11/5 Jackson PSAM 386 +3 343 +5 348 +6 312 +8 414 +11 432 PMPS 334 +1 430 +2 390 +4 353 +5 388

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...283-10-233-pmps-320-1-341-3-296-4-324.270416/

According to his Libre graph, Jackson dipped to about 260 at around +6 last night, then went into a prolonged high bounce (mostly staying >350 which is the highest the reader’s graphing software goes to) from PM+7 to now. Ergh! Deep breath, I’m telling myself… it’s just liver panic, right? He was only four cycles in to 1.5u… at least two more to go before we change anything. Just spiked my own adrenaline seeing him so close to 400 again, and who knows if he peeked above it briefly…

I did pick up his food at -2 this morning, but due to said liver panic it didn’t make a dent in his numbers. Just made him sit by my head and softly bark periodically since 4am. And he ate like he was starving when I finally gave him food again at 6am.

Now he’s just lying on the floor after his breakfast and AM shot... I think he may really be feeling the high numbers. (Here's me biting nails.) Then again he could also just be digesting… he ate more at once than he usually does. He is not a fan of the pick-food-up plan. Just having the dish empty or missing sends him into anxiety… which could cause high BG too, so I don’t know, maybe it makes things worse?
 
He’s just sleeping now, had a cuddle and now sleeping on the bed. He’s running steadily mid 300s, no drops today. He had some hopeful ones yesterday. I know I need to give it at least one more dose of 1.5u before any changes, but it’s hard to see after he was showing hopeful 200s yesterday.

Am I just worrying too soon? I know it’s early yet (on his current “new” restarted regimen, at least; we’ve actually been working up for a month total). Is this normal?
 
Actually with SLGS you need to hold the dose for a week. I don’t know his night nadir so I would not rush it.
 
Per his Libre graph, his night nadir was around 260, about midnight. And it shot up real fast after that.

I’m actually hopefully waiting on @Bron and Sheba (GA) for advice… probably after his evening dose, for the morning dose. Or maybe even in the morning. They recommended a modified SLGS at this point with changes, if needed, at 6 cycles instead of one week because he was DKA… at least for the moment (numbers coming down in his case most important, along with ketone checks). Probably will follow SLGS better once he comes into safer range. I was actually on actual once a week changes (mostly) on my own/with vet before joining here, but I panicked and dropped him back to 0.5 after he went real high BG once he increased to 2 units for just one day… which in retrospect may have been the sustained bounce about to break. Sigh. Working on getting back there now, then I’ll pretty much be continuing as I was.

Not making any changes yet without input from here. Just explaining how we got here and why not necessarily waiting a week just now.
 
In that case wait the full 6 cycles. Even with TR we don’t increase any faster. I was advising based upon your ss which is not updated.
 
I actually just spent the last several hours updating the spreadsheet with info from his Libre all the way back to the day he came home from his stay in the ER. I’m hoping the history will help you all advise me best. Right now I’m hoping for advice for tomorrow morning, which will be the 7th cycle since joining the group. But I know I may not get that until later tonight, after he’s gotten his PM dose. Just looking ahead!

Jack is technically going to be on SLGS because that’s what I can realistically manage with my sometimes-long work schedule… Family can help scan his sensor, give a can of food, and keep data going - even (now) give a shot if I have it pre-drawn up in the fridge. But no one else is going to dole out precise amounts of specific foods or watch closely for lows, to allow for TR. Things are just a little sped up at the moment because doses (and this panicked human) got so screwy for a few days before I got here. So I updated the spreadsheet to say “modified SLGS” for now. Please let me know if you think anything else about my spreadsheet should be changed to help people comprehend.

Yes, it’s been a circus.
 
Last edited:
@Bron and Sheba (GA) , sorry when I know you’re busy, but could I get your quick advice? Tonight’s dose was the 6th cycle on 1.5 units. Based on his SS I’m thinking I should increase tomorrow morning to 2 units. I really want the day off tomorrow to sit home with Jackson in case something happens. (Even if, unfortunately, it might actually be the next day when I’m working when something might…) Do you think that looks like a good idea? Or not, yet?

Or, upon looking at the SLGS page yet again, maybe 1.75… I think I totally skipped that dose last time…
 
Last edited:
Providing he doesn't drop into blue tonight, I would increase the dose to 1.75 units tomorrow morning.
Keep testing daily for ketones. Great to see you are managing to get them done daily!
This is advice for only Skye and Jackson because Jackson has recently had DKA and not for any other person doing SLGS.
 
Getting the ketones involves a little trick, I’ve learned. I have figured out that he will only prefer to pee when I’m not in the room… for whatever reason. So I clean the box, hang around a bit, and then leave for a few minutes. So far, there’s been a nice wet spot to test when I come back. Cat psychology heheh…

Thank you for your reply! :cat: Your help is so very appreciated! I do feel good about trying 1.75 units. Honestly since we missed this level last time, right before the Brief Insanity, perhaps we’ll even give it the week… I will keep posts and SS updated; should I check back in to ask after another 6 cycles? Not sure how quickly I should progress from here; the 1.5 and some step above that seemed obvious since that’s where he was supposed to be timeline-wise, but we’re in new territory now.

I guess he and his numbers will tell us. Seeing negative ketones several days running makes me feel better so far, at least…
 
Getting the ketones involves a little trick, I’ve learned. I have figured out that he will only prefer to pee when I’m not in the room… for whatever reason. So I clean the box, hang around a bit, and then leave for a few minutes. So far, there’s been a nice wet spot to test when I come back. Cat psychology heheh…

Thank you for your reply! :cat: Your help is so very appreciated! I do feel good about trying 1.75 units. Honestly since we missed this level last time, right before the Brief Insanity, perhaps we’ll even give it the week… I will keep posts and SS updated; should I check back in to ask after another 6 cycles? Not sure how quickly I should progress from here; the 1.5 and some step above that seemed obvious since that’s where he was supposed to be timeline-wise, but we’re in new territory now.

I guess he and his numbers will tell us. Seeing negative ketones several days running makes me feel better so far, at least…
Because he a a post DKA kitty, I would post each day if you can so we can see the progress and if you need to do anything different.
Yes testing daily for ketones is an early warning system/insurance policy. If any appear it means we have to tweak something.
 
I plan on posting daily! Due to work, I may update half a day of numbers at once, but that’s where the Libre comes in handy… as long as someone scans it with the reader every so often, I have data to input when I get home! I’m on evening shifts this next week, but I’ll get it done.
 
Back
Top