11/5 Big Kitty AMPS 195! very low for him, making decisions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

evakot

Member Since 2010
Good Morning All,

Big Kitty threw me a curve ball this am (I am thrilled but also confused) and gave me a 195 for a pre-shot! I read and re-read the stickies about dealing with low numbers and trying to decide what to give him. He was on 4 units now. I am feeding him and stalling. Will test again in a few minutes and would expect the number to be around 220 based on how he typically responds to food. A sticky advises newbies to give a reduced dose in such case. How much would be a redused dose?

Please advise,

Dumbfounded but happy Big Kitty's Momma
 
Re: 11/5 Big Kitty AMPS 195! very low for him, making decisi

Forgot to add that I will be around to test until about +4, then have to leave for a couple of hours..
 
Re: 11/5 Big Kitty AMPS 195! very low for him, making decisi

He rose to 265 after eating (not sure if the 195 was accurate, because he typically doesn't rise after eating by that much that fast). I ended up giving him the full 4 units. Feel skittish about it, but 265 is not that far from 300s- his usual pre-shots are in 300s. I hope I did the right thing. Will be watching him now...

Happy Friday to All,

Eva
 
Re: 11/5 Big Kitty AMPS 195! very low for him, making decisi

Can you show that 195 in yesterday's +11 box with a note at the side as to what time it was...was it +11.75? that way you will have a record of it. How late was your shot? Put the time in the notes section.

Whenever I get a number that surprises me, I recheck just to be sure. It is best to NOT feed when you get a low preshot. Then, retest in 15 minutes to see if the BG has risen without the food's influence. That way, we can see if it is a rising or dropping number, okay?

If you delayed the shot longer than 15 minutes, you will have to change your PM shot time to be 12 hours from the time you actually shot this morning.
Are you adjusting the time for the time change on Saturday night?

Good job...please get a +1 and post that number, okay? You will need to watch to see if he is dropping....
 
Re: 11/5 Big Kitty AMPS 195! very low for him, making decisi

I am no expert, but I think you did the right thing. It may be that you are getting closer to his correct dosing, so his numbers are getting better.
:smile:
 
Re: 11/5 Big Kitty AMPS 195! very low for him, making decisi

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Can you show that 195 in yesterday's +11 box with a note at the side as to what time it was...was it +11.75? that way you will have a record of it. How late was your shot? Put the time in the notes section.
OK, will do.

Whenever I get a number that surprises me, I recheck just to be sure. It is best to NOT feed when you get a low preshot. Then, retest in 15 minutes to see if the BG has risen without the food's influence. That way, we can see if it is a rising or dropping number, okay?

Oh, shut...so I did mess up. I really thought I was supposed to feed...Oh well, will know for next time. Thank you for letting me know.

If you delayed the shot longer than 15 minutes, you will have to change your PM shot time to be 12 hours from the time you actually shot this morning.
Are you adjusting the time for the time change on Saturday night?

Nope, actually ended up giving the shot at the time he was supposed to get it, because I was moving it up 15 minutes this morning to adjust for the time change. I tested at a little before 11.75 fed and waited 25 minutes. Tested again, got 265 so shot the full dose. Depending on how he does here in the next couple of hours I may need to cancel my committments for today. Luckily it wasn't extremely important so i could stay home if needed.

Thank you,
Eva
 
Re: 11/5 Big Kitty AMPS 195! very low for him, making decisi

You did the right thing by giving him his dose. I used to test, feed, and then shoot too before someone pointed out to me and asked "How do you know that you're shooting on the correct # after you feed?" Feeding raising the BG #'s. Now, I test, shoot and then feed.

Don't be afraid of shooting on the lower #'s that you've been seeing. We all were where you are now, and as time goes on, and you learn more, you'll feel more comfortable shooting the lower #'s.

In the meantime, since you'll be home most of the day, test him throughout the day, and don't forget to post his #'s on your SS so that everyone on here (including myself) can see how he's doing. There'll be someone around throughout the day to help you should anything happen, which I don't anticipate will, but just in case. :) You WILL need to make sure that you have MC and HC food available, plus Karo, or light corn syrup, and lots of test strips.

You're in good hands here. :)
 
Re: 11/5 Big Kitty AMPS 195! very low for him, making decisi

Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
In the meantime, since you'll be home most of the day, test him throughout the day, and don't forget to post his #'s on your SS so that everyone on here (including myself) can see how he's doing.

+1 was 312 so a much more typical for him number. He cleaned his bowls to a perfect shine this morning, so I am not surprised to see the food rise. :-D Will continue monitoring.

There'll be someone around throughout the day to help you should anything happen, which I don't anticipate will, but just in case. :) You WILL need to make sure that you have MC and HC food available, plus Karo, or light corn syrup, and lots of test strips.
[/quote]

Yes- I am ready! Have cans with % of carbs written on top with a sharpie, have Karo and have additional 50 strip box.

I am really hoping this wasn't just another blip in the data and he won't go right back to his favorite pinks. I've been waiting for so long for some consitent movement!

Keep your fingers crossed, please,

Eva

P.s. Hmmm, alright, something didn't work out here with the quoting...Being an adept poster is another thing I am working on... :lol:
 
Re: 11/5 Big Kitty AMPS 195! very low for him, making decisi

Eva....you had said in your first post:
evakot said:
... A sticky advises newbies to give a reduced dose in such case. How much would be a redused dose?....
And I am just wondering if you have red and printed the post that Sienne just linked for you in her post. The lower numbers are what we are aiming for and once they finally arrive, it is good to be prepared as far as what choice you will make. You may post a preshot number and ask for assistance in getting through it. We are here to help you and to discuss all the possibilities and choices that you have.
Shooting a lowered dose and also giving no shot at all are things that might be decided upon depending on the circumstances. But, the ideal is to shoot as close to your regular time as possible and give the full dose (if the numbers are okay for that)
The more data you have on your SS, the better able you are to make the right choice. Testing will give the data so that you will know your Big Kitty and know how he reacts to insulin and food. If you are going to be home, then that is an important factor in deciding.
You did great this morning! We are expecting even lower numbers soon, right? :mrgreen: Print that post out and come back with any questions you may have. We all freak out at the first lower preshots and in time, it will be easier for you. It is exciting! But you can always discuss each instance with people here...so do post ...you are not alone and we are happy to help! Great job! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/5 Big Kitty AMPS 195! very low for him, making decisi

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Eva....you had said in your first post:
evakot said:
... A sticky advises newbies to give a reduced dose in such case. How much would be a redused dose?....
And I am just wondering if you have red and printed the post that Sienne just linked for you in her post. The lower numbers are what we are aiming for and once they finally arrive, it is good to be prepared as far as what choice you will make.

Pat,
I was referring to this fragment from Jill's sticky about low pre-shot numbers:
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.

It said it is specifically addressed to newbies. I was thinking Big Kitty's number would be in the last category (after I feed him): above 200 but below his normal pre-shot. Hence, I asked about the reduced dose...Not correct?
 
Re: 11/5 Big Kitty AMPS 195! very low for him, making decisi

We are back in a much more familiar territory now, +2 was 342... :cry:

Sigh- I really hope this wasn't just a glitch. He looked so much more alive at 195 this morning- jumped into the bathtub to chase his own tail! :lol: This level of upbeatness didn't happen in many weeks...

Eva
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top