11/4 Jackson AMPS 370 +3 310 +5 245 +6 309 +9 283 +10 233 PMPS 320 +1 341 +3 296 +4 324

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...335-8-349-11-356-pmps-342-2-350-4-289.270385/

Forgot to set an alarm to pick up the food 2 hours before shot time. Although from just the past couple of days, it doesn’t look like he food-spikes all that much, or at least not that immediately. I know he showed more of one when I was (briefly) trying to meal feed only… thank God I gave in to his howling because I didn’t know yet that you have to keep feeding DKA kitties! He is much happier now.

To answer the question that I saw was in play last night @Bron and Sheba (GA) , Jack gets two wet cans a day (though he usually -not always - leaves about 1/3 to 1/4 of each can because he gets full and won’t touch it later, so then I let another kitty have the leftovers) and nibbles on the Young Again in between. I wouldn’t say he eats a huge amount of it a day, but I’m not measuring it at the moment. He loves the stuff.

And yes I was basically doing the SLSG method before on my own, but then things got all screwy when I started getting his dose high enough, the liver started panicking, and then so did I. :facepalm: I think we were almost to the tipping point too… so really not much has changed in his regimen at the moment, barring the couple days of lower doses he got in between. I think technically Jackson might be on a hybrid protocol…
 
Last edited:
Jack actually had a dip to 245 at +5! I know that may not seem like a lot, but it’s happiness for me because last week when we were on 1.5u for two days he kept climbing ever higher into the 400’s instead. Dare I hope his liver is less panicky this time?
 
Question: Jack appears to still be on a long slide down (with a couple bounces in the middle) today. If he’s still sliding at shot time, what should I do? Or what numbers do you think my thresholds should be? I know typically with TR you learn to shoot low. But Jack may be one of the exception cats I read about in the info pages - the first week he was on insulin and he dropped so rapidly, he was going really quiet at 55 and almost catatonic - limp in my arms, eyes half closed; because syrup wasn’t working fast enough I was every minute or so syringing tiny bits of glucose liquid into his mouth (to keep him from choking on it) - at 46. Given that history, I’m really scared to encourage him to go too low. Please advise!
 
Regarding the dry food. As you are feeding it, you will need to stay with the SLGS as TR does not allow any dry food.
However because he is post DKA, we can look at increasing earlier if necessary so best to put the SLGS back into the signature for the time being.
Have you managed to get another ketones test since the first one?
Can you get a +11 so we can see what he’s doing. He’s in quite safe numbers at the moment.

Do you have a hypo box set up in case you need it. We recommend everyone have one
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/
HYPO BOX
 
Sorry I was a little late getting home from a grocery run and had to get Jack sorted before replying. Thanks for your answer. I was mostly worried in case he kept going down… seeking advice ahead of time, I guess.

I was not able to get a +11 because I was out, but his PMPS was 320 so it was definitely time, and a go. Per his Libre graph it looks like he was probably around 275 (eyeballing it). Very bouncy graph today, ups and downs. His lowest point looks to be in between actual measurements, around +5.5 I think… looks somewhere around 225.

Given his prior response to going low too fast, I am actually much more comfortable with a modified SLGS. As you all say, every cat is different, and he’s always been different, so I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised he doesn’t want to fit into this box either.

I couldn’t get a ketone check this morning because I only have 45 minutes between wake-up and out the door on days when I start work at 7… and I was a little behind. (Next week I’ll be working evenings instead… fun hospital schedules). So what time of day I get it will have to vary. Tonight’s pee is still zero. Yay!

And yes I have a hypo “box” Or in my case a jumble of things on my desk which I currently can’t use because it’s covered in insulin syringes, several sizes of oral syringes, alcohol wipes, glucose bottle, cup of golden syrup, and assorted cat foods. I have been trying to be prepared - and I’ve used it! The only thing I don’t have on the list is bulb and lube… hadn’t thought of that. An actual box would be a good idea for at least the stuff I’m not using constantly. I kinda need my desk back.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top