? 11/5 Malcolm,STALLING,amps 120,day 3 1unit bid

I tested my own BG to make sure it's reading, got 125. Seems to be working. Malcolm has been sleeping after his injections and fur felt cool when I pet him. He has had more energy in the last few days since starting Lantus.
 
Last edited:
I'm at work and can't stay on. If you cannot stay home today to monitor, you should skip the shot since you don't have the data to know what he'll do. You'll get another chance to shoot blue.

If you can stay home to monitor, and have plenty of testing supplies and HC food, you can shoot and get a +1 and a +2. You'll want to keep your subject line updated so people can see if you need help.
 
I agree with above...he's not really rising or falling based on that last test...120/119 essentially the same.

Without knowing what he's likely to do OR more importantly how carb sensitive he is, you may want to skip this one - continue to test though.

I know it's tough getting started with all the testing, but it'll get easier over time.

Let's see how he does on his own today - then post again this evening after you've had a chance to gather more data today - to ask about PMPS dose.
 
Hi Christie, you can color in the background of your AMPS if you highlight the field and then select the blue background by clicking on the paintbucket on top of your SS...

Nice job with the testing...looks like he's on the rise now...
 
Hi Christie, you can color in the background of your AMPS if you highlight the field and then select the blue background by clicking on the paintbucket on top of your SS...

Nice job with the testing...looks like he's on the rise now...
Colored in now. Thanks. He's laying down in the sun by the screen doir since I've got the porch doir open. It's in the 70s here. He's grazing FF Natural and boiled chicken thighs. I tested his ketones and the strip in neutral, just a tad more beige than a tap water strip. His body temp is normal, not cool like this morning. He bleeds when poked, during the lower BG his ears didn't want to bleed. Maybe 1 unit is too much to start or his body is in "wonky week". I got approved to work from home tomorrow so I can monitor these next few days closely. I will have to go back to work Monday so I'm hoping to stabilize this over the next few days.
 
Ketone strip on bottom is tap water for comparison
 

Attachments

  • 20201105_125131.jpg
    20201105_125131.jpg
    28.5 KB · Views: 69
Colored in now. Thanks. He's laying down in the sun by the screen doir since I've got the porch doir open. It's in the 70s here. He's grazing FF Natural and boiled chicken thighs. I tested his ketones and the strip in neutral, just a tad more beige than a tap water strip. His body temp is normal, not cool like this morning. He bleeds when poked, during the lower BG his ears didn't want to bleed. Maybe 1 unit is too much to start or his body is in "wonky week". I got approved to work from home tomorrow so I can monitor these next few days closely. I will have to go back to work Monday so I'm hoping to stabilize this over the next few days.
Looks like the Lantus is working it's magic! Glad he is responding well to it! You'll get used to the blues :) :bighug: have a safe day Mr. Malcolm!! Let's give mom a steady night!!!
 
When you're following the SLGS dosing method, you reduce if you hit a number below 90.

So Malcom didn't do that today, so no, you would not reduce the dose.

Lantus is a hormone, so it'll take time for the depot to build and hopefully those numbers will level off. He also may be bouncing from hitting that first unfamiliar blue number today. His body is used to much higher numbers aka blood glucose levels much higher than what he saw this morning....so what happens then is the automatic response by his liver to 'save the day'...this is a normal response - and the liver just unloaded all of it's stored up glycogen (sugar) into his blood stream in response to a perceived emergency...the lowest number he's seen in a while most likely.

It'll level off with the help of the insulin...keep it steady as she goes.

If you get an unexpectedly low number in the morning - stall, don't feed, test again in 20 minutes to see which way he's heading. Based on your day and the ability to test or not, then you can decide what to do. You're new at this so please don't hesitate to post for help...either way, post and let us know how he's doing in the morning :)
 
When you're following the SLGS dosing method, you reduce if you hit a number below 90.

So Malcom didn't do that today, so no, you would not reduce the dose.

Lantus is a hormone, so it'll take time for the depot to build and hopefully those numbers will level off. He also may be bouncing from hitting that first unfamiliar blue number today. His body is used to much higher numbers aka blood glucose levels much higher than what he saw this morning....so what happens then is the automatic response by his liver to 'save the day'...this is a normal response - and the liver just unloaded all of it's stored up glycogen (sugar) into his blood stream in response to a perceived emergency...the lowest number he's seen in a while most likely.

It'll level off with the help of the insulin...keep it steady as she goes.

If you get an unexpectedly low number in the morning - stall, don't feed, test again in 20 minutes to see which way he's heading. Based on your day and the ability to test or not, then you can decide what to do. You're new at this so please don't hesitate to post for help...either way, post and let us know how he's doing in the morning :)
Ok. That makes sense. Thank you everyone.
 
So his depot isn't full then, right? So if he's below 200 in the morning again do I shoot a unit or lower the dose?
Nope, it takes 5-7 days for the depot to build when you first start Lantus. With SLGS you would take a reduction if at any time the BG falls below 90. You've had the unfortunate experience of getting a lower preshot right out the gate, most of us eased into it ;). As you get more data and you get a feel of how he is responding to insulin and carbs, it will get easier.

ETA nice to see you made it over here to the subforum :)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top