11/4 Doodle AMPS 243 +5/268 Too much insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
I increased him up to 1.5u thinking it would get him to more blue and maybe back to green, but now I'm second guessing my decision.
 
Hi Jennifer!

I think you did the right thing by increasing...sometimes when we first increase the dose they get some New Dose Wonkiness

It's also very possible you just haven't hit the right dose for Doodle yet...It seems he was getting better numbers when he was on 2+ units, so you may need to work your way back up there before you start seeing more blues and greens

Only way to know for sure is to just keep following the protocol and increase every 6 cycles until you start to see some better numbers
 
I think it's kind of hard to tell because of the dose changes and skipped doses. Not criticizing - life happens, just saying that i understand why you're uncertain on how to proceed.

He did look pretty good at 1u, then you had the construction going on, and when your life settled down, on 10/29 you increased to 1.25u after several once a day shots. The night before that increase he got down to 178 on only 1 shot that day.

I would almost be tempted to drop him back to 1.0u and give him 4ish cycles to see if his numbers drop back into blues or if they go higher. I can see why you're wondering if he's overdosed. That solid yellow spreadsheet doesn't look typical of him. I think I'd try dropping back for the 4 cycles, and then if you don't see his numbers also lower, you can go ahead as Chris is suggesting and increase per the protocol.
 
It's been hectic to say the least and completely unplanned. Also trying to get into a new routine, not just with Doodle but the other cats are still a little confused and now I have to drive my fiance to the train in the morning and pick him up at night (not always the same times) so add that to the mix!

I will try dropping him down to 1u for 4 cycles and see what happens. At least things are "calm" now (for the most part) and I know he will eat and not hide.

I have been testing for ketones and he is negative, so that's a plus.

Thanks for understanding my situation. It's really taken all my energy just to remain sane.
 
I agree with Julie - I think going back to 1U and trying to get cycles in a row is the way to go. If you read the post on Counting Cycles, you see that you need 6 consecutive cycles in a row before increasing. If you do get blue after 4 cycles, I'd hold a couple more to see if you get green. When life gets in the way, you just have to restart the cycle count.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top