11/5 Hadley Curve Day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Member Since 2011
Curving Hadley at 0.5u today. I'm going to try to get all the tests in every 2 hours and will update this one post with all the #'s. I switched to using Harley's Freestyle Freedom Lite meter until Hadley's meter comes in the mail.

AMPS=229, fed 1 can FF, shot 0.5u
+2=208
+4=169
+6=215, fed 1 can FF
+7=243
+8=254
+10=213
PMPS=226, fed 1 can FF, shooting 0.5u in split doses for time change

Happy Caturday ~ ~O) ~O)
 
Marcy - he's already making it interesting...

Hi Vicky, yes he's on Lev and this is only his 7th day after the insulin change. Quick Cliff Notes version: I started at 0.5u last Saturday night and held the 0.5u for six cycles. On cycle 3 he got a great response down into low-mid blues which made Sheila and I wonder if the dose might be a little too high for such a fast response so soon after starting the new insulin. So I dropped back the dose to a skinny 0.5u for 2 cycles but the numbers started to climb so I raised it back up to 0.5u for 5 cycles and am now curving today on cycle 6. The last 2 cycles were quite flat in the low 200s so today's response is very interesting... There's a link to his SS in my signature if you'd like to see the visual.
 
So far looking like a good response and steady downward movement. The key here has been holding the dose, you are seeing the results of that from the steadiness in 200s to today's slow trend downward. If peak is earlier than +8 but not below 40, it still might be a bit too high, but don't change it yet.

Not enough is written about peak time with Lev, yes it varies between cats (ECID and all that) but Lev is not designed to "peak," so I think some credence should be given to when it peaks as well as how low it goes.

Those who hold a good dose see little change in BG values from cycle to cycle and that leveling effect is what gets the remission ball rolling.
 
Uggh, I had to double-check to make sure I was testing the right cat - this is more of a Harley curve than how Hadley has been running. Bummer...
 
Not too bad, really - he is getting movement and he is still settling on the dose. Some cats need 5-7 days to settle. Since you are moving his dose tonight with split doses, can you get a few spot checks in to see how that goes?

I'd leave him at .5u for a few more days, especially with the split dosing. It isn't much of time difference, but it still may effect his numbers a bit.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Not too bad, really - he is getting movement and he is still settling on the dose. Some cats need 5-7 days to settle. Since you are moving his dose tonight with split doses, can you get a few spot checks in to see how that goes?

Yes, I'll be monitoring both boys tonight. +4/+3 was 223. So he's holding steady. Off to bed and up again at +6/+7. I-)

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
I'd leave him at .5u for a few more days, especially with the split dosing. It isn't much of time difference, but it still may effect his numbers a bit.

I agree, tomorrow would not be a good day for a dose change due to any residual split dose wonkiness. I'm thinking I'll raise to 0.75u on Wednesday so I can curve again next weekend - with getting spot checks in as best I can in the meantime.

Thanks Sheila & Vicky for all your help and advice!
 
Laura and Harley said:
I agree, tomorrow would not be a good day for a dose change due to any residual split dose wonkiness. I'm thinking I'll raise to 0.75u on Wednesday so I can curve again next weekend - with getting spot checks in as best I can in the meantime.

Thanks Sheila & Vicky for all your help and advice!

That sounds like a good plan. And you're welcome :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top