Melanie and Smokey
Member Since 2010
Smokey just had a dental done yesterday. No problem teeth found, just a trashy mouth cleaned up.
Smokey is usually on her way back up at +6 so I think we are OK, but we just started transdermal Tramadol, which she has no history with and her dental was yesterday. The pain meds today are the first she had since the vet's office yesterday. I picked her up at 3.
YESTERDAY:
Her BGs while at the vet's yesterday (skipped morning dose, they had her by that time and they didn't administer any meds during the procedure):
260 pre-anesthesia blood work
317 during procedure
267 after
Home
412 at home +19 from last shot
264 PMPS-2 or +22 from last shot
261 PMPS 3U
238 PMPS+2
TODAY:
218 AMPS 3U
129 +3
55 +6
50 +7
66 +7:20
132 +8:30
145 +9:30
167 +11
205 +12
She looked like she was going to settle into her mid-200s pattern again, but no so much. We are hoping we start seeing better numbers after the dental, but a 55 on 3U is an eye opening.
Any experience with Tramadol affecting the numbers? I have to leave in an hour for a bit so I am hoping we a flattening out. I don't want to gravy her or anything that will spike her back up unless the meds are likely to keep pushing her down.
Smokey is usually on her way back up at +6 so I think we are OK, but we just started transdermal Tramadol, which she has no history with and her dental was yesterday. The pain meds today are the first she had since the vet's office yesterday. I picked her up at 3.
YESTERDAY:
Her BGs while at the vet's yesterday (skipped morning dose, they had her by that time and they didn't administer any meds during the procedure):
260 pre-anesthesia blood work
317 during procedure
267 after
Home
412 at home +19 from last shot
264 PMPS-2 or +22 from last shot
261 PMPS 3U
238 PMPS+2
TODAY:
218 AMPS 3U
129 +3
55 +6
50 +7
66 +7:20
132 +8:30
145 +9:30
167 +11
205 +12
She looked like she was going to settle into her mid-200s pattern again, but no so much. We are hoping we start seeing better numbers after the dental, but a 55 on 3U is an eye opening.
Any experience with Tramadol affecting the numbers? I have to leave in an hour for a bit so I am hoping we a flattening out. I don't want to gravy her or anything that will spike her back up unless the meds are likely to keep pushing her down.