11/5 Reuben AMPS 84 1.5*70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Good Morning ~O) :razz: ~O)

Yesterday I asked how many drops 0.1u is, and judging by the answers you all gave me I think we are doing okay. My 0.25 was between 2 and 3 drops and my 0.1 is between 1 and 2 drops. Sounds like time to learn to measure half drops! Thanks so much for the advice and experiences, I feel like Alice in Wonderland when she was big and everything was tiny!! Ack!!

We had a vet app't with the vet that I met when I bought ondansetron from him a few weeks ago. His clinic has a 1 year insurance special right now that includes full senior blood work, dental, a few visits, including emergency visits - and other stuff I don`t remember right now - for 230 dollars. :shock: :shock:

The blood work results will be back tomorrow, I go to pick them up and talk to him in the morning.

He gave me the standard lecture advising against investing so much time in the protocol, loosing sleep, no need to be testing so much, it probably won`t work anyway, all that. :roll:
 
Hi guys .. wonder if reuben would be looking as good as he does right now, if you didn't invest so much time in this protocol .. my guess, nope! Have a great day guys!
 
I just went to post today`s condo and realized I had never actually pressed 'submit' on yesterday's... :roll: so here it is. Today's will be up soon.

The vet wanted to keep Reuben there yesterday to give him fluids as he is dehydrated. I was afraid to leave him there and brought him home, trying to get at least 40 ml of liquid into him a day to supplement what he is drinking. I don`t know if it will work. I have a feeling I will have to leave him at the clinic after all for the IV.

However, I am very very unsure about the insulin situation if he is staying at the clinic, and wondering what would be best. To try to teach him how to inject my dose or suspend insulin for the duration of the hospital stay?

What does everyone think?
 
Marje had a post here somewhere for doing the fluids yourself. Less stressful for Reuben to be home instead of at the vet unless he
absolutely won't cooperate with you.
And if not, what about you going back and forth with him, they give him fluids. you monitor and keep his schedule.

As little insulin as he is on, you may need to learn the fluid thing anyway if he will continute needing fluids even after he doesn't need
insulin.

how to give subcutaneous fluids
 
thank you rhiannon!! i had forgotten about those two options... either one is better than leaving him there... i`m going for the test results now. the vet expects all sorts of grave and terrible things from them. we`ve been through this before and reuben is still alive. the sooner he can stop being poked the sooner he can stabilize with whatever the issues are.... this process has caused him terrible, terrible stress and depression. he is a hightly dramatic and over emotional being. cat_pet_icon
 
Hi, Alexa,

My vet lets me bring my cat in and wait while someone gives the fluids. It's called a walk-back. It's only about $16.00 if I have purchased a fluid bag and the lines, needles. etc. from the vet. I can purchase these things either that day or bring the bag and stuff I use at home with me to the walk-back.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top