11/30 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 151, PMPS 163

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=319671#p319671

Good Morning, Everyone,

We all had a good night last night. Rusty is really something. He gets right between us in the bed, up by our heads, and purrs and purrs and does head butts and reaches out his paws to touch us. Then he fell asleep and was making "dreaming" sounds, starting very high in pitch and gradually getting lower and lower. Fascinating! I wonder if he was singing in his sleep. (Alice used to sing when she was awake and in sort of a trance, but her pitches were recognizable as specific pieces--exact in pitch but no rhythms. Once she sang the entire overture to Mozart's "The Marriage of Figaro"!) (Stu was not musical!! but of course he could cook!)
Anyway, back to Rusty. He ate all of the food left out for him last night (we left some in the kitchen and some in the upstairs bathroom and he ate it all). I think he's over the disruption of the trip. His AMPS is a lower number. But I still couldn't easily get blood from his ear (he was patient, however). And I may have given a fur shot this morning (really hard to tell). 4 of the 5 Ps are in place, but now that he is eating I expect that the 5th will emerge soon. He does a good job grooming and also loves to be brushed. This morning we played vigorously with "red ears"--a mouse on a string that I attached to his scratching post. Rusty was on his perch on top of the post and was really enthusiastic about that play session.
More later. I plan to get another nadir test today. Everyone have a great day.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176

How we all just knew Rusty was going to be Happy with you!! He is just settling right in :mrgreen:
Such a sweetheart! Most other cats would be traumatized still, but not him!! He knows he landed with the right new Family!! :lol: :lol:
Copper sometimes bursts into song, usually in the middle of the night :o , or when we have sleep over company cat(2)_steam
He will SHOW them!!
Enjoy every minute of dear Rusty--We are all so happy for you--Big Hugs from us!!

Rusty, hope you liked your party, and my songs for you written by binks! You is a very beautiful boy & you got such great beans--When you are ready, we will take you traveling with the gang--Surfing, riding in Mannie's roadster, and other fun--We are waiting for word from you--Big Hugs from your friends Moonie & civvie!
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176

All things happen for a reason, and there are things that are just meant to be.

I think that Rusty is exactly where he was meant to be, and that he arrived at a perfect time for you.

Your post today sounded joyous. Rusty seems to fit with you guys like a glove.
I couldn't be happier for you guys and Rusty.
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176

Awwww...that is so CUTE! I had to laugh out loud though....he breaks out into high pitched dreaming noises!
What a riot! that is so cute that he sleeps between you and reaches out to touch you...so soo sooooo cute!
Good AMPS this morning...glad he is enjoying the play time too!
Great report for Rusty! So great to see you like this again Ella...sending hugs to you all! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176

Hey Ella!! The Tram is open again!!! WHOO HOOO!! Maybe we could see Lord Russell next time!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176

What a great post - so happy! I think Rusty knows how lucky he is - those touches - thank you touches. How great is that? He definitely has found his forever home. :-D I love the singing at night - go Rusty!

Better amps this morning too! Good luck navigating all that fur. :?

Hey Rusty! How's it going? You lets us know when you are ready to come and hangout with the gang, go traveling, and stuff. We have such funs, and really want you to come with us. Did you get all the leftovers from your party that I left for you in the frig? Chow down my friend! See you!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176

What a super WCR just makes you so happy to read about him being so happy in his new home :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: nice amps for him today as well
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176

Gizmo likes to sing, as well. Gabby will sometimes "talk" but Gizmo sings and yodels!

Are you using the longer needles? Several of the people here who have long-haired cats use the longer needles and that may help so you feel better able to know if you got the insulin in.
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176

i sings...dem ugly turdie gurls growls an hisses...
Miz Ella...you ever see da show "let's make a deal" ? i tinks rusty such a good traveler, mebbe we trades??
binks
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 151

Ella...
Here is what Monique relayed to me from something she read from Steve & Jock on Levemir's action:

But note: Levemir's action is sensitive to two things:
1)Dosage. If you're giving a bit less than optimal, peak time will be shortened. Too much, and peak time will be later.
2)Previous dose. Levemir leaves a "storage shed" of previous doses which keep blood sugar lower, so if previous doses were inadequate, current dose will be less effective.

The tendency for the nadir to be later and the largest drop occurring between +7 and the nadir at approx +10 (even more so than with lantus) and following the nadir a slow rise and frequently I have noticed a "dip" again at Preshot. So the +10 is nadir then a slight rise and a little drop to just above of almost the same as nadir (double nadir?) then a rise continuing about +3 to +4 into the next cycle.
This is of course when the dose is just right. When it's too low, then the nadir comes sooner and is not as low and the rise begins earlier and is higher, leading to a much higher following preshot.

When the dose is too high the peak will come later often after +12 (which would be +1 to +3 in the next cycle)
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 151

Woo hoo! Blues already! Playing, singing, and his handsome mug in your profile, too. Extra bonus that he likes to be brushed, so important with longer furs like his. Must be a great match, very happy for you all.
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 151

Nice numbers already, Ella! Rusty sounds so sweet, and settling in so quickly! I'm sure you will get used to shooting through the fur, I found that I have less fur shots with a short needle, but it's a personal preference, I think.
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 151

Ella,

Such a nice WCR. I have a civie that talks in her sleep, isn't that the cutest thing. I use short needles on Sara who has thick long fur, and I don't have a problem. I guess you just get used to feeling. :smile:

I see that Rusty has figured out pretty early on that this is going to be one heck of a life.

So happy for you guys.

jan and sara
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 151

Hi Ella! What a great report about Rusty, love the singing!

About shooting a long hair kitty... it was a bit of a problem for me in the beginning too. What I did is this:
I gently grab a handful of fur close to the skin and lift that instead of pulling skin to make a tent. By lifting the fur - it pulls the hairs straight up and you can see where it grows from the skin. Then you know where fur ends and skin begins. It makes a 'part' in the fur essentially.

I hope that made sense. It really helped me. Just make sure to grab enough fur so it doesn't hurt. You know what I mean? It's like pulling a handful of your own hair is no big deal, but pull just a few hairs and ouchy!

Rusty is so handsome in his avatar photo! :-D
 
Re: 11/30 Rusty AMPS 176, +5.5 151

How incredibly sweet! Sounds like he's already adopted you two.
 
What great numbers Rusty had today, Ella! And I loved the story of him in bed with you guys. How sweet! It's like he was meant to be there the way he's adjusted so quickly. :-D And no fur shot today. I don't know if this will help, but I usually grab Blackies fur and pull it out so I can almost see skin before I shoot. I hope the testing continues to get better too. Its good that Rusty is patient.
 
Hi again, Everyone,

I think I'll have to do a "group" answer this evening. Somehow the day got away from me!

Pat: Rusty started on Levemir when he moved to Phoebe's in April 2010. Tiggy was on Lev. and she wanted them both on the same insulin. He had been on Lantus when he lived with Claudia. Apparently he was diagnosed with diabetes when he was picked up on the streets of Plymouth, MA in October 2008. I inquired about switching him back to Lantus (because that is what I'm familiar with), but decided against it, since he is used to Levemir and appears to be doing well on it. Claudia also suggested that I stick with Levemir.

CD; Ele: Thanks for the tip about lifting the hair. I'll try it tomorrow. This evening's shot was successful!!!

Sienne; Laurie: I'm going to stick with the shorter needles. Phoebe and Charlie used the exact same syringes on Rusty that I used for Stu (and I have 2 boxes of them still).

Binks: Come visit whenever you like, but no trades!!

Roni: Great news about the Roosevelt Island Tram! Yes, now you'll come to see him (in person!).

Everyone: Thanks so much for your well wishes about Rusty adjusting to his new home. I'll be visiting more condos soon.

Good evening to you all,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hey Rusty! Dude! How's things with your new beans? They are really cool. Maybe soon you want to come with us? We could just hang out at my place... Has Ella bean told you about stu? he was one cool dude - i'd come and visit and we'd sit on the porch and chill and eat these really good shrimp snacks. well - i hope you are ready to come with us soon. the gang can't wait. ~~ Mannie
 
It sounds like Rusty is certainly settling in well . Singing and cuddling - what could be better? You all sound so happy. It's so great to see. Great numbers too.
 
He sounds like he's already quite comfy in his new home. I love the picture I have of him in my head, sleeping on his back, paws outstretched toward you and your DH, and him 'singing' as he sleeps/snores.

Adorable.

and what pretty numbers already! what a lucky lucky cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top