11/5 Klinger AMPS 356 3.0 u; PMPS 453

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Very Active Member
Good morning,
Well, it's Klinger's curve day. Hope it shows that his numbers are getting lower.
AMPS 356 3.0u
+1 493
+3 351
Sorry I haven't commented on any posts, I've been here, just not visible - I've been enthralled with what is happening with Claudia and Charlie.

So, I think Klinger has arthritis. When he was on his pain meds for the week after his dental his was going up and down the stairs (lb in basement) faster than I've seen in a while. Now that he's off the pain meds, he's back to his normal one step at a time pace. Can I give him joint supplements? Are they prescribed by the vet or can I pick something up at the pet store or vitamin/natural food store?

Have a great day!
 
Re: 11/5 Klinger AMPS 356 3.0 u

You and Klinger are having a great curve day, that's a very pretty blue you got.

You should ask about the arthritus suppliments over in health, maybe one of the vet techs can tell you.
 
Re: 11/5 Klinger AMPS 356 3.0 u

wow that was a huge jump at +1...what did he eat? but i see he's coming down..nice day for a curve.
missed you. you should give update each day if you can. pzi is small enough we can accomodate more than 2 kitties.
 
Re: 11/5 Klinger AMPS 356 3.0 u

Hi Marcy, I was just wondering last night where you had gone off to. Good to hear you guys are at least lurking. :smile:

We give F glucosamine/Cosequin and Adaquan injections [intramuscular] for his arthritis. The Adaquan which is available from Costco seems to really help. You would need to get an IM injection lesson from your vet. I hope I'm doing it right but it does not seem too hard to me. The did emphasize pulling back on the plunger to see if any blood came in. I hit something the last time I did it and blood did come in. F is so skinny though and it is difficult on him. I'm sure with Klinger it would be pretty easy.

I've been using the same 1/3cc u-100 short needle insulin syringes for the IM injection which seem to work great. The vet gave us these 20-something gauge syringes to use - and OUCH! that's got to hurt a cat. I also use a little alcohol to get the hair to lay flat which helps.
 
Re: 11/5 Klinger AMPS 356 3.0 u

Cosequin for Cats
is a capsule you open and sprinkle onto their food for arthritis, joints supplement. Sold at vet, but dont think its Rx. (??) available online also if you want to read up on it.
Its basically glucosamine, and only helps if they still have cartilage to supplement. and it takes 6? weeks to see improvement.
we started recently and it may have caused some diarrhea- not sure, so Im re -introducing very slowy, like 1/2 capsule per day sprinkled over several meals.
 
Re: 11/5 Klinger AMPS 356 3.0 u

I'm jealous of your blues, but very happy for you and klinger! I hope the supplement makes klinger feel like a kitten again!
 
Well, it was an interesting day. He made it to the blues, but then he shot right back up to the reds. PMPS 453
Any thoughts?
Thanks, Robin and Lori. :YMHUG:

Thanks for the information on arthritis supplements. I also saw dasuquin on some posts on the board, it seems similar to cosequin. Thanks for letting me know of the possibility of diarrhea, Nancy.
I'll see if I can find either at the pet store. If not, I'll order it online.
Gator, I wouldn't have any trouble with injections with Klinger that's for sure. Klinger says to tell you "he's not fat, he's big boned." (another quote from South Park).

Claudia, I think I'd rather be in your shoes at the moment. All of these bouncy numbers that Klinger has isn't much fun either. ;-)
 
OMG, another South Park fan in PZI Land!!! Finally!

Forgot to mention too that Adaquan requires prescription [and as always Costco pharmacy does not require membership]. It is a animal only medication. We've had varying doses I think right now we are doing a higher dose of .2ml every week. Let me know if I can dig up more info for you on it.
 
I think today was awesome.

He's not used to seeing those lower nadirs so his liver may be panicking and dumping sugar to protect itself from a preceived hypo. He's been high for awhile now and his body might have gotten used to the high numbers.

I think he's settling into the 3 unit dose. I would ride it out and stick with it no matter what high PS (don't react to the bounce, that's old school advise) you get NOT low of course. He will steadily get used to better bg's.

I'll say a little prayer that Klinger has more and more days like today.
 
marcy this was a nice little curve...i think robin is absolutly right, you can't raise this dose now. like she said "unless you get a lowie in the morning" (i just coined the word...put it in our dictionary, a lowie) then of course you have to shoot appropriatly. with klinger you just never know...he's pulled that one before.
 
It was a good day. It really was a true curve. He was so good that DH gave him a shrimp as a special treat. :smile:
I'll hold the dose at 3.0 u's for now. I think he still likes to go lower over night, maybe I'll get a +5 in tomorrow night. I'm already yawning, so it won't be tonight.
Thanks, all.
Marcy
 
Lucky Klinger! I was good today and nobody fed me shrimp. :cry:

What I meant by holding the dose was, don't react and shoot a higher dose into a bounce, hold the dose and let the bounce clear. They used to say "put on the handcuffs".

Night Night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top