11/5 Louie's +6 ~ 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Louieorangetabby

Member Since 2011
Louie is sitting here purring after a big breakfast and his morning test reading of 308. I'll keep a sharp lookout for his mid day BG levels~ I've reduced his dose down to .25/.30 and am hoping to keep him with that amount for a few days.
Tracy & Louie
 
Re: 11/5 Louie's AMPS 308

here's your post from yesterday

good call on the dose reduction!

don't be freaked out by the 308 this morning. that is expected and means that Louie's body felt that LO, and his liver released stored sugars and counter-regulatory hormones to save his life. we call it a bounce. they go low and then soar. he might take 3 days to clear that bounce. eventually they calm down and the liver gets accustomed to the normal numbers and stops reacting.
 
Re: 11/5 Louie's AMPS 308

I want to ask a favor and make a recommendation.

Yesterday, several of us were closely monitoring your condo. When we see someone, especially someone new, who's cat drops into low numbers, we really do keep a close eye on what's going on. We want you to have the help and support that you need so you learn how to steer the cycle with food. It's very helpful if you do two things. First, provide us with updates. We really will stay up with you all night if necessary to help you through a difficult situation. So, please, post updates so we know that Louie is safe. Likewise, if you can update your subject line with BG test info, it let's us scan quickly to see what's going on. It was only by chance that I check in on your condo (i.e., thread) while I was at work yesterday. To edit the subject line, go to your first post of the day and click on the "edit" button above the text box. Make the change then click "submit."

I also want to strongly encourage you to get tests during the PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. In addition, if you don't test at night, you're missing half of your data. At the minimum, we encourage you to get at least a test every night before you go to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top