tilly protocol. it seems to me that we all want flat cycles, but i haven't seen a flat cycle that's 150. it seems like you can't really flatten them out unless all the numbers are under 120ish, often 70's or 80's. it makes sense because nondiabetic cats run 40's and 50's - at least the few i've tested.

so his IGF was 104? that is really low, but it might just mean you caught it early. punkin's was 281. on the German Katzen forum most cats aren't tested for high dose conditions - they just continue following the protocol (Tilly). most of their highest doses are under 10u - and i think there's a direct correlation.

in any case, you're doing well with him.
 
Re: 11/5 Tiggy AMPS 247

julie & punkin (ga) said:
his ss reminds me of Tommy's - have you seen it? Tommy's SS Lauren (photosquirrel) has done an amazing job of managing his acro. his IGF-1 was higher than punkin's IGF-1 when they were diagnosed and Lauren plowed on staying with TR.
Interesting case, thanks for the link. Looks like a remarkable triumph of "tighter" TR. Did Tommy have treatment for the tumor? Is Tommy still on Lantus? I will poke around a lot more on that one.


julie & punkin (ga) said:
...i think keeping the numbers down is directly related to keeping the dose down.
Yes a correlation I learned the hard way, with Jill/Alex driving the point home.

Both Tiggy and Chip seem more stable with tighter regulation. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top