11/30 Smokey post dental +7 50 +12 205 SS, tramadol given

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Member Since 2010
Smokey just had a dental done yesterday. No problem teeth found, just a trashy mouth cleaned up.

Smokey is usually on her way back up at +6 so I think we are OK, but we just started transdermal Tramadol, which she has no history with and her dental was yesterday. The pain meds today are the first she had since the vet's office yesterday. I picked her up at 3.

YESTERDAY:
Her BGs while at the vet's yesterday (skipped morning dose, they had her by that time and they didn't administer any meds during the procedure):
260 pre-anesthesia blood work
317 during procedure
267 after
Home
412 at home +19 from last shot
264 PMPS-2 or +22 from last shot
261 PMPS 3U
238 PMPS+2

TODAY:
218 AMPS 3U
129 +3
55 +6
50 +7
66 +7:20
132 +8:30
145 +9:30
167 +11
205 +12
She looked like she was going to settle into her mid-200s pattern again, but no so much. We are hoping we start seeing better numbers after the dental, but a 55 on 3U is an eye opening.

Any experience with Tramadol affecting the numbers? I have to leave in an hour for a bit so I am hoping we a flattening out. I don't want to gravy her or anything that will spike her back up unless the meds are likely to keep pushing her down.
 
Re: 11/30 Smokey +6 55 +7 50 1 day post dental could use ey

As her numbers are still dropping, I would get a reading no later than 7.5 and be ready to feed some HC to get her numbers up if they drop lower.
 
Re: 11/30 Smokey +6 55 +7 50 1 day post dental could use ey

There have been a couple of people who have experienced Tramadol dropping BG numbers. There's been some research on the topic, as well.
 

Attachments

Re: 11/30 Smokey +6 55 +7 50 1 day post dental could use ey

Had to leave for a little bit, caught a 56 asI wasrunning out the door and just got back home. I did put some karo in gravied food and fedher before I left because she wasn't turning and I didn't want her falling when I walked out the door. She ate like a horse. Hubby got home an tested at +8:30 and found 132 so she's responding well.

My vet doesn't work Wednesdays and the other vet and staff are very scared of low numbers. They just kept talking about the ER if she stayed in the 50s and don't want me to give any insulin tonite and only in the morning if she is above 200. I called to see if we should adjust her dose down while on the Tramadol. They were adamant that Tramadol would not affect BGs (thanks for the link Sienne, I figured we'd have a better test group here to have seen signs of it). I don't want to put her at risk, but I also don't want to lose any little progress we've made by skipping doses, then giving 3U and tossing her all over the board. The skipped dose yesterday morning landed her over 400. Husband would rather skipped the pain med and keep her insulin even. I'd rather not leave without pain meds so soon after a dental procedure, but if going to be unsafe for her then she will get by.
 
Re: 11/30 Smokey +6 55 +7 50 1 day post dental could use ey

How about asking the vet for a different pain med? Most of us have used buprenorphine (buprenex). It can be given either as a sub-q injection like insulin or orally into the cheek pocket.

You may need to reduce the insulin dose while Smokey is on Tramadol if you're seeing the numbers staying low. The other possibility is that this is an after effect of the anesthesia. More often, numbers are low immediately after the dental. It's possible that vet stress had Smokey's numbers up and there is some delay with regard to the effects of anesthesia which can lower BG levels. Every cat will process the anesthetics differently.

You might want to put "Tramadol" in your subject line. I know some people have seen lower numbers with it and some people find that their cat becomes agitated (but that can occur with various pain meds).
 
Re: 11/30 Smokey +6 55 +7 50 +9.5 145 post dental could use

I did ask for a different pain med. For some reason they are stuck on Tramodol.

They used to give bupe for all dentals - the two in late August got buprenex, the last two cats have gotten Tramadol. When they gave it to me yesterday I reminded them that she is not pillable and she said to try it and I could bring it back today if she wouldn't take it. Usually Smokey is trickable for 1 or 2 pills, but she went without pain meds over night because we couldn't get the pill down her and I called in and asked for something else and all they did was get it compounded into the transdermal. It is very odd. I had heard there was a shortage of Bupe, but their obsession with Tramadol is getting kind of weird. Not once have I gotten to talk to MY vet about it, its been techs and the other vet so tomorrow I will talk to my vet. She is also much more used to our treatment of diabetes and managing numbers under 200.

If Tramadol does signal the pancreas to release insulin, maybe that isn't a bad thing if the insulin doses are adjusted accordingly? Her ability to know when and how to produce insulin on her own appears to be broken, maybe something telling her body's own signalling mechanisms to wake up is a good thing?
 
Re: 11/30 Smokey +6 55 +7 50 +9.5 145 post dental could use

unfortunately, Binks only had Tramadol while OTJ...so I have no valuable input on the bg effect...
but man, oh, man...was he stoned on the stuff. he'd just sit and stare into space.

hope you get it worked out though...

wow! on the numbers...

celi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top