11/5 Clare AMPS 359;PMPS 306 Dosing while we're away?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good Morning, Lantus Land Neighbors!

We're sending out lots of hugs and skritches to our neighbor kitties and beans who need them today. We're wishing for a healing "hump" day for everyone.

Yesterday's PJ Party Condo

Today's News:

AMPS 359
+2.25 394
+3.75 397

PMPS 306
+2 250
+3 285
+4 256

No surprises today -- Clare's bouncing from her low-green dive last night. One thing that seemed hopeful is that she came down with just the LC (4-5%) that we normally feed her, then after we bumped her up a bit with 8% and finally, some maple syrup, stayed in the greens and surfed for awhile before doing her usual bounce.

We are going on a long-weekend trip this weekend, and will be gone from Friday through Monday, back late Monday night. A new person will be staying at the house to feed Clare and Coral and give Clare her shots. She's a scientist-person (parasitologist) but new to FD and won't be doing any testing. We've arranged for our Vet Tech who knows Clare to come each day, mid-day, to check Clare's BG and make sure she's in a safe zone, at least at that time.

Our questions are: (1) What insulin dosage should we instruct our catsitter to give Clare? and (2) What would you expect/hope that a "safe zone" for the daytime nadir/mid-day test would be while we're away? I realize that the nighttime is an even greater concern but we don't have coverage for that, except that someone who's caring and competent will be sleeping in the house, and we've asked her to keep out food for Clare at all times.

Thanks for your help,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 11/5 Clare AMPS 359 Dosing while we're away?

A lot of people shoot a reduced dose when they're away. You could have your friend shoot 0.5 units to keep Clare safe. She'll get back on track quickly when you get back. You can mark the syringes ahead of time or leave a sample syringe with colored liquid in it for your friend.
 
Re: 11/5 Clare AMPS 359 Dosing while we're away?

I'm in a similar situation when I travel. Gabby doesn't let anyone test her except me. In fact, I'm lucky that she lets my cat sitter give her a shot without taking her arm off! I reduce Gabby's dose when I'm having someone else shoot.

Given that Clare's current dose needs to be reduced after that string of 40s last night, I would suggest reducing her dose to 0.25 while you're gone. A safe nadir would be anything in the higher greens.
 
Re: 11/5 Clare AMPS 359 Dosing while we're away?

Thanks, Carla and Sienne,

Do you usually begin the lower dose the day before you leave, to deplete the depot somewhat?

Georgette and Clare
 
Have fun on your trip. Sounds like you've got a good petsitter/tech tester setup.

Whether you reduce the dose a cycle or two before you go depends on what sort of numbers your kitty is getting. If she's getting lowish nadirs just before you go, I might reduce the dose the last cycle you are home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top