11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61, +3.30 68, +4.30 61,+6 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone

Yesterday thread.viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127899

In essence he went down lower than 50 by +2 and then hovered around there for a few hours going down to 38 at his lowest. last night he got a reduction to 1 unit and spent the evening in the mid eighties.

Today we have
AMPS 92 (fed 20g)
+2 56 (fed 20g) he didn't eat it all and finished it off at +3.30 so +4 likely to be slightly affected by food.
+4 56

Yesterday I never got around to giving remi his Zantac and ondansetron and so decided to leave them off today to see how he goes. He has been chesty and asthma has been worse for the last week or so and I wonder if he either has a chest infection or as he suffers acid reflux whether this is causing it. I have tried to get a vet appointment for today but no luck. I am wondering if the Zantac is in somewhere adding to the acid reflux??
 
Re: 11/5 Remi AMPS 92, +2 56, +4 56

what a great cycle for Remi - he is sure solidly in green, even after dipping into the 30's yesterday. No significant bounce.

sending vines for a good vet appt. his chest doesn't sound good.
 
Re: 11/5 Remi AMPS 92, +2 56, +4 56

Thanks Julie

I have never been able to get his chest/asthma under control and it is so frustrating. Now I am also worrying about CKD as his extra peeing and back leg weakness could be a symptom. I posted in another thread on the relaxed lantus forum here: viewtopic.php?f=32&t=127920

In essence I had chosen a high protein (75% ) wet food (thrive complete) for remi as he seems to do better without much fat but according to Tayna's CKD website that is too high in protein and could put a strain on his kidneys. So i am worried I have caused something else :sad:

I am considering changing to this food instead viewtopic.php?f=32&t=127920

If anyone has any thoughts. I am really concerned that I have done him some harm.
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43

Well it looks like I am in for another busy cycle. At plus 2 remi is below 50

AMPS 88 (fed 20g low carb food)
+2 43 (fed 1 teaspoon of low carb and three drops of sugar)

Will retest in twenty. Anything else I should do?
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61

So I think I must have put a lot of sugar into his food as it is up to +2.40 61

This is where I get confused. Do I give more food and honey of do I wait and retest in twenty. I don't want to send him to the moon with honey?
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61

Since he's over 60 now, I'd give him just some regular low carb food and test in 1/2 hour. Up Remi - that's a little too green for tonight! :shock: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61

Okay. He's eating the low carb now and I will retest in twenty. Err Does this mean he gets a reduction tomorrow?

He is off to the vets in the morning for a blood test (if that makes any difference)
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61

Normally we don't give reductions that are close together. The depot of the higher dose (1.25U) can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. However, given that Remi is going to the vet tomorrow, I presume you won't be able to monitor him as closely while you are away. A .75U dose might be safer for tomorrow. The other thing that can influence the decision is how easy (or not) it is to keep Remi up tonight. If you find you are giving a lot of honey to keep him up, then that's another indicator he really wants a reduction.
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61

Wendy&Neko said:
Normally we don't give reductions that are close together. The depot of the higher dose (1.25U) can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. However, given that Remi is going to the vet tomorrow, I presume you won't be able to monitor him as closely while you are away. A .75U dose might be safer for tomorrow. The other thing that can influence the decision is how easy (or not) it is to keep Remi up tonight. If you find you are giving a lot of honey to keep him up, then that's another indicator he really wants a reduction.

Sorry I should have been clearer he is only going in for a quick visit and so we will be there and back within the hour and so I can manage him. Ah yes I hadn't considered the depot. Will keep checking on him and report back but understand what you mean. Hopefully he will stay up okay. He's fast asleep on the sofa with me now.
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61

The other reason I was hedging my answer is that I have seen some cats go green like Remi and start charging down the dosing ladder. It can be a hectic time when the pancreas starts healing quickly. There's a good chance if you stick to the same dose tomorrow morning, it may be busy.
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61,

Okay at +3.30 he is 68

So far
AMPS 88 (fed 20g low carb)
+2 43 (fed 1 teaspoon plus 3drops of honey)
+2.40 61 (fed 20g low carb wet)
+3.30 68
+4.30 61 (fed 20g low carb)

So should I retest him in 1 hour. Do I need to fed him low carb agin now. I would normally feed him at +4

Okay so perhaps after a few more readings we will know more about the dose for tomorrow. He really gets back to his old self when he goes low. Does that mean his normal numbers are probably as low as 43 and below?
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61, +3.30 68, +4.30 61

So he has stayed up in the sixties for + 6.30. I've given him his usual low carb food. Will retest in an hour and then give him his normal snack but hopefully that will be okay then to go to bed.
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61, +3.30 68, +4.30 61

even though it is really soon after the last under-50-reduction, because he's solid greens, i might go ahead and decrease with your next shot because of the reason Wendy mentioned. Some cats go down the dosing ladder very quickly. It's up to you.
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61, +3.30 68, +4.30 61

Thanks Julie. I might leave it the same tomorrow morning as I am assuming the vet visit will raise him slightly and then if he stays in green maybe reduce the dose in the evening. How does that sound?
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61, +3.30 68, +4.30 61

have you noticed vet visits raising his BGs before? some cats do - punkin's didn't go up at all. So it's an individual thing.

that's a reasonable decision. You are great at monitoring and you'll be able to pull him up if he goes low. I don't think there's an exact "do this!" answer to your next step.
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61, +3.30 68, +4.30 61

No I don't know if it does or doesn't actually. Just sort of assumed it did :shock: maybe I will skinny the dose tomorrow. Will just play it by ear I guess.
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61, +3.30 68, +4.30 61

I had punkin in for a vet visit and I think when I left home he was at 70ish and it was early enough in the cycle he was headed down. I took the testing equipment with me and tested and carbed while sitting in the vet's waiting room. There was a big slobbery noisy bulldog (or something like that) getting weighed just a few feet away from us. Punkin's blood sugar wasn't affected by it at all.

However, some cats might go up a lot. It's worth checking tomorrow and seeing what Remi does.
 
Re: 11/5 Remi PMPS 88, +2 43 +2.40 61, +3.30 68, +4.30 61

Yeah I tend to think that remi is more highly stressed than that :-D i will take my kit with me.

Just done a +6 test and he is up to 74. Will put down a little low carb food and then we are off to bed. Remi sleeps with me so I can keep an eye on him anyway..

Thanks Julie and Wendy everyone else who keeps an eye on me for your support again. I feel like I am beginning to get the hang of it a little better now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top