11/4 remi +10 86, +11 86 PMPS 83, +1 88, +2 85, +4 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone

You will have to forgive me as I have had a terrible sore throat last night and this morning and so am off my game. I've been testing remi as usual but haven't updated the spreadsheet. At +2 this morning he has thrown me a 45 for the first time. I have given him 2 pieces of dried chicken with honey on them. I will retest in twenty and then repeat with food and testing if necessary.

If he has gone back up over 50 can I give him his normal low calorie food 15 g as he usually has some about now. I know u don't want to fill him up.

He has no symptoms and was happily laying in bed with me

Many thank

Sarah
 
Re: 1/4 Remi AMPS 86, +2.5 45, +3 54,

So far he has been

AMPS 86 (fed 15g of low carb)
+2.5 45 ( fed 2x freeze dried treats with honey)
+3 54 (fed 2x freeze dried chicken treat both with honey)
+3.5 49 (fed 2 freeze dried chicken treats both with honey)
+4.20 38 (fed three honeyed treats, then a 5ml syringe of royal canin convalescence and then 20g of normal food) remi hungry
+5 52 (fed 5ml syringe royal canin)
+5.20 47 (fed 1 teaspoon of low carb food with three drops of honey)
+5.50 61 (no food given) retest in twenty
+6.5 77 (I let him sleep gave a little 15 ml of normal low carb food)
+7.5 57 (gave two low carb treats traspoon low carb food))
+9 70 (1 low carb treat)
+10 79 (no treat except kisses)
+11 86

PMPS 83 (fed 20g wet)
+1 88
+2 85 (fed 20g)



So following the handling low numbers protocol it says test every 20 until you get 2 numbers over 50. So if remi tests over 50 at the next test those are my two tests even though they are influenced by HC food? I thought I read elsewhere that you need to get two numbers higher than 50 not influenced by food?

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.

(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

So if the first bit is right I can swap to giving him his low carb food and just keep monitoring him? Did I need to have given him the second set of treats with honey as he was just back over 50
 
Re: 1/4 Remi AMPS 86, +2.5 45, +3 54, +3.5 49

So remi is bubbling along just over and just under 50. He hasn't shown any symptoms. I guess this means he gets a dose reduction tonight from 1.25 to 1 unit. I will continue to test unit if some one could clarify my questions above that would be fantastic. :-D
 
Re: 1/4 Remi AMPS 86, +2.5 45, +3 54, +3.30 49, +3.50 49

Hmm the 3.50 test is exactly the same. I seem to end up with most of the honey back on my hand as he isn't so good at eating treats. They sort of fall back out of his mouth. This time I smeared the left over honey on his lips/gums. Should I let the honey soak into the treat more first?

Remi's cycles are fairly flat. So maybe he won't drop much more or rise much more than 49?
Finally my last question I have realised I don't know how to write all the numbers in between the hours. For example is

+ 3 and a half written as +3.5 or +3.30 (and in 30 minutes. I have gotten abit confused with that. I wrote 3.5 for three and a half but then when I tested at three hours and fifty minutes I wasn't sure how that should be written as it looked the same! Aggh
 
Re: 1/4 Remi AMPS 86, +2.5 45, +3 54, +3.30 49, +3.50 49,+4.

Okay I need some help now. Despite the honey and low carb treats he is still falling and at + 4.20 is down to 38!

Will give more honey on treats etc but is there anything else I should do?
 
Re: 1/4 Remi AMPS 86, +2.5 45, +3 54, +3.30 49, +3.50 49,+4.

Following the hypo protocol I knew I needed to step it up a notch when he got to 38 . I didn't think I could get the amount of honey into him that was recommended so I made up some royal canin convalescence sachet that I still had (basically sugar) and syringed it into him. Have also given him his usual low carb wet food and he is telling me he is hungry. Will retest in 15 but if this doesn't work I am at a complete loss.

I am still wondering if it was a mistake to not give him his normal food along with the high carb honey at +2 and +4 . Maybe that would have been enough to hold him up. As it is i am deeply concerned whether all this new stuff will trigger a pancreatitis flair. That would just about be the end of me :sad:
 
Re: 1/4 Remi AMPS 86, +2.5 45, +3 54, +3.30 49, +3.50 49,+4.

Usually we give some MC food, then HC if he hasn't come up. The honey is usually mixed with the HC food to bring them up quickly, the HC food will last longer to keep him up. In order to feel safe you want two tests at are rising or flat with no food for an hour before the first of the tests and no food in between.

Sorry that there were no replies, but it's between 3:00 and6:00am in the states. More members should be along soon.
 
Re: 1/4 Remi AMPS 86, +2.5 45, +3 54, +3.30 49, +3.50 49,+4.

Thanks you. Because remi has triaditis and has suffered bad pancreatitis flairs are swapping food I decided to just go for his usual low carb treat with honey, and then if I needed more to go back to this royal canin convalescence sachet as until his diabetes diagnosis he was given 5 ml syringe every day with his tablets.

So When remi went to 38 I wonder if I should have given remi the 1 tablespoon of honey mixed with his low carb food? I am not sure he would have gone for that. I was thinking you had to some how just given it to him on a spoon or something :shock:

I don't think thrive do a medium carb food.

I wish I was on the same time zone as everyone else. I was okay until the 38 and then decided to put up the 911 flair.
 
Re: 1/4 Remi AMPS 86, +2.5 45, +3 54, +3.30 49, +3.50 49,+4.

For Tess we just mix it in her food, it only takes a couple of drops. With Tess it usually takes 20 minutes for it to hit the blood stream and then the honey keeps her up for 2hours before wearing off just as quickly. ECID though.

There don't seem to be too many PJ parties tonight. I only saw your post because I'm traveling in Japan and check in before going to bed.
 
Re: 1/4 Remi AMPS 86, +2.5 45, +3 54, +3.30 49, +3.50 49,+4.

Thanks again. Exactly how much honey are you putting in. I sort of smeared if on his treat but it just didn't seem to do that much. maybe I would have been better adding more to his normal wet food.
 
Re: 1/4 Remi AMPS 86, +2.5 45, +3 54, +3.30 49, +3.50 49,+4.

Hmm remi is back down to 2.6 at + 5.20 . I guess I will try adding honey to his normal food. .?
 
Re: 1/4 Remi AMPS 86, +2.5 45, +3 54, +3.30 49, +3.50 49,+4.

Gabby doesn't tolerate HC food since it usually contains gluten. I give her about 1/2 teaspoon of LC food with several drops of honey or corn syrup. The amount of syrup depends on how low her numbers are. There's a certain amount of "art" and experience with figuring out how much of HC to give.

Ideally, you want to give enough HC to get numbers in the 50s or above. There's usually some wobbling of the numbers so you want to get them up in a comfortable range so if they drop again, you have a margin for safety.

And yes, Remi gets a dose reduction!
 
Re: 1/4Remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+3.30 49,+3.50 49,+4.2 38,+5 52,+5.

Hi Aine

What an unexpected morning. I am so glad it is today and not tonight as the thought of doing all this I the small hours fills me with dread.

Remi is fine. Just licking his food bowl having tucked into a teaspoon of low carb and three drops on honey. I hope this works better than my earlier attempts.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Gabby doesn't tolerate HC food since it usually contains gluten. I give her about 1/2 teaspoon of LC food with several drops of honey or corn syrup. The amount of syrup depends on how low her numbers are. There's a certain amount of "art" and experience with figuring out how much of HC to give.

Ideally, you want to give enough HC to get numbers in the 50s or above. There's usually some wobbling of the numbers so you want to get them up in a comfortable range so if they drop again, you have a margin for safety.

And yes, Remi gets a dose reduction!
Hi. Many thanks for your reply.

I have followed yours and Ann's advice and given honey mixed with remi's normal food. I added three fat drops. He wasn't sure about it but decided it was better than nothing :-D I will retest again in 15 mins.

So tonight if I survive until then remi gets to go down by 0.25 of a unit doesn't he?
 
Re: 1/4Remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+3.30 49,+3.50 49,+4.2 38,+5 52,+5.

Fingers and paws crossed that all will go OK for the rest of the cycle.

:YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/4Remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+3.30 49,+3.50 49,+4.2 38,+5 52,+5.

Yes, Remi has certainly earned his reduction! Glad you have more eyes on your condo now, Ni Ni, this bean is still in serious jet lag mode.
 
Re: 1/4Remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+3.30 49,+3.50 49,+4.2 38,+5 52,+5.

Thanks ann. I know how much of a responsibility it is to answer someone's 911. Sleep well :-D

With have a rise :smile:

+5.55 it has gone to 61.

So now what do I do? Remi is now having a lay down on the sofa and doesn't look like he will be interested in food anymore. Can I leave it for twenty and just retest without anymore food?

Not sure how to best edit my title. Take out the earlier numbers or leave as is? Take off the 911? I edited the title stripping some of the figures.
 
Re: 11/4 remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+4.2 38,+5 52,+5.2 47, +5.50 61

Hi Guys-

I'm just here for a minute...great work this morning!!!

Yes, now that you have rising numbers, you can take the 911 down, and you can edit out some of your extra numbers in your post, too.

Now that the numbers are going up, you can back off on the testing and food just a little bit. You can probably push testing to 1 hour increments. I wouldn't feed HC (or LC with honey) .unless Remi falls below 50 again.

Ultimately, you want to see two rising numbers in a row that are NOT food influenced before you really back off monitoring. HC does a great job of raising those BGs, but it can wear off, which is why you have to keep an eye on things for a while even when you start seeing a rise.

Congrats on the reducie!!
 
Re: 11/4 remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+4.2 38,+5 52,+5.2 47, +5.50 61

Thanks Amy

Remi's latest test _at +6.30 is 77 :-D . Obviously the food is still doing its job so I won't give any more high carb food just a touch of his usual low carb. Then retest in an hour.

So I got the best result by mixing three drops of honey with 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of his usual low carb food. That is going to be my first course of action in the future. I am so glad I was at home this morning (am actually off sick today from work with a terrible sore throat ) but thanks to all of you I feel more confident t to deal with this in the future.
 
Re: 11/4 remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+5 52,+5.2 47, +5.50 61,+6.5 77

Interesting string of #s for Remi! Wow!!! He surely HAS kept you busy, hasn't he? I hope that he surfs nicely for you from this point on.

I'm sending you tons of healing vines, and positive thoughts, and am also wishing for you to make a full and speedy recovery. If you can, gargle with warm salt water (and spit it out, of course). That may help with the sore throat. Plus pain killers, tea w/ lemon and honey... etc.. I'm sure you're already taking care of yourself, though. (Sorry... It's the Mama in me coming out. :lol: )

Have a good day!
 
Re: 11/4 remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+5 52,+5.2 47, +5.50 61,+6.5 77

Thanks Angela

Remi has definitely kept me busy. Partly my own fault because I do think I gave him enough honey early on. The funny thing is he is has now become more energetic than he has been for quite a while. He even chased me up the stairs and he hasn't done that for quite a while :-D his legs slipped a little but he wanted to do it. I guess that might be a rush for the honey? It makes me wonder if I am giving him food that is too low in carbs?

As for me, I haven't managed any of that stuff this morning as I seem to be either testing or posting the results up but my plan for this afternoon is to rest up, watch a movie with remi and just get in a few more tests. I have been taking vitamin d3 as this seems to help and having strepsils lozenges but will step it up with the lemon and honey tea and the gargling. Thanks for reminding me about those two. Hope you and blackie have a good day.
 
Re: 11/4 remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+5 52,+5.2 47, +5.50 61,+6.5 77

Glad to see you're both OK. I hope you feel better soon, Sarah.
 
Re: 11/4 remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+5 52,+5.2 47, +5.50 61,+6.5 77

Thanks Aine

So at + 7.30 he has dropped a little to 57. I gave him some of his normal low carb treats and a teaspoon of low carb. Hope that's okay. He should have peaked now so just hoping he surfs the greens.
 
Re: 11/4 remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+5 52,+5.2 47, +5.50 61,+6.5 77

Aine-Yes just a bit!

I left it 1 1/2 hours and so at +9 his blood glucose is 70. So assuming it doesn't fall any further is it okay to give the new reduced dose of 1 unit?
 
Re: 11/4 remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+5 52,+5.2 47, +5.50 61,+6.5 77

My but you had a busy day. Remi wanted to make it very clear that a reduction is coming. Just a reminder that while he likely should surf you do want two tests an hour apart without food before you can safely stop testing. The food and honey can wear off and a slide could still occur but I doubt it will this late in the cycle. I hope he surfs so perhaps you can take a nap and help yourself get better! Kudos for you for doing so well when there was nobody around to help you. My first episode like that was in the middle of the night. Well done. :smile:
 
Re: 11/4 remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+5 52,+5.2 47, +5.50 61,+6.5 77,+

Thankyou for your reply.

The last test at +9 I just gave one low snack food so I will test at +10 and +11 and that way neither should be influenced by food and I can see where he is heading. Hopefully tonight will be quieter and I can rest up then.
 
Re: 11/4 remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+5 52,+5.2 47, +5.50 61,+9 70, +1

+10 is 79 so it looks like she is going up a little
 
Re: 11/4 remi+2.5 45,+3 54,+5 52,+5.2 47, +5.50 61,+9 70, +1

Oh my, Sarah! Remi really gave you a workout! Do you have something with pain relief you can rub on her ears? They must be pretty tender by now. I don't remember if Neosporin or Polysporin with pain relief are available in the UK.

It's a great sign that she's more energetic and doing things she hasn't done in a while - means she feels better! :-D :-D :-D

At the rate she's going, I think your preshot number is going to be fairly low. Don't be afraid to post for advice before shooting if you're not sure about it - there should be a lot more people available than there were when you were in crisis last night/this morning! Great job handling it, by the way!

Sending lots of healing vines for your throat.
 
Re: 11/4 remi +10 86, +11 86 PMPS 83, +1 88, +2 85

You did great last night. Chances are that after going so low Remi may be a bit bouncy today, not to worry. I hope he gives you a chance for some well deserved rest now. Sometimes bounces are a blessing in disguise! :roll: :lol:
 
Re: 11/4 remi +10 86, +11 86 PMPS 83, +1 88, +2 85

Thanks Tricia

Yes I had no idea that was coming. I had gone back to bed after giving his morning dose and was actually considering not getting up until +3 to test him. Thank goodness I didn't!

I have carried on listing his levels on the second post at he beginning of the thread but basically his

+11 86
PMPS 83 (fed 20g low carb)
+1 88
+2 85 (fed 15 g)

I gave 1 unit (measured on the metal ruler as 2.5mm). I hope that was okay, he was around the same pre shot level as he has been for the last few days. So far he hasn't dropped much on the new dose but I know to expect new dose wonkiness. My plan is just to test at +4 and if it hasn't moved much to go onto bed.

No I couldn't find any neosporin in the uk. I didn't think about them being tender :oops: He is so good he never pulls away or reacts like I hurt him but yes they are quite pink.
 
Re: 11/4 remi +10 86, +11 86 PMPS 83, +1 88, +2 85

Ann & Tess said:
You did great last night. Chances are that after going so low Remi may be a bit bouncy today, not to worry. I hope he gives you a chance for some well deserved rest now. Sometimes bounces are a blessing in disguise! :roll: :lol:

Yes is it bad that I am hoping for slightly higher numbers? Just for one cycle :oops:
 
Re: 11/4 remi +10 86, +11 86 PMPS 83, +1 88, +2 85

No, we all do sometimes. Beans need time to recover too!

NDW only shows up for increases, but it isn't unusual for a cat to go up after a cycle like you just had. You both need a break.
 
Cheers ann

Tonight is indeed a quieter night and I am going to take full advantage of it and have an early night.

I would just like to thank everyone who helped me today and in The past few weeks. Without the knowledge passed onto to me I doubt I would have kept remi safe and stayed as calm as I did.

I see that it is usual to thank everyone who visited the thread by name but in all honesty I am sometimes unsure if I am thanking a cat name by accident. Anyway I will give it ago. Thankyou to Ann, Sienne, Aine, Amy, Angela, TIff, Tricia, for dropping by today
Best wishes

Sarah
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top