11/4 Esmeralda's AMPS 395, +4 232, +6 64

Status
Not open for further replies.
awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
I can only imagine!!
I know I want to drink more sometimes too, but the catch is I don't want to drink too much incase Mowgli needs me!

But I know this, YOU HAVE EARNED YOUR TREAT once your through this!
 
(((((danette)))))
yep, it's scary until you get used to lower numbers. the first time alex dropped to 70 i was shaking.
the thing is, these are normal numbers. we want our kitties to be cruising these numbers... without the big drops! :-D
 
I know it's scary, but you are doing GREAT!! Keep it up and keep Jill posted as to what Esmeralda's eating and how much.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
See - you're doing fine... And once you realize you can steer her numbers with food and testing, you should feel more confident if her numbers start to go low again.

Hopefully you were at her nadir and the numbers will be rising from here. Look on the bright side - she's fine, grooming away as if nothing special is going on and she had the grace to wait till +6 to throw this at you. Imagine how long an evening you'd be looking at if this were +2!
 
Kryskat,

I had that last night, I havnt stay'd up past 10pm (Pacific Time) in ages. I didnt even shoot her last night cause her numbers dropped also. So I dropped her U this morning, and Im still getting low numbers, DOES that mean she is still getting to much?
 
yes, Im going to test her in 30min. Thank you so much guys, would you suggest dropping her U? (I dropped it from yesterday 2.0 to 1.5 this morning)?

And I took off the 911, thank you soooooo much guys, if you guys were here Id buy a round :smile:
 
Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) said:
So I dropped her U this morning, and Im still getting low numbers, DOES that mean she is still getting to much?
since you removed all dry from her diet yesterday, i would be inclined to drop the dose to 1u bid. she can always be fast tracked back up the dosing scale if needed.
 
Listen to Jill - she knows of what she speaks!

She could still be having shed action from her 2 unit dose, but better to play it safe and go with 1 unit and then inch up if need be...
 
Jill,
Thank you so much, I couldnt thank you guys enough, Laurie last night, and you guys today.... I do agree, I will drop her tonight to 1.0, and will re-test at the top of the hr. I wont keep you, Im sure there is oooodles of newbies like myself who needs your expertise, wisdom, and calming effects. May the rest of your day be a WONDERFULL ONE. Im forever in your debt guys.
 
Above post goes out to Jill & Alex, Kryskat, mybuddybinks, Mowgli and Keri, Marjorie & Gracie, Jen, and Laurie . And thank you Klkelly for the kind newbie words, I feel so silly sometimes, I feel like I will always be a newbie.
 
Danette... Glad to see that 911 off... Ouf.. now you can breathe... cat_pet_icon I remember when Frip hit below 50 the first time (not so long ago!!)... He was probably thinking I was crazy.. Poor baby never seen so much HC food in ½ hour!!!

Aren't we a strange gang, we give our kitties Lantus to drop the BG than feed HC to bring them back up!!!
 
kryskat said:
Listen to Jill - she knows of what she speaks!

She could still be having shed action from her 2 unit dose, but better to play it safe and go with 1 unit and then inch up if need be...
krys is right. we could very well (we probably are) seeing some leftover action here from the 2u shed. the thing is, we may see even better results from the dry having been removed from her diet over the next couple of days.

let's keep an eye on things over the next few cycles.
if she needs more insulin, you won't have to wait 6 cycles before taking the dose back up.

nice work, danette!!!
 
Well that's quite the afternoon you've had. I'm sure you're exhausted. You're doing fine though. You really are. It will get easier. I promise you it will. I love how our kitties look at us as if we're crazy when we get into a panic over a number, be it high or low. They don't give a hoot about a number - just about how they feel. They can't understand what all the fuss is about. Lord bless them. You've earned a treat tonight make sure you take the time to have one.
 
Just wanted to check in and say you did a great job today Danette.
I have been here 2 years and I still learn new things all the time so don't you feel silly....you are learning and there is a lot to learn. :mrgreen:
 
Ok guys, she was good at 70, and I left, to pick up my husband, car problems, I come back she is at 42. I tried Gravy & Chicken, wont eat, i gave her some maple syrup. What is driving her numbers soooo low?
 
I know what to do, but she wont eat, I have givien her Maple Syprup, via her mouth. She looks good thought, her eyes are clear, and she is really pissed at me for poken her ear AGAIN.
 
ooooh, pretty kitty!!!

What a day you have had today. Good luck with the reduction to 1u! It looks like removing dry food may be doing wonders for Esmeralda. :mrgreen:

Just saw your post - how many hours has it been since you shot? Probably the spike from the high carb food you fed early is wearing off. How about giving her a tsp of high carb gravy and testing in 15 minutes...

eta: ok, I see you gave syrup, good. Please test again soon.
 
Are you at +10.5 now? What + number are you at?
Do you have any other flavors of HC that you can try?
 
I will re test at 45 after the hr. OMG I feel horrible for leaving for an hr to get my husband. its at +10.5 hours since her last u? Yah 10.5. Im thinking of not giving her evening again.
 
I kind of agree with you about skipping the shot tonight, and I think you might be reducing the dose, too. But, I'll leave that up to those more experienced in giving dosing advise. Wow, what a day you've had!
 
we'll be here.

Don't worry, she's not in danger, she's just "surfing" lower than your comfort zone. We don't encourage them to spend a lot of time in the 40's, but they're cats, sometimes they do it anyway. We're here with you, and you are totally in control of these numbers.
 
let's wait and see about tonight's dose. Part of the decision will hinge on how long it takes for her to come back up.
 
Iam home and staying home, testing in 15min. I feel horrible leaving for 1 hr, when her numbers were gooood. But she looks real good, her eyes are clear, and she is pissed that Iam poken her ear AGAIN.
 
Good job there! I remember the panic, the shaking, the quick dose lowering when dry removed. And Tom feeling good and wondering what all the fuss was about but hey, Mommy is spoon feeding me food with gravy! Cool!
Good times. :-D
 
are you giving treats after her tests? A tiny bit of chicken can go a long way toward getting her to accept testing.
 
I just want you to know that I completely understand what you are going through...no sleep, tears, worries, raw emotions! I was there just a few short weeks ago! Look at Sue's SS on 10/13/10. I cut the dry food and didn't cut the dose (was on PZI then)(cut the dry food against ex-vet's orders). I almost died when he dropped to the greens. He was fine. I was not fine! After a while, you will not freak out. Remember to watch your cat and let his/her behavior guide you and test every 15-20 minutes and keep offering food! You did a great job! It will get easier!!!!!

GOOD LUCK!!!!

Jenny
 
sill not give Esmeralda her PM and test every 30min. until i can see her numbers climb w/o carbs/surgars. Its going to be a night. Will give her 1.0 my time (pacific) 7am.
 
will she eat anything? A little food should help keep her from dropping any more. Whatever she's interested in eating is ok, even if it's the gravy food.
 
That's 22 points in 15 minutes. From 71 at +10.75 to 49 at +11. Please give her some more gravy, or syrup.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top