11/30 Yoyo PMPS 373,+2 387,+4 230,+8 257 AMPS 323,+2 198,+3 145,+4 118,+5 143,+8 207

That means that if I was using a human meter that possibly Yoyo wouldn't have to increase the amount of insulin that he is receiving. By using Alphatrak2 and getting higher numbers vs members using human meters and getting lower numbers, Yoyo is getting more insulin than other members because his numbers are higher.
Thank you for sending your comparison. I started to do one with the Insulinx test strips. Sometimes Insulinx is higher and than sometimes it is lower. I can't find a consistancy yet but the numbers are between 20-4 points different. Financially I cannot afford the Alphatrak2 strips but I can't make a change until I fully grasp this whole thing. Maybe the Insulinx test strips will be my answer but then I am still using the HIGHER number BG meter and that means giving Yoyo more insulin than may be needed compared to other members. Yes, this really has me confused. I want to do what is right and I don't yet know what that is.
It's not a good idea to compare the amount of insulin Yoyo needs to what other cats need, regardless of what meter you are using. Yoyo will need what he needs no matter what. You will drive yourself crazy that way. Just focus on Yoyo. The most important difference in using the AT2 vs. human meters is the take action number (68 on the AT2).

With SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days, unless the cat earns a reduction. Then you evaluate the numbers and decide if a dose change needs to be made.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Since Yoyo has been between 90 and 149 this past week, you want to hold the dose and evaluate again in another 7 days, unless he earns a reduction.
 
It's not a good idea to compare the amount of insulin Yoyo needs to what other cats need, regardless of what meter you are using. Yoyo will need what he needs no matter what. You will drive yourself crazy that way. Just focus on Yoyo. The most important difference in using the AT2 vs. human meters is the take action number (68 on the AT2).

With SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days, unless the cat earns a reduction. Then you evaluate the numbers and decide if a dose change needs to be made.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Since Yoyo has been between 90 and 149 this past week, you want to hold the dose and evaluate again in another 7 days, unless he earns a reduction.
Good morning,Thank you for taking the time to write to me this morning. You wrote that...."Yoyo will need what he needs no matter what" .....That is where I am confused. Beacuse with the human meter he would have lower numbers and possibly he wouldn't need to increase his dosage after the next 7 days. Sorry, I am stuck on the different meters and their readings of BG. I appreciate everything that you told me.
 
Good morning,Thank you for taking the time to write to me this morning. You wrote that...."Yoyo will need what he needs no matter what" .....That is where I am confused. Beacuse with the human meter he would have lower numbers and possibly he wouldn't need to increase his dosage after the next 7 days. Sorry, I am stuck on the different meters and their readings of BG. I appreciate everything that you told me.
I don't think anyone has tried to do a comparison of numbers between the AT2 and human meters up and down the scale. However, we do know that 68 is the take action number for the AT2 and is like 50 on a human meter. It is not that much different and with meter variance allowed it seems to me to be similar to meter variance. I don't think it will make that much difference, except for keeping Yoyo from going too low. Maybe someone else can explain it better.

My advice is to pick one meter and stick with it. You can drive yourself crazy comparing meters and comparing Yoyo to other cats. Dosing advise you get will be for Yoyo and based on the numbers you get. I hope this helps.
 
I don't think anyone has tried to do a comparison of numbers between the AT2 and human meters up and down the scale. However, we do know that 68 is the take action number for the AT2 and is like 50 on a human meter. It is not that much different and with meter variance allowed it seems to me to be similar to meter variance. I don't think it will make that much difference, except for keeping Yoyo from going too low. Maybe someone else can explain it better.

My advice is to pick one meter and stick with it. You can drive yourself crazy comparing meters and comparing Yoyo to other cats. Dosing advise you get will be for Yoyo and based on the numbers you get. I hope this helps.
Yes, you are very kind and patient. I know the lower the BG numbers get the closer the human meter#'s and the pet meter #'s come together.
It's just hard to grasp when the BG numbers are high and the differences can be 100-150-200 points different.
Thank you again!
 
I suggested a +3 because that was a pretty big drop so early in the cycle. When he got that 115 @+5, his +2 was 359. He really could hit green today!
 
I am now:)..thanks!
I am now:)..thanks!
I am now:)..thanks!
I am now:)..thanks!
Nice big drop for Yoyo!
You're getting a +3, right?
When you compare your meters, have you noticed that the first reading is always lower than the 2nd reading with the different meters?
I use the SAME BLOOD SAMPLE, I have 2 Alphatrak2 Meters, and each time when comparing I first use the Alphatrak2 test strip and the number is lower than the InsulinX test strip used on the 2nd meter. So just now I first tested using the InsulinX test strip on 1 meter and then I used the Alphatrak2 test strip on the 2nd meter. This time the InsulinX was lower because that strip was tested first. Isn't that weird? The same blood sample and yet the first test strip to touch the blood is usually LOWER. I feel like a scientist...lol
 
When you compare your meters, have you noticed that the first reading is always lower than the 2nd reading with the different meters?
Yes, I have noticed that too. Whenever I take a second reading, I'm just checking to make sure it's in the same ballpark as the first one.
 
Yes, and I read somewhere that they drop faster when they are coming down from a bounce so you should keep an eye on him. No need to slow him down. You can just feed normally, but keep an eye. You're lucky that Yoyo likes to take things slow. That's how Bailey is, although every once in a while, when she hangs out with the wrong group of kitties, she pulls a fast one.
I hope Yoyo makes a nice safe green today :)
 
When you compare your meters, have you noticed that the first reading is always lower than the 2nd reading with the different meters?
I use the SAME BLOOD SAMPLE, I have 2 Alphatrak2 Meters, and each time when comparing I first use the Alphatrak2 test strip and the number is lower than the InsulinX test strip used on the 2nd meter. So just now I first tested using the InsulinX test strip on 1 meter and then I used the Alphatrak2 test strip on the 2nd meter. This time the InsulinX was lower because that strip was tested first. Isn't that weird? The same blood sample and yet the first test strip to touch the blood is usually LOWER. I feel like a scientist...lol
This can also happen if you test twice with the same meter from the same blood drop. That's why I said you can drive yourself crazy comparing things. I know from personal experience.
 
Yes, and I read somewhere that they drop faster when they are coming down from a bounce so you should keep an eye on him. No need to slow him down. You can just feed normally, but keep an eye. You're lucky that Yoyo likes to take things slow. That's how Bailey is, although every once in a while, when she hangs out with the wrong group of kitties, she pulls a fast one.
I hope Yoyo makes a nice safe green today :)
I'll watch him, thanks for the adivce. I'll go give him some food,1/6 can.
 
This can also happen if you test twice with the same meter from the same blood drop. That's why I said you can drive yourself crazy comparing things. I know from personal experience.
I'll watch him, thanks for the adivce. I'll go give him some food,1/6 can.
Too funny! I know what you mean, but somehow I still have to try my experiments with the meters. Thank goodness Yoyo is a good patient.
 
Carla, I'm a testaholic so I don't want to give Debra bad advice. When would you test today, based on Yoyo's numbers?
If it was me, I'd test every hour because i get too anxious.

Bailey is also a good patient also, btw.
 
I would get a +4 and see where Yoyo is and if he is still coming down get a +5, unless he's gone really low at +4. Then go from there. Yoyo seems to nadir mid-cycle.
 
Didn't see green, but still a nice long blue surf today. Can you get a +8 or +9 to see if he stays in blue for that long?
 
Didn't see green, but still a nice long blue surf today. Can you get a +8 or +9 to see if he stays in blue for that long?
I'll get a +8 at around 3:15. He is probably back into yellow. But he did try today:cat:
Is this all normal how he goes into the blues and then goes back up into the yellows?

Also, if he went into the greens or shall I say when he goes into the Greens, what numbers do I start to take action at and what action do I take before it could become an emergency. Feed LC, MC or HC? I'll be nervous, so if I'm prepared it should help me with what I'll be doing. Because to post at that time and try to take care of Yoyo is hard to do.

Thanks for being here today!
 
The best way to prepare is to print out and read the thread on hypogyclemia and what to do. I put notes in the margins and highlighted some parts on mine, and I keep it with my hypo kit. I was glad to have it because once Bailey's BG dropped during a power outage, which meant no internet access. There's a great summary in there that teels you steps to follow once your cat falls below different number ranges.

With that being said, you will want to post on here if you see him heading in that direction. It's impossible to give specific advice because it is a back and forth conversation. You test, report the number, then whoever is helping you tells you what to try next and when to test. Since you are on SLGS, I would post when Yoyo dips below 90, just saying you may need help. That is still a very safe number, but that way you are giving people time to respond. The take action number on AT meters is 67. If Yoyo goes to 67 or below, your number one goal is to bring him back up with low, medium, or high carb foods or possibly some honey with food. The suggestions are made based on the info in the ss so it's important to keep it updated.

Hope this helps. Read that sticky on hypos and low numbers. that info is invaluable :)
 
That means that if I was using a human meter that possibly Yoyo wouldn't have to increase the amount of insulin that he is receiving.
This is such a great question. I think it merits calling in the experts on that one.
Could you please help with this?
First off, we don't have a translation from AT to human meters. We do have from Dr. Rand that 68 on the AT should be used as the "take action" number. That's all we have. Many people have done comparisons between human and AT numbers, and there hasn't been consistency across all AT and human meters. So we are just using the AT numbers at face value when it comes to following the dosing methods. For SLGS we increase if nadirs are above 150 or hold the dose if they are between 90 and 149. SLGS already has more safety margin build in it than TR which is more aggressive, but still safe. Also remember that meters results can legally vary by 20% between even the same meter. Using different strips in a meter they weren't designed for adds yet another factor of variability. As Carla said, pick one meter and stick to it, or you will drive yourself crazy.

Second point, I was tagged today on a two day old thread. We try to stick to just one thread a day and not go back to old threads in order to aid those helping others. I had to wade through 20 posts of people talking about where they lived in Florida and then other assorted other two day old discussion topics before I got the context to the question. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...r-levemir-land-experience-updated-2-18.46014/
 
I had to wade through 20 posts of people talking about where they lived in Florida and then other assorted other two day old discussion topics before I got the context to the question.
Sorry about that. Will copy the question to the new post of the day next time.
 
The best way to prepare is to print out and read the thread on hypogyclemia and what to do. I put notes in the margins and highlighted some parts on mine, and I keep it with my hypo kit. I was glad to have it because once Bailey's BG dropped during a power outage, which meant no internet access. There's a great summary in there that teels you steps to follow once your cat falls below different number ranges.

With that being said, you will want to post on here if you see him heading in that direction. It's impossible to give specific advice because it is a back and forth conversation. You test, report the number, then whoever is helping you tells you what to try next and when to test. Since you are on SLGS, I would post when Yoyo dips below 90, just saying you may need help. That is still a very safe number, but that way you are giving people time to respond. The take action number on AT meters is 67. If Yoyo goes to 67 or below, your number one goal is to bring him back up with low, medium, or high carb foods or possibly some honey with food. The suggestions are made based on the info in the ss so it's important to keep it updated.

Hope this helps. Read that sticky on hypos and low numbers. that info is invaluable :)
Thank you!
 
That's not a bad +8. With meter variance, it could easily be considered a blue number so that would mean 6-7 hours of straight blue. NIce job Yoyo!
I hope his PMPS is not too high :)
 
That's not a bad +8. With meter variance, it could easily be considered a blue number so that would mean 6-7 hours of straight blue. NIce job Yoyo!
I hope his PMPS is not too high :)
Thank you for everything and for always getting me more information and always answering my questions. Remember, you are a special person!
 
Just paying it forward. I've received so much help from people here, I'm glad to be able to help someone else. You'll get the chance to do it too someday :)
 
Back
Top