11/4 Oberon PMPS 61, +0.5 73, +1 91, +1.5 90, +2 84, +2.5 89, +3 81, +3.5 82, +4.5 93, +5.5 113

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...301-7-327-10-368-pmps-358-2-382-4-364.238029/

You guys have been missing all the excitement while the board was down! Oberon finally dipped, and earned a reduction. I tested AMPS and was then gone for the day so my husband did +2 (280) and +4 (142). I got out of a meeting and saw those numbers and asked him to test again right away, and he got 48 at +5.75. He gave Oberon a full can of 15% carb FF right before I got home, and he scarfed it down. Numbers then went up a bit: 76, 93, 103. Then back down at +7.33 (79), so I just gave him some more 15%.

I don't have any specific questions right now and I think we're doing ok; I'll keep testing frequently and feeding as needed. But another set of eyes would be welcome in case I'm missing anything. And I may need dose advice this evening. He has certainly earned a reduction from 10 to 9.5 U at the very least.
 
Exciting for sure. That drop from R was a bit much - not that you could have guessed it was coming.

You can mention to DH that he should start with smaller amounts of HC, so as not to fill him up.
 
Exciting for sure. That drop from R was a bit much - not that you could have guessed it was coming.

You can mention to DH that he should start with smaller amounts of HC, so as not to fill him up.

Yep. And that if he sees a drop that steep he shouldn't wait 2 hours to do the next test.

I don't think this is specifically the R causing this much of a drop. It started at +2, which should be before R onset, right? And it's far lower than that dose of R has been taking him (usually at most 100 points). So I think it was an antibody-related dip combined with the R. And R at this point should be pretty much gone, and he's staying low.

What are your thoughts about tonight's L dose? I've got about 4 hours, so I can wait to see what happens. Should I be considering anything other than a reduction to 9.5?
 
OK, now I have questions. At what point would I switch from 15% to 20% carb, or add in some honey? And how often to test? Since he's dropping I'm thinking maybe I should test again in 15-20 min.
 
Morning info from title:
AMPS 359/1.0, +2 280, +4 142, +5.75 48, +6 76, +6.33 93, +6.75 103, +7.33 79, +7.75 68
 
Wow! :D:D:D The moment we've all been waiting for and the board was down. Go figure.
I'd stick with the 15% for now. He's surfing pretty good. Normally in the 60s you feed 1 tsp and then test in 30 minutes. If the number is rising, then withhold food and test again in 30 minutes.
 
Here is the general guideline for dealing with numbers between 50-70:
50-70 BG
Give 1-2 tsp LC, retest 20-30 minutes
If dropping, little more LC and repeat process
If holding, no more food but retest in 30 min
If rising, no more food and take a "poke break" (check 1 hr if 70 or over)
Early in the cycle, you might want to use MC or HC. (which you did).

ECID and all that. Oberon and you are new to this so you wanna err on the side of caution, obviously.
 
Here is the general guideline for dealing with numbers between 50-70:
50-70 BG
Give 1-2 tsp LC, retest 20-30 minutes
If dropping, little more LC and repeat process
If holding, no more food but retest in 30 min
If rising, no more food and take a "poke break" (check 1 hr if 70 or over)
Early in the cycle, you might want to use MC or HC. (which you did).

ECID and all that. Oberon and you are new to this so you wanna err on the side of caution, obviously.

Thanks!! 70 @8.75. So at this point I'll hold off on food and test again in 30. (Earlier I was erring on the side of Aaaaaaaaaa! A bit more relaxed now.)
 
It is hard at first when you don't know how they'll react! I know the Aaaaaaaaaa! feeling.
You want to get Oberon's BG to not drop (ie hold) over a two hour period without using any food. At nighttime, that's usually when it is safe to get some sleep.
 
Oh my goodness!!!!! I read the headline on the thread and had an AHHHHHHHH moment too! I hope this means he will see consistently lower, but not sharkie numbers soon! Congrats on the reducie!
 
58 at +9.5 after ~30 min w/o food. Gave another tsp of 15%; looks like he's not ready to come up on his own yet.
 
Given his flatness in the 50s, and as you get ever closer to PMPS, I'd have broken out the 20% food. Sorry I wasn't on in the last hour.
You need to go for two hours without giving Oberon food prior to giving him insulin, especially since you don't have enough data to shoot safely with food influenced numbers. So if you get a test at +10.5 in 30 minutes and he is still flat and you feed him, your PM shot time will start to slide. If you can let your timings slide, that's good. Try a higher % carb food if needed at +10.5 and see if you can get him to surf on that for the next two hours to PMPS time. :)

Of course you have options to shoot a reduced dose or skip. We don't really want that for Oberon I don't think. But I'm just musing. That decision requires opinions from people far more experienced than me:p.
 
My schedule's pretty open the next few days; if shot time has to slide I can work with it. Guess we'll see what he's doing at +10.5.
 
65 at +11, darn it. Feed, or wait and see?
if you feed, you have to wait 2 hours for shot time (I'm sure you know that).

Or get a +11.5 and go from there. If it were me, I'd go this route. That insulin should be wearing off but Jax did this dropping at PMPS time. It's how I shot my first 50 lol. I've also had to skip because he was in the 40s at shot time.
 
I'm not sure. You don't have a lot of wiggle room between that 65 and 50. You've been fighting him for quite a while. If I was you and Oberon was Butters, I'd feed her a bit of 20% and slide shot time by an hour. I wouldn't take my chances that he'd still be above 50 by shot time and I wouldn't want to shoot too much of a reduced dose (beyond the reduction he earned) or skip if I could help it.

You may want to think about the evening cycle and are you prepared to stay up with him. You may have to regardless. Although we do expect Oberon to head back up soon...right Oberon? That's what the "Oberon Manual" says. :p:D

Oberon is not Butters, and you are not me (says Captain Obvious), though. LOL. You have two different opinions. Let us know what you do.
 
I'm going to wait and check at 11.5. (Assuming I survive... he's over there banging on the recycling bag next to his food to get my attention.) How long can I stall before it's time to just skip the shot?
 
Once Oberon has gone for two hours without food before shot time, you want to make a decision to shoot or not shoot (or to shoot a reduced dose...which looks highly likely!) pretty quick. If he is below 50, then the decision is made for you. We don't shoot below 50. If his number is 50 or above but making you feel worried about shooting the full 9.5u, then you want to stall without feeding and ask for help.

Is this what you mean?

If you check at 11.5 and you find you have to feed him at that point, the clock resets on the two hours of withholding food prior to shooting. You can delay shooting as long as you want I would think, it just throws off your schedule. You can only back it up 30 minutes per day.
 
Last edited:
69 at +11.5. No food since +10 (tsp of 15%). I'm going to cross fingers that he stays up at PMPS, but post to ask for help since I've never shot this low. Based on his past pattern, he's likely to skyrocket back up sometime in the next few hours (longest stretch of blue/green so far was 13 hours, and we're at about 8 hours now). So I probably just need to get him through a few hours before that happens. And I really don't want to skip or reduce the dose, because this bounce is going to be epic. Worst case, I can stay up with him if I have to. Maybe lower dips will last longer; who knows?
 
Oh cool, he's flat at +11.5! Now you cross you fingers and paws and whatever else so he stays above 50 for the next 30 minutes :bighug::bighug::bighug: my family used to take bets at dinner for PMPS numbers :p
 
69 at +11.5. No food since +10 (tsp of 15%). I'm going to cross fingers that he stays up at PMPS, but post to ask for help since I've never shot this low. Based on his past pattern, he's likely to skyrocket back up sometime in the next few hours (longest stretch of blue/green so far was 13 hours, and we're at about 8 hours now). So I probably just need to get him through a few hours before that happens. And I really don't want to skip or reduce the dose, because this bounce is going to be epic. Worst case, I can stay up with him if I have to. Maybe lower dips will last longer; who knows?
There is also something Wendy has mentioned about "shooting through a bounce". That might be an option, too...but he's gotta be bouncing to do it.

ETA: Oh I see Wendy is here now. Perfect timing!
 
OK, if you fed higher carb at +10.5, you should wait until +12.5 to decide what to do, as that's how long it can take the carbs to wear off. At that point, you have a few options. (1) delay a bit longer without food to see if he rises some more (2) just do it (shoot) and hope you are right about the bounce (3) shoot a BCS and (4) skip. A delay acts a bit like a reduction, and this will be a delay on top of the 30 minutes you've already delayed. Shooting full dose depends on ability to monitor and having plenty of test strips and high carb food. BCS (like 50% dose) is a good way to help deplete the depot and something that is a good option for people with high dose (and higher depot) cats. I suggest a BCS of 50% the first time, the you can decide with time if that's a good number. 2/3 of a dose worked for Neko, though honestly, for the first couple years I could guarantee a bounce so I always just shot full dose. If you skip - you get a good nights sleep. The larger depot will help more than a small dose depot would. Use this option if you are tired or need a break. There is no option that is the right answer, unless it's right for you.

Which do you feel like? And think about where you'd want his numbers to be if you shot full dose. You've shot as low as 100/104 before.

Just saw Lyla's response - no shoot through the bounce for a higher depot cat if it's your first reduction and don't know what Oberon will do.
 
I'm thinking I should go for it, but not a full dose. This was the 5th cycle at 10 U, so the depot is already full and he's earned a reduction. I'm thinking getting the depot a little lower more quickly than just the dose reduction would not be a bad thing. 50% of his previous 10 U, or 50% of the new dose? (I suspect it doesn't really matter; 5 U vs. 4.75 U when he's been at 10 isn't a big difference.)
 
You are right, doing either BCS dose is fine. The one caveat with a BCS, the first part of the cycle could still play out like you shot the full dose, due to the depot. Of course, it wasn't quite full yet. A BCS is a perfectly fine solution with a high dose cat, until you gather more data. And even then the data may tell you it's what you need to do.
 
OK... gave 5 U and fed him his regular LC dinner. I'll keep checking him every 30 min until he starts to come back up. (Assuming he lets me... he's pretty much telling me he's had enough of all this poking today.)
 
The rest of the morning data (thread title was getting out of hand): +8 66, +8.33 67, +8.75 70, +9.5 58, +10 57, +10.5 75, +11 65, +11.5 69
 
You've earned this today - even if it was a reduced dose.
balls_of_steel_2_95081.jpg
 
91 at +1... food bump or the start of a bounce? We'll know soon. If he's already coming up I'll end up kicking myself for giving a BCS.
 
Not a bounce yet; apparently he just wants to surf in the 80-90 range instead of the 50-70 range. Think I'd be ok with just testing every hour at this point, or should I stick to every 30 min?
 
Back
Top