11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104,+6.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) said:
?, Essi's new food came in today - Merrick, which is abit lower on the carbs vs the Purina DM, can I still switch it out with her numbers being so low? I hope that made some kinda mad sense lol

If she likes it, it might be something good to try if she is being picky. Do you know the carb count of the Merrick you got?
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

I just fed her, she walked away from the cowboy cookout, so I mixed up some Purina dm for her, she gobbled it up. Id rather her be on Merrick, so I will have to mix the two and try again.again.again..... ;-)
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

How come we are keeping Ess over 100 today? Not that Im doubting here, just curious; why not give her syrup when she gets down to 40's?
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) said:
How come we are keeping Ess over 100 today? Not that Im doubting here, just curious; why not give her syrup when she gets down to 40's?

That's a fair question. :smile:

Letting them get to the 40's is fine when you know your dose isn't too high. Most of us here have worked up to our dose in a methodical manner and have a lot of data, so we know that running our cats low is ok. However, Essi's response since you changed her food makes it look like her dose might still be too high. If the dose is too high, then it is a lot harder to get control over the low numbers. In that case it is better just to not let them get into low numbers. One of our leaders here used to call it "the ball rolling down the hill picking up speed." Once the numbers start to drop fast, then they can just keep gathering speed and get ahead of you. When you're on the proper dose, it's usually not hard to slow them down with a bit of gravy. You've been having to work very hard with food and syrup for 4 cycles now. Because you're having to fight against the insulin so hard, we're afraid her dose might be too high and we don't want you to lose control.

Don't be worried, it's nothing you did wrong and all of this is a GREAT sign. We're just wanting to be sure Essi is safe while things settle down. She'll be just fine and maybe this dose actually *is* ok, but we like to err on the side of caution when the diet change is making such a big difference to a cat.

Also, see the 230 this morning? And see how just yesterday when you missed a shot the number was a lot higher? The fact that she didn't very high this time *might* mean her pancreas is trying to work. :mrgreen: The next few cycles will tell us a lot.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

in addition to what libby said...

you don't have to keep her over 100 any more this cycle. the purpose of keeping her over 100 up til now was to slow the momentum down... and i'm glad we have. my guess is you would have been fighting much, much lower numbers long before now if you hadn't slowed the cycle down. it was too big a chance to take with a kitty who is freshly off dry food and isn't too thrilled about eating hc. it's looking more and more like the reduction to 1u bid is not enough of a reduction for essi...
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Hi Danette,
Libby's and Jill's explanations are awesome, as always. Very clear. Very concise. I'm sure that in following the advice of Jill and Libby you will do just fine with managing the cycle. Merrick makes two slightly higher-carb foods than Cowboy Cookout. Stu liked both of them and I used to use them to steer his numbers: Grammy's Pot Pie (8%), Turducken (9%). When I needed a little more oomph, I fed Merrick Thanksgiving Day Dinner (12%).

You're doing just fine, and so is Esmeralda. Hang in there!

Ella
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Thank you, made all the sense in the world. My husband's been full of questions, trying to answers his questions, and ask my own in return. He is usually not home, and have never seen anyone give a cat syrup. So I stopped and explained what, why and where ?s.And why are you testing her again, Danette have you seen Essi's ears.... UGH

whewwww, I feel better now I vented. LOL

retesting. This number I think will tell me alot Id think???????
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

+10/72

ok we are at our 10hr after the u, Im thinking NO pm u tonight? Then my next ?, what should we reduce it to? .25?
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

it really doesn't help us to have others question the amount of poking does it? i mean, aren't we frustrated and worried enough... -----just venting along with you--- you two have had quite the run! hang in there!
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

we have 2 hours to go. i know it seems silly, but a lot can happen in that amount of time.
my guess is you won't be shooting tonight, but let's see how things go over the next 2 hours.

the 72 is 30 minutes after the 96?
if so, i'd retest in 30 minutes...
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

you're a pro at this already. :smile:

Lather, rinse, repeat, just keep doing what you're doing. See you in 30...
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

we've seen cycles last as long as 16 - 17 hours. it's rare, but it has happened.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

just want to say "wow!"

nice job...especially with a siamese girl! they got minds of their own...

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

This will get better right? Eventually I will be able to leave the house for more than 2hrs one day right? LOL
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

it's often been noted the trip down the dosing scale is much harder than the trip up.
it's too soon to tell, but with any luck you won't have to be doing this for too much longer.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Danette...what a day you've had!!! You have done spectacular!!! You sound nice and calm ....I know those 15/30 mins seem like forever!!! You've had the best
helping you out....isn't it wonderful to have them there? I always think even the best vets couldn't do that. Just wanted to stop in and say hi and tell you you've done
super. Will be interesting to see what your little girl has in store for tonight!
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Wow, that Essi sure is keeping you busy! You are doing a wonderful job! And don't worry, some day you WILL be able to leave the house again :lol:
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

danette, just want to double check with you...
you're using U-100 syringes with half units marked on the barrel, right?
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

ohmygod_smile UGH this Lantus is being stuborn tonight 11.5/49, yep more syrup, need to find other methods, Im getting syrup every were ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Another unbelievable day for you. You've done great - very nice work today. And you have the best helping you. Awesome job!
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

see if she'll eat some food with that syrup... food has more "staying" power.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Here is a photo of 0.5u of insulin.

half-unit-Lantus.jpg


and a photo of 0.25u

25th-unit-syringe.jpg
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Jill,
Its BD Ultra Fine capacity 1/2, length 12.7mm, guage 30g

They are not 1/2marked, didnt know they made such a needle until today. I called the vet, CVS and Rite Aid, they do not carry them. Someone told me to try walmart, I am going there tomorrow. Wasnt sure if I could switch?
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

the nurse taught me how to measure 1/2, I use the plunger top as a guide as the mark, this .morning I gave her 1.0, when I mentioned it was weak, i cld see a lil (talking a fraction) of daylight between the top of the plunger and the line. I have every kitchen light on and I even (if its daylight out) walk it outside also.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Hi Danette,
These are the BD syringes I used. I ordered them from Hocks (see the green button at top of page.)

BDsyringes.jpg
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Hey Danette -

I used to use the Walmart Relion syringes with 1/2 unit markings (I think they all have 1/2 unit markings, but I would check them out before paying for them just to be sure). They were way cheaper than the BDs too and very convenient. Just make sure you're getting the 3/10 cc syringes.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

if you go to walmart, this is what you ask for:

Reli On Insulin Syringes
Capacity: 3/10cc (Doses up to 30 units)
Gauge: 31
Length: 8mm (5/16")

#81131-0311-78
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

if Walmart doesnt have them tomorrow, I will order them from Hocks. BUT the ones im using or ok for now right?
+12/95
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

i think the ones you're using now will make it very difficult to measure out a dose like 0.25 unit.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

I'll let Jill or others answer your question but I started out with the Relions and moved to the BDs. The plungers on the Relions were not uniform in the syringe. I really like the BDs better but if I were you, I'd definitely get the Relions tomorrow...you may not need to order the BDs at this rate :lol: :lol: Even tho I think they do all come in 1/2 unit markings at WM, be sure to ask....and they won't take them back.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) said:
Jill,

Are those 1/2 marked?

yep, those are the syringes I use most of the time, and they do have 1/2 unit markings. You won't believe how much easier it is to measure with these smaller syringes.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Well I have an eye apt tomorrow w/Walmart when the open, I will get them, and also have to restock up on gravy hc, and probley get some whip cream/creamier/ maybe some can cheese, something other than syrup. LOL

Damn this Lantus is soooo irrating tonight. Its going to be a long night.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

she wont eat, and im giving her syrup (forced), she is just not happy w/me tonight. I wldnt be happy w/me either if I were her.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

umm, well here's the thing..............
you don't have time to order syringes from hocks. lol!
if i were in your shoes, i would pick up some of the relion syringes from walmart tomorrow and not shoot until i had them in my hot little hands...
even if it meant skipping tonight's shot and tomorrow morning's shot.

i'm concerned about suggesting a dose of 0.5u for morning. i don't think you need a third day like this. neither does essi.
all in all, i think your best bet is to get U-100 syringes marked with half units and go from there.

if walmart does not have them, walgreens might. walgreens (or other drug stores) won't have the relion brand, but they may carry U-100 3/10cc syringes marked with half units.

several of us have been putting our heads together regarding a new dose. everyone agrees with a new dose of 0.25u bid.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) said:
she wont eat, and im giving her syrup (forced), she is just not happy w/me tonight. I wldnt be happy w/me either if I were her.
awww, poor baby. she's had it. luckily, she'll get over it.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

ok Jill, yah I am agreeing w/you, I will still continue to test her tonight, I cant go to bed w/her numbers dropping like they still are.
 
Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

i know you won't go to bed with her numbers dropping.
you are doing everything you possibly can for your baby...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top