11/5 Marley Lantus AMPS 155, +8 81, +9 64, +10 60, +11 60, PMPS 86, +3 33, +4.5 36, +5 27, + 5.5 49

So great!!!

When do you think I should test next? To catch if its going lower than 50?
 
IMG_4061.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4061.jpg
    IMG_4061.jpg
    87 KB · Views: 94
Thank you.

An opportunity came along before I got your message, so I did a plus 93/4 but I'll try to get a +10 too.

yes he always gets a snack after a test.
 
Last edited:
+11 is still 60

So in terms of giving a shot at +12....what are the possibilities?
 
Yes.

So he gets his meat meal divided between +1,2,4 and 4. But every time I test him I give him a reward.

So that reward is 2-3 tiny fried fish, or a piece of dried ox liver, or dried organ mix.

Tonight is 'firework' night in the UK which is a real bummer as he is now terrified every few seconds by the noise of fireworks and running round in a panic. I hope it doesnt affect his BG
 
In addition to the usual dried meat treat he gets after a test, you want to feed a tsp of food to keep him surfing greens. The idea is to (a) keep him at a good dose by avoid a reduction and (b) when the lower numbers occur later in the cycle, preventing him from dropping below 50 at shot time.
 
In addition to the usual dried meat treat he gets after a test, you want to feed a tsp of food to keep him surfing greens.
His snacks can be quite substantial - a big piece of ox liver feels like its the same or more than a teaspoon of food, same with the dried organ pieces.

I'm really tired now. Im not sure I fully understand your last message so I will re read in the morning
 
So 33 is super low right.

Do you think I shouldn't go to sleep?

Hopefully he will come with me upstairs an I can take some food in the timer and if hes hungry he will surely find it?
 
I’m not the person you need to be hearing from - but based on other posts I’ve read in the past few days, 33 is too low not to hover and feed! I think you need to add a ? or even 911 to your post header to get attention if he’s at 33
 
Thank you Angela. My heart rate went up reading that, but I’m new and shouldn’t be walking her through anything. Personally I would syrup or pure glucose, it’s faster! And then all the food!
 
Thank you. I know that really. You know when you are so gutted because all you want to do is fall into the deepest sleep. But I shall of course wait til he's in safer numbers.

I have honey standing by but I wont give it to him unless he needs it. He seems fine at the moment
 
He seems ok. A little bit subdued, but its been fireworks night here in the Uk and hes been freaked out because of all the explosions.
 
No one can make you give the honey… but you’re risking seizures if he really is that low (and it’s not a bad test). The brain needs a certain amount of glucose to literally operate. Without the brain you have no body. From a human-medical perspective, please give any sugar you can, and quickly - it takes a few minutes to take effect.
 
Do I have to give homey? My last advisor (on a different forum) said to try to give them their normal food, frequently and only resort to Honey if they symptomatically need it.
 
I see you switched from the Alpha Track to the Freestyle Lite. I did that as well. The Freestyle lite does read lower than the AT. 33 though is very low and you don't want it that low for too long. The honey works faster than the food. A little drop of honey and maybe a tsp of high carb gravy? Then a test in 15-20 mins.
 
Do I have to give homey? My last advisor (on a different forum) said to try to give them their normal food, frequently and only resort to Honey if they symptomatically need it.

I can only speak to what I know… and that is human blood sugar. If a human were in my hospital at 33, they would not even be conscious, would probably be seizing, and might be coding. That is how serious it can be. The fact that cats test a little low on a human meter is probably saving his life.

Honey straight on his gums or tongue to absorb quickly is better than in food, but any is better than none.
 
So when you say hi carb food, you mean like the forbidden kibble?
We like to stick with wet food and kibble as a back up if kitty won't eat wet food. Do you have anything in gravy? What foods do you have and we can check the carb % on the food chart? Ideally 15%+
 
I will bow to Angela’s knowledge, as your kitty is on TR which I am not at all qualified for. But in general I would say that if it comes down to it, whatever he will eat, at this point. It’s possible the honey could be burning off by twenty minutes too and he’s just coming down again… which means it was only a temporary fix. And temporary fixes like honey or glucose gel will keep him alive but you would have to keep re-giving it every few minutes. Food will take longer to hit, but last a lot longer.
 
Back
Top