11/5/ Lovey Interpreting Numbers and Dosing Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Hello everyone. I need some extra pairs of eyes. Can you guys take a look at my spreadsheet and give me your take on it? Do you see any patterns? (alpha trak meter) I am going to a new vet tonight who will look at my numbers rather than requiring Lovey to come in for curves. The curve I did on Saturday night was pretty much high numbers so I don't know if it will be that helpful. Lovey seems hungrier than usual. Sometimes her numbers do not follow a u shaped curve. For example, I think she drops down from the shot quickly and then may shoot back up or tonight at +9 she was 379 and then 3 hours later at AMPS she is 221? I can do an increase on Friday night when I am home to monitor. I was thinking possibly too much insulin, still bouncing, or not enough insulin. ;-) Many times from high preshots Lovey is down a 100 - 250 points or more within 4 hours so I am not sure what is happening?
 
Good morning. I'm sorry you are sick and am sending you get better soon, vines ;-) I hope Lovey is giving you lots of snuggles.

From the data I see, I see that she does seem to bounce a bit from those blue numbers, but it also looks like you have room to increase the dose to 3 units. I'm sorry if you have to go to work, when you are so sick :-|

I hope you like the new vet.
 
Thanks Dyana. I am getting better. Lovey was in bed with me this morning. Thanks for your take on Lovey's numbers.

Have a good day at work.
 
No dosing advice, just wanted to say good luck with the new vet. It is not easy finding one that is very knowledgeable with FD, and has a personality that you can get along with.

Hope you feel better :-D
 
I have a couple of thoughts. First, the nadir is not always at the same time every cycle. Nadirs can and do change. Even with as much data as I have with Gabby and knowing where her nadir may typically fall, there are cycles when her low point isn't where I expect it to be. There may be cycles where you get an atypical late or early nadir.

Remember that it can take 72 hours for a bounce to clear. Even if a bounce usually clears quickly, sometimes it doesn't.

There are also cycles where you may see a high before a break.

I agree with Dyana -- there's room for an increase.

Also, if the vet starts talking about chronic Somogyi rebound and reducing the dose, please don't listen. We can present a rather cogent discussion regarding the lack of research to support this concept.
 
Thanks Sienne for your help. I need the input to help with the process. Sometimes I just see a big question mark when I look at the data. confused_cat
 
Hi Catherine. Thank you so much for stopping by our condo today. :-D I can't explain how much the visits help my nerves. Good luck with your new vet, and feel better vines to you :-D
 
Hi Catherine!!

Hope your vet visit was beneficial and you're happy with the new vet! That was nice that they would let you bring in your numbers and not require you to bring Lovey too!

Only thing I'll add to the discussion today is to not get too hung up on the numbers. (I have a hard time with this too). They are what they are, and we're not in control, our cats are (and they aren't giving away any of their secrets)

They lead, we follow

Hope you have a nice evening!
 
i'm curious about what this vet will say. i emailed the link to punkin's ss to my vet, although honestly, i'm not sure she looked at it. but just to make sure, i also would print it out and take it in every so often. the reason i'm mentioning this is that seeing more than one day can show the fluctuating numbers over the course of several cycles. you might need to mention to the vet that dosing decisions for lantus is made upon the nadir, not the highs in between.

many people also see their vets for everything except dosing advice too. our vet knew i knew what i was doing and was getting advice here, and only once did she comment on a dose.
 
Catherine

I hope you are feeling better and you had a good visit at the vet.

The other thing I might suggest is to follow the protocol on the dose increases.

Increasing the dose
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

I added the bold. With the AT, she's only seen one number under 130 so she's not getting into green numbers. I'd hold the dose ten cycles after you've seen a blue number and if she isn't coming down into green (under 130 AT), I'd raise the dose.

Feel better soon,
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top