11/5 Emmett PMPS 502 — just switched from Prozinc

KLD

Member Since 2024
Hello! I thought I should do an introductory post over here now. Emmett was diagnosed back in March and has been on Prozinc since then. I think he’s had a decently good response to it, but the duration is not great and his blood sugar seems to operate in extremes. I just made the switch to Lantus tonight (he got Prozinc in the AM). Fingers crossed Lantus will help with his steep curves!
 
Hi and welcome to LLB!! I switched from province to Lantus and am happier with the switch.

Did you get a chance to read the stickies on this board? Take a look at What is the Insulin Depot?
It's going to take 5-7 days for the Lantus depot to build.
Have you chosen TR as your dosing method?

Good luck on your first cycle on Lantus. Keep posting and asking any questions. We're here to help :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Hi and welcome to LLB!! I switched from province to Lantus and am happier with the switch.

Did you get a chance to read the stickies on this board? Take a look at What is the Insulin Depot?
It's going to take 5-7 days for the Lantus depot to build.
Have you chosen TR as your dosing method?

Good luck on your first cycle on Lantus. Keep posting and asking any questions. We're here to help :)
Thanks :)

yes, I’ve started doing a bit of reading. Still lots to learn… most of what I know about Lantus I know from human diabetics lol. And yes, over on the Prozinc board I think we decided TR would be good.

Really hoping Lantus helps… I’m tired of seeing the red and black preshot numbers lol.
 
There is a lottttt of info but don't think you have to learn it all at once. Lantus teaches us humans patience :rolleyes:.
Do you think you can insert a row on your SS and note that you started Lantus today? It's a easy visual cue for those of us helping you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Hi and welcome to LLB
Would you mind putting a line in the SS so we can see clearly where you have done the swap over to Lantus. Thanks.
 
Okay first question… is it typical for BG to stay fairly high while the Lantus depot builds? He’s very high tonight.
 
Some cats have a reaction on the first dose and others don't. Mine didn't. The depot does need time to build. Enjoy the early night when you can ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Some cats have a reaction on the first dose and others don't. Mine didn't. The depot does need time to build. Enjoy the early night when you can ;)
Thanks. I feel bad for him being so high because he can’t feel great, but at least I’m not worried about him dropping low tonight.

I’m also getting used to the different syringes so I’m paranoid I’m giving him the wrong dose lol.
 
Hello and welcome to the LLB forum. Hope you have good luck with the Lantus.

I don't see any mid cycle tests today, so it's also possible Emmett is bouncing. Unfortunately, Lantus doesn't help with bounces.

Just double checking you are now using the U-100 syringes?
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Hello and welcome to the LLB forum. Hope you have good luck with the Lantus.

I don't see any mid cycle tests today, so it's also possible Emmett is bouncing. Unfortunately, Lantus doesn't help with bounces.

Just double checking you are now using the U-100 syringes?
Yeah, today was an in office day so no mid cycle tests.

Yes, I’m using u-100 syringes. I don’t like the ones the vet gave me though because they don’t have half unit markings so I’m having trouble accurately measuring quarter unit doses. I’m going to have to get some different ones ASAP
 
I would test for ketones while the BGs are high. To do this you need a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy, collect a urine sample and follow the directions on the bottle . There should be no ketones.
 
Back
Top