11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148 +2/118 +5/77 +8/117

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
I was please to see PurrFace having a nice slow decline in numbers instead of a fast decline. It will be interesting to see if it is continuing at the +2 test.
If he gets to the 70s should I give the 1 tsp of LC or hold and test each hour to see if he stays within that mid green range?
PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace AMPS 104

Hi guys .. beautiful start to the day! It's always exciting to see progress in our kitties isn't it? No feeding advice from me, but fingers crossed purrface surfs here for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace AMPS 104 +2/49

Once he gets back into the 50s & 60s should I continue to give him the tsp of LC at each test until he gets into the 70s or is there a point when I shouldn't be "feeding" the low numbers?
Recap
11/04
PMPS 233
+3/200
+7/147
+11/124

11/05
AMPS 104
+2/49 Fed 1 tsp LC
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace AMPS 104 +2/49 +2.5/44

Thanks Peter. Just tested again and he was 44 so we fed the 40s with a tsp of LC. He doesn't spike a lot with food so I'm thinking that the carbs from the food at +2 haven't kicked in yet. They should have by the +3 test though so we'll see then. Thank you for stopping by the condo. It's always great to have folks drop in. Have a great day.
Recap
11/04
PMPS 233
+3/200
+7/147
+11/124

11/05
AMPS 104
+2/49 Fed 1 tsp LC
+2.5/44 Fed 1 tsp LC
+3/37 Fed 1 tsp HC
3.25/40 Fed 1 tsp LC with tiny bit of gravy from HC
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace AMPS 104 +2/49 +2.5/44 +3/37 +3.25/40

He reacts fairly quickly to HC food. Hope he continues to rise but not too high. I believe when he gets to the upper 50s I'm going to fed maybe 1/2 tsp or no food. I don't want to feed him in an area of low numbers that would push him higher if it would have been possible for him to stabilize at that low but sage number. Any suggestions?
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace AMPS 104 +2/49 +2.5/44 +3/37 +3.25/40 +3.7

Coming up slow but sure. Fingers & paws crossed he will keep this trend.
Recap
11/04
PMPS 233
+3/200
+7/147
+11/124

11/05
AMPS 104
+2/49 Fed 1 tsp LC
+2.5/44 Fed 1 tsp LC
+3/37 Fed 1 tsp HC
+3.25/40 Fed 1 tsp LC with tiny bit of gravy from HC
+3.75/54 Fed 1 tsp of LC
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace +2/49 +2.5/44 +3/37 +3.25/40 +3.75/54 +4.5

He was really hungry so we fed him his normal lunch of 1.5oz of LC. I don't think it will push his number too high. Normally after lunch he can hold off for several hours so enough time for the effect of food to wear off. Trying to find a happy medium with the food to ensure he has normal amounts but don't want to push the BG readings too high due to the food spike. He doesn't really have huge food spikes so I hope I'm right.

11/05
AMPS 104
+2/49 Fed 1 tsp LC
+2.5/44 Fed 1 tsp LC
+3/37 Fed 1 tsp HC
+3.25/40 Fed 1 tsp LC with tiny bit of gravy from HC
+3.75/54 Fed 1 tsp of LC
+4.5/66 Fed normal lunch of 1.5oz LC(approx 3.5 tsp).
+5.5/72 No Food Given
+7.5/159 No Food Given
+9.25 Fed 1.5 tsp LC
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace+2.5/44 +3/37 +3.25/40 +3.75/54 +4.5/66 +5.

It looks like PurrFace is tired of this dose. You're gonna have to reduce it to 0.75u! Nice handling of those low numbers.
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace+2.5/44 +3/37 +3.25/40 +3.75/54 +4.5/66 +5.

Thank you Sienne. I'll reduce the dose to .75U beginning with his PM shot. Is there a range in the mid green area, 50s up, that it is recommended to not give food. I don't want to over feed him.

Thank you again. And YEAH PURRFACE for the reduction.
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace+2.5/44 +3/37 +3.25/40 +3.75/54 +4.5/66 +5.

Thanks Ann. I'm happy and nervous about the reduction. We have been practicing for the last 30 minutes on drawing a .75 dose. Been looking hard at the photos of proper doses I found here. Got it figured out...I think. Will adjust the syringe so there is just a little daylight between the .5U and the top of the plunger. I know when there it's not a .5U dose and it's not a 1U dose so hopefully it is a .75U dose.
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace +3.25/40 +3.75/54 +4.5/66 +5.5/72 +7.5/159

Yesterday when PurrFace had a PMPS or 233 I told DW that we had a low green day coming in the morning. In the past 2 weeks every time he had a low yellow PMPS reading his AMPS was green and the fun started from there. I thought today was going to be different because he started in blue with an AMPS of 104 but it didn't take long; at +2/49. It's remarkable what the SS can tell you if you look at differently than just numbers. Hopefully I will get better at interpreting it. I'm happy to say that today's low numbers saga wasn't nearly as stressful as the previous ones were. We have all of you wonderful folks to thank for that.
Hope everyone has a wonderful evening. :cool:
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace +3.25/40 +3.75/54 +4.5/66 +5.5/72 +7.5/159

Congratulations on the dosecrease!! :mrgreen: You guys did a good job today.
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace +3.25/40 +3.75/54 +4.5/66 +5.5/72 +7.5/159

Thanks Dyana we had excellent instructors.
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148

Well Ole PurrFace received his first .75U dose of insulin. I actually was happy with the PMPS number since he hadn't had anything to eat since +4.5. Tonight at the PMPS was the first time he left food in his dish. He received his usual of 1/2 3oz can of FF (1.5oz) but only ate about 1/2 of it then hopped up on the settee on the porch and started to groom himself. :thumbup I'm anxious to see what his +2 will be.
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148

congratulations on your reduced dose! Y'all have worked for it! Crossing my fingers for a nice evening at your house.
hugs
mary and oliver
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148

Thanks Mary. I'll be doing his +2 test in about an hour or so. That will give me some indication as to whether or not I'll be setting the alarm clock. I haven't gotten into too many condos today. Been away a lot today and taking care of honey dos. About 2 hours ago I was talking with my DW and said that this retirement life isn't all it's cracked up to be. She asked why. I told her after 26 years in the military traveling all around and then 17 in the RV business there was always a challenge to take on and that's what I missed. Well true to form she got up, went to the hall closet came back to the living room and handed me the vacuum cleaner and told me to master that challenge and to feel free to take it on every Monday. I did learn that the cats are scared of the vacuum so I guess it wasn't a total loss of time.
Have a great evening and stay safe on the road.
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148

What an exciting day you had w/ PurrFace again. He is doing beautifully and how exciting for the decrease. Just remember that with the depot effect, you may have another active cycle. I'm wondering if you could put some of the HC/gravey mixed with the LC to help him get out of the 40's. I remember feeding LC in the 50's but I'm thinking a bit more carbs could get him up a bit quicker and out of the low/lows. Just my thoughts and maybe another expert can correct me if I'm inaccurate.

So excited for you!
karen
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148

Hi John

Wow what a day you all had and you handled it solo! I'm sorry there was no one around to support you but you all did great!

Congrats on the reduction!

Is there a range in the mid green area, 50s up, that it is recommended to not give food. I don't want to over feed him.

It depends on the cat and where they are in the cycle. If its early, I'd be feeding the 50s until they are up so that onset will not drop them too low. If its late in the cycle, they might bring themselves up. So there are a lot of varying factors, it looks to me like you did perfect this cycle. Now the fun thing is, they can change. :lol: :lol:

Gad you got a new challenge today in housekeeping ;-) :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148

Hi Karen. Thank you for the info. I gave him HC @+3/39 and then LC with HC gravy @+3.5/40. Should I have given the HC gravy on LC @+2/49 and thereby possibly preventing the +2.5/44? We're learning and appreciate any help.

Marje. Thanks for answering my question. Your explanation makes sense. I'll put that info into our bags of tricks. We would have been a basket of nerves if you hadn't taught us what to do the other night.

Thank you both and I hope ya' all have a great evening. See you at +2.
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148

That is kind of what I was thinking. I think you want to use the least amount of carbs to keep them safely surfing. You are gathering information that he doesn't do much food spikes. Since PurrFace was in the 40's at +2 I'm just wondering if you had done MC it may have brought him up more quickly. I'm only thinking that if his body thinks its in too much of a 'danger' zone it will kick out more sugar and produce a bounce. That's just my thinking process.

I was looking at 10/31 and guessing you fed LC through his greens. On 11/3 you used LC early on but it did not bring up his numbers and then you switched to MC at the 40's. Let me know what you think. I'm definitely no expert but its kind of fun looking through SS's to figure things out.

Have a great night.
karen :smile:
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148 +2/118

Looking back at the SS I agree with you, Karen. I see now that by giving him the MC at the first onset of a 40s number could have brought him up quicker. I really appreciate you explaining like you did. It made it a lot easier to go back to the SS and see exactly what you meant. Thanks Karen, I appreciate your input. Have a great evening.
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148 +2/118

Any time John-
Hopefully someone will correct me if my assessments are inaccurate. Its just great seeing the wonderful progress PurrFace has made. Learning right along with you.
Looks like PurrFace may come down more for you again!!! Have a great night. So glad that you and DH can tag-team it.
Karen
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148 +2/118

I think you have to look at where he is in the cycle and how fast he is dropping. If Gracie drops as much as PF did in two hours, I'm going to use my "big gun" which, for her is 10%. Once I get her stopped, I switch to 8% if she's still in the 40s and then as she comes up, I go back to 4%.

But this is where the ECID comes in. I agree with Karen that, generally, between HC and LC, you want to use the least carbs that will work. But I find that members either use LC that is 4% or so or then they go to HC. It's worth it to try a higher LC food.

Even still, Lisa and I tried this with Leo one night when he started t safe numbers and darn if it didn't take HC to get him sorted out!

Did I confuse everything? My point is that some cats, like Gracie, do best when varying degrees of LC are used. I don't use karo unless she is in the 20s but that's because I know I can get her up to safe numbers using 10% if she is in the 30s/40s. If she's in the 20s, she is first going to be in the 30s with LC...and I want her in the 40s ASAP and then even up into the 50s. Also, I know if she's not coming up quickly with the 10%, I'm looking at a pending reduction.
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148 +2/118

Thanks Marje. I'm going to have to get some 10% MC stocked. I understand what you said. I'll probably re-read it two or three times before it begins to stick. Thanks again Marje, you have been such a huge help since I have been posting here. It is very much appreciate the time you devote to helping others.
 
Re: 11/5 PurrFace PMPS 148 +2/118

Thank you and you're welcome.

Keep in mind that 10% works for Gracie. It's trial and error to see what works for PF.

Mike has night duty so I'm off to bed since its quiet. Good night and I hope you and Donna aren't up all night?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top