11/30 Smokey AMPS 109 +9 87 PMPS 156 Is it ok ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Member Since 2010
Somkey's numbers continue to improve slowly.

When is it ok to say - this dose is good enough even if it isn't perfect? Part of me says I should continue trying to get rid of the yellows and higher blues. But the rest of me says for the most part these are good numbers, no pinks for 10 days, the yellows are getting lower and lower, so are the blues. Though we don't see greens much anymore (I think they happen later in the cycle and I have been busy with work and not testing as much), I don't miss the 40s and 50s in the middle of the night either. My husband is also gunshy of shooting a number under 120 at this dose, so trying to bring down the numbers with an increased dose may put us back to more delayed shots. I was pretty impressed he shot a 109 this morning; then I walking into the kitchen and saw the counter piled full of Wiskas packets with gravy :razz: .

We aren't looking at a cat with years left to be in remission. With her heart disease and the lung mass, we live day to day and pray we have months. Right now she seems happy and feeling good. Last night seemed to be one of her best days for energy and alertness in a very long time.

My vet's opinion is that the numbers are fabulous in the grand scheme of things for Smokey. When we were flat yellows with a lot a pink peeking though, that idea annoyed me. I think I might be tending to agree with the asssessment now. Are we selling Smokey short and we just need to pull up our big kid pants and work on getting better numbers?



last condo Nov 24th. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=83784&p=900144&hilit=Smokey#p900144
 
Re: 11/30 Smokey AMPS 109 Is it ok to just be happy at this

Totally share your thoughts Melaine. I dont have an answer to your question but I am so happy for Smokey to have such loving beans. I am sure someone wise will come along to share their thoughts & advices.
Have a nice weekend.
 
Re: 11/30 Smokey AMPS 109 Is it ok to just be happy at this

I think you answered your own question. If your goal is remission, then tweek the dose up. If your goal is tight regulation, I would be aiming to keep Smokey in numbers that are under renal threshold -- essentially under 200. You may need to periodically adjust the dose either up or down but you don't have to be aggressive about dosing if your goal is tight regulation.
 
Re: 11/30 Smokey AMPS 109 Is it ok to just be happy at this

I totally understand where you are coming from. You know Smokey and you know your household. Everyone has to make their own decision based on these things. Big hugs!
 
Re: 11/30 Smokey AMPS 109 Is it ok to just be happy at this

I think Smokey's numbers are beautiful. :smile: You have to decide what your goal for numbers is and get her there (with Smokey's permission, of course!). For Jazzy, my goal was to have her all blue, with some green being ok. Pretty much where Smokey is right now... Jazzy was an acro, remission was not a priority, so I didn't see a need for tight regulation really. I just wanted to keep her under renal threshhold with not too much green. She seemed to feel best when she stayed under about 180, so that's where I aimed. If too much yellow started showing up, I would increase the dose a little, and if too much green started showing up, I would decrease the dose a little. It was comfortable and easy for both of us.

Later, Jazzy decided that she wanted to be tightly regulated and at a lower dose. You'll still want to test enough that you'll catch on if she starts to drop a lot. Often we see that happen once a cat has been flat in good numbers for a long time.
 
Re: 11/30 Smokey AMPS 109 Is it ok to just be happy at this

"Is it ok just to be happy at this dose?" Yes of course, you can do whatever you want here ! You know your cat best and you know what works for you and your family. At the end of the day all we can give is advice, but you hold the syringe!

Personally I would be really happy if either of my boys sat at those numbers. My vet is happy if they stay under 200 for the most part, and urine sugar is trace to none.
 
I didn't expect to be away from the computer for so long today.

I appreciate everyone's opinions and input. I am a perfectionist sometimes so if I see room for improvement that is all I will see. It helps to hear others thoughts on things, it helps me think things through.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top