11/30MollyAMPG 122 +1.5 343 +5 269 Would you have shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

macal

Member Since 2012
Good morning everyone. ~O)
Fairly new to this. If you have time could you check Molly's spreadsheet and let me know if I should have shot? I was nervous about not being home to check her
BG if she went hypo today. I will be home for a +5 but that's all. It's really a catch 22.....so worried I'll overdo it and she'll go hypo, but if I underdo it then I'm hurting her organs with the high BG and risking DKA! ACK! nailbite_smile

Yesterday's data:
AMPS 284
0.5 U given (lantus)
+5 249
+10 189
PMPS 309
0.5 U given
+3 185
+6 65 (food given and I didn't sleep much checking on Molly)

Today's data
AMBG 122
no shot
+1.5 343

The full spreadsheet is attached as well. Haven't been doing this long so I'm still sorting out how Molly responds to this insulin. I had been thinking of going up to 0.75 but after last night, am not so sure.

Thank you in advance for any thoughts you have. It's nerve wracking shooting low numbers!
 
Re: 11/30Molly AMPG 122 + 1.5 343 Would you have shot?

I think you made the right decision... Heres the thing.. you are new to this and so is she. This is the first time you have seen such a low number. You werent going to be home all day to watch her and be sure she was ok. So skipping the shot was a safe decision.

On a day you will be home and you get a number like this , then you can do the recommended sticky behaviour for shooting low ie dont feed, stall, and test until the numbers start to rise (two successively higher readings in a row) and then shoot.

It might happen again soon so best to be prepared, read the sticky and pick up some HC food (canned with gravy not kibble) and syrup!
 
Re: 11/30Molly AMPG 122 + 1.5 343 Would you have shot?

Ok thanks, I do have a stock of gravy lovers now so we're set in that department. It's just a matter of being home to do the testing.
Her numbers swing so differently from day to day and I'm sure it's got to do with that depot thing and me skipping shots here and there. Looking forward to the holidays where I can be home and get this done properly!

Thanks again. Happy Friday!
 
Re: 11/30Molly AMPG 122 + 1.5 343 Would you have shot?

I suspect if you could have stalled for 30 min., you would have seen a substantial rise in numbers. Given Molly is new to FD, she's still bouncing off of low numbers. With some data (i.e., stalling) that would have told you that numbers were on the way up, you would have been safe to shoot.

The issue with stalling is that it has to work for your schedule. If you are able to shift your shot time to build in getting early tests so if you need to stall you'd be able to, that may help. Of course, your work schedule may not accommodate changing your shot time. The biggest part of managing your cat's FD is learning how Molly responds and what her patterns are.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top