11/4 Josie AMPS 468

Status
Not open for further replies.

eccentricfuzzyme

Member Since 2011
After increasing Josies from 2.00 to somewhere between 2.25 and 2.50 last night, she is at 468. She has never been this high before, ever. What should I do?
 
Re: 11/4 Josie AMPS 468 (help please)

Hi guys .. I know it's awful seeing our kitties up this high but sometimes it just happens .. there is something called New Dose Wonkiness, not sure if this is playing in with Josie's numbers or not .. I know others with more experience will be here soon and can hopefully answer your questions for you .. Hang in there, I know it's hard!
 
Re: 11/4 Josie AMPS 468 (help please)

I tend to agree - new dose wonkiness...KT did this to me which left me really scratchin' my head.

Just keep shootin' thru it but watch for a dive....

Hugs to all of you,
 
Re: 11/4 Josie AMPS 468 (help please)

I tested again now, and she is at 475, but I had already given her her food, so it was a legit number.
 
Re: 11/4 Josie AMPS 468 (help please)

How is Josie feeling? Is she eating and behaving normally? It could be new dose wonkiness. It could also be a bounce from the yellows last night. Also, keep in mind that the dose increase you just gave will first go into filling Josie's shed to the new level. Therefore, there won't be much of that increase that will go into working on Josie's bg. Is there a reason why you raised the dose by .50? According to the protocol, if the nadirs are less than 300, you should only raise the dose by .25. (Josie's spreadsheet indicates that her nadirs are almost always lower than 300.)

. . . After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) . . . if nadirs are greater than 200 but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

I hope some of the more knowledgable people will be along to contribute their opinions.
Hang in there!! Don't panic!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/4 Josie AMPS 468 (help please)

i can barely see the lines to do .50 dosages, the syringes are too small and my eyes too bad. it takes me like 10 tries to load it right, so there is no way for me to do half even that. i try to get it a bit before the .50 but i have no clue.
someone needs to invent thinner needles with .25 markings for cats and other animal use.

she is acting fine, normal. she never acts different, whether she is at under 100 or over 400 she acts the same.
 
Re: 11/4 Josie AMPS 468 (help please)

Time for a magnifying glass - Even with my glasses on I could not have done it without mine.

I can't see ss from work - is it possible she visited the lowlands overnight?

Please remove the "911" from your header as Josie is in no danger.
 
you can get something like this to help you see better:http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com/product/ezy-dose-syringe-magnifier_1241_177.htm

you could ask for these at your pharmacy, but if you want to order through ADW (the link) sign up first at mrrebates.com and you'll get a rebate on any orders from ADW. it adds up.

you can also find counter-top or clip on (to a cupboard door?) craft magnifiers at any craft store.

i think it looks like a bounce. am i remembering right that you are pretty afraid of her going too low? because on 10/10 she had a great response to the 1.5unit, but you dropped the dose because you were afraid of the 184 preshot number. you went back up to 1.5 in the morning, and it looks like she was starting to respond to it again and you got a 176 on 10/13's pmps. if i were guessing, i'd guess she got lower the night of 10/13 and bounced up from it. then you raised the dose to 2.0 before the bounce had a chance to clear, which has kept her up. a cat can bounce from any number range that they aren't used to, and then if you increase the dose, it creates a sustained kind of bounce in higher numbers.

also, anytime you've got a shot off of the 12/12 schedule i think you could expect to have to wait things out until she resettles again. i'd suspect those couple of times when you had to adjust her shot time might have figured into this as well.

see what others with more experience than me say, but i think if i were you, i'd drop her back to the 1.5 and let her settle and see what that 1.5 really does. make sure you get an evening +3-6 test every single night. pick up some kind of magnifying glass so you can increase her only by .25 units, because it looks like she might be really touchy to the insulin and probably only needs slight adjustments.

just from my looking at her ss, i'd guess she is very responsive to the lantus changes. the .5 change is too much for her, she needs her shots 12/12, she's bouncing from going into the 100's, that kind of thing. can you see any of that if you look?

also, i know you've said you want to do the start slow plan, but if you want her to go OTJ you will have to summon up your courage and shoot numbers in the 100's. it is part of the plan. just make sure you are monitoring her - a before bed check would do a lot towards giving more information so we could guess better on what's going on here. and always when you shoot lower than you have before, get tests at +1, +2, +3 hours to see where she's going. you can learn to steer her with high carb foods and karo syrup and as long as you are testing and monitoring her, she won't be in danger.
 
I cant get an evening +3 or 6 every night, that is the middle of the night for me. Waking up in the middle of the night this week to get her numbers may be good for her but it has run me ragged and inpacted my health and well being and that effects my abilty to care for my human "patients"- my family.


I have no idea what her dose should be. It seems every dose she has been at is the wrong one, people say to put it up or down, but she never settles, they all go too low or too high or too up and down.
 
There is only one time I can do her shots, that i am available every day 12 hours apart, and that is 11 am and 11 pm. I do to bed after her injection. So if she is low at pmps, i cant just wait, i need sleep to function. my health has to come before hers, sorry.
 
i just dont understand. on a low dose her numbers werent going low enough consistently, so people advised putting the dose up, but that made her numbers go up?
shouldnt a higher dose make numbers smaller?
 
that's logical, yes, but if it's too high it holds their BG high. i don't know exactly how it works, but maybe someone else can explain it. just today Ella (Rusty's bean) said something about her vet having one of her cats on too high of a dose and his numbers staying hi. i'm not sure where she posted it, though - why don't you ask her on rusty's condo about it.

i don't know what to suggest for you - the shot time is important to be consistent. it is hard to get up during the night - i stayed up with punkin last night. the trouble is that there's a lot of information that you can get from the first 6 hours or so after the evening shot. when you can't tell what's going on, gathering more information is about the only way to figure it out. i set my cell phone alarm, sleep on the sofa in the living room, wake up, test, treat, reset the alarm and go back to sleep. i'm only awake for a few minutes to do the testing - i take stuff to sleep too. i'm not exactly brilliant when i'm doing the testing, but it really doesn't take much brains to poke. i hear ya but don't have other ideas.
 
here's your post from yesterday. it helps to link each day's so people can follow the story if they need to. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=55670&p=603379#p603379

mmmm - and looking now at your yesterday's post i see that sienne recommended you increase. so i may be wrong. perhaps you just need to hold the dose and wait for the newness of it to wear off. the shed takes a while to catch up with the new dose.

i'd defer to sienne's advice - she has more experience than me. i should've looked at your previous condos instead of trying to just look at josie's spreadsheet.
 
i do have a consitent shot time, i have only been late once, and it was by less than an hour, and i couldnt help it. i dont drive, so when i bus home, it can take 30 minutes or 90 minutes, depends on if i catch my transfers.
 
Angela:

Don't order the syringe magnifyer from ADW....I did and it doesn't work for the way we draw doses. You are much better off just getting at least a 3x LIT magnifying glass. I could not draw doses as closely as I do without it.
If Josie is really sensitive to a drop, then if you give her closer to 2.5u than 2.25u, she could be overdose and like everyone said, the NDW can make her numbers go higher.

You were doing a great job of getting some mid-cycle tests.....I know you are exhausted but it just has to be done.....you really have no idea what she is doing on a new dose if you can't spot check during the cycles.
 
While I said to increase, I did NOT say to increase by 0.5u. If you are not going to follow a tight regulation protocol, go slow means go slow and not increase doses by twice the recommended amount. It could easily throw Josie over dose and then you will be up all night monitoring.

What you are seeing is most likely a bit of new dose wonkiness and/or a bounce. You need to wait it out.
 
good morning! i realized this morning that i hadn't mentioned another tactic for being able to see the syringe better.

if you have reading glasses, you can wear 2 pair at once (yes, i know how stupid it looks) and you may find that helps you see the syringe lines better.

also, i bought a headlamp from REI online so i could see to give the shots. my vision isn't bad at all, but punkin's hair near the skin and his skin are the same color. the headlamp makes a HUGE difference in being able to see clearly what i'm doing.

just thought i'd throw those suggestions in the mix - we need all the help we can get to manage all of this with our cats!! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top