11/5 Tidus AMPS 270 +5/263 PMPS 249

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's taken me a few days to decide but we are going to switch Tidus to Levemir and see if that helps with his numbers. If that doesn't change anything we will have the necessary testing done to see why the insulin isn't working.

Thanks for all your support and help!
 
Jenn, is Tidus not getting insulin now? I'm concerned about that, especially if he had some ketones a few days ago as noted on his spreadsheet. Please get another ketone reading today...
 
also, I hope you will decide to stay with us when you make the switch! There are lots of Levemir users in the TR forum (like me!). Note that the stickies are all names "Lantus & Levemir." :smile:

One more thing, I fully support the decision to switch to Lev if that is what you want to do. I do want to be sure you are not looking at Lev as a magic bullet to bring his numbers down. It might work better for Tidus, or it might not. I realize he is a DCIN cat so the decisions regarding his treatment are not solely up to you, but before you get too discouraged I would like to encourage you to think about getting him tested for acromegaly and IAA (regardless of whether you decide to switch insulins). The fact that his numbers have been the same on any insulin dose so far, including no insulin, strongly suggests that he just has not yet reached a dose where the insulin is even touching him. I'm sure you've seen me note over and over again that with Lantus kitties the response we usually see is NO response - the numbers don't change at all, dose increase after dose increase, until all of a sudden a breakthrough is reached and the numbers start to move a lot. He hasn't even really started to move, so I would say he's just not up to his dose yet.

His dose isn't really that high yet, so I might be all wet, but honestly almost every time I have noticed a cat who is still this flat as the dose starts to get into this range, it turns out to be acromegaly. I know that's not something you want to hear. Testing might be worth it because then you will know. It was kind of a relief for me when I got Jazzy's positive acro result because then at least I knew I wasn't doing anything wrong and she just needed more insulin. Look at Jazzy's spreadsheet and I think you'll agree that most of it looks a lot like Tidus's.

On the other hand, with him being a foster cat I completely understand if the decision is not to test. If you test and he is positive for acro, then you have to disclose that to potential adopters and might hurt his chance of finding an adopter. I went through those thoughts with Jazzy too. It was a little easier with her (strangely) because she had so many other behavioral issues that I knew she would not be adopted anyway. I was a little more free to treat her as my own cat. So I get it if you can't do the test, but try not to feel bad as his dose climbs and just keep in mind that there could be a reason. Ok?
 
After many hours of contemplating and thinking I was going to stay in LL, it's been decided that Tidus and I will be posting on Levemir page.

Sorry for any confusion and thanks for all your advice while this decision was made.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top