11/28 Olive AMPS 114 Starting the day off not wanting food | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
It's been a horrendous time of things here. Cindy has been puking for 2 days and unable to hold down any of her liver meds. She's finally back to being herself and has finally gotten her thyroid meds in her and actually held it down.
But Olive...Olive hasn't eaten on her own at all. I've just been beside myself here. Constant syringe feeding. Olive has been so ticked off that she's like GRUMPY CAT all the time with her mad face on and tail thumping. She stays hiding and runs from me the moment I prepare her food. I talked to the vet this morning and got the results of the culture and it came back NEGATIVE. No infection. So I told her how upset I was that the FPLI test for pancreatitis wasn't run as I asked for and I told her to talk to such and such because I specifically asked for THAT test!! I told her I wasn't going to pay for another exam fee or test fee and I wanted that test run NOW. She checked into it and the girl admitted I did indeed ask for the Pancreatitis test so why it wasn't run the vet apologized. They had me bring Olive in today and they ran it. All I had to pay for was the test, nothing else tacked on. Now here's the shocker...it was NEGATIVE. So why isn't Olive eating?!?! She even showed me the test itself and the key so I could see with my own eyes that it wasn't 2 solid dots indicating pancreatitis and the "normal" test results. The vet doesn't have an explanation other than to change foods until we find something that she will eat. For whatever reason, she's decided she doesn't like anything we offer.
She did suggest continuing to give her fluids every other day for a while and Potassium Chloride was added to the fluids. She said it would benefit her at this stage since she's not wanting to eat on her own.
Now here's the other piece of news which is good, but at the same time it's not going to happen if we can't get Olive to eat on her own. She had me bring in a syringe that I pre-filled with insulin so that she could see for herself what .12 looked like as she couldn't believe she was only on an 8th of a unit. She wanted to see the calipers as well as my physical log book where I record all her BG numbers and stats. She looked over everything and just couldn't believe I was indeed giving an 8th of a unit and how I measure that every time. Then she looked over the notebook and actually made copies. Before she even looked at Olive's notebook she said the lab work suggested that Olive was going too low while on insulin for HER. ECID, she said, but for Olive, she needed numbers higher. Then she looked at the book and confirmed that she wanted to see Olive higher. I told her again just to confirm that I was using a human meter and she said she knew, but the fact there was zero sugar in her urine along with everything else she was seeing, she said she was more worried about her slipping into a diabetic coma and that she'd be healthier at a higher number. Again, ECID. She said she wanted to see Olive stay around the 120'ish range and nothing below 70 for sure. She would still be happy if she stayed at 200. She said Olive is probably one of those cats that stay at a higher number naturally and that at that level isn't going to harm her. She said her BG is up right now because she's not eating on her own and being force fed and this is stressing her out. I'm stressed out because I'm having to force feed and Olive is picking up on my stress too making it worse. For the time being, until we can find something she'll eat and want to eat, she said to continue with the .12 IU but that once Olive is eating on her own again she wants to pull Olive off the juice for a week and see what happens. She totally believes Olive will go OTJ at some point. So that's the good news. And what I found totally amazing is that she's the one who doesn't believe in the raw food approach, but now that she's seen the labs and my notebook and stuff with her own eyes, she told me today to KEEP HER ON RAW because it's been exactly what Olive's body has needed. So that was very nice to hear. Her thoughts are that Olive will actually FEEL BETTER if her insulin doesn't drop below 70. She's been treating diabetic cats for 35 years. I guess some cats do better lower and others higher. She also said to only test a few times in a 8-12 hour period now and she'll do better too not being pricked.
So how do I get her to eat? I've tried enticing with baby food, liver flakes, Purina RX probiotic packets, warming her food, Different proteins, I've watered down FF which she used to love and sprinkle on top. She actually did lick up a quarter size of the liquid on her own so that gave me a little hope. I've put her back on Primal turkey to see if that helps. So far nothing is really doing it. I've tried a lot of the suggestion you guys have given me so I'm up for anything else you can think of. If Olive is FINE, then why won't she eat on her own anymore? You'd think she'd get so hungry she'd eat. Maybe I should hold off on food the entire day until shot time and see if that sparks her to eat on her own.
I'm really at a loss, gang. It's stressing me out so much and no doubt stressing Olive out to the max. She's so upset with me she stays behind furniture or under the covers just to avoid me. She has stopped being the happy kitty she used to be.
It's been a horrendous time of things here. Cindy has been puking for 2 days and unable to hold down any of her liver meds. She's finally back to being herself and has finally gotten her thyroid meds in her and actually held it down.
But Olive...Olive hasn't eaten on her own at all. I've just been beside myself here. Constant syringe feeding. Olive has been so ticked off that she's like GRUMPY CAT all the time with her mad face on and tail thumping. She stays hiding and runs from me the moment I prepare her food. I talked to the vet this morning and got the results of the culture and it came back NEGATIVE. No infection. So I told her how upset I was that the FPLI test for pancreatitis wasn't run as I asked for and I told her to talk to such and such because I specifically asked for THAT test!! I told her I wasn't going to pay for another exam fee or test fee and I wanted that test run NOW. She checked into it and the girl admitted I did indeed ask for the Pancreatitis test so why it wasn't run the vet apologized. They had me bring Olive in today and they ran it. All I had to pay for was the test, nothing else tacked on. Now here's the shocker...it was NEGATIVE. So why isn't Olive eating?!?! She even showed me the test itself and the key so I could see with my own eyes that it wasn't 2 solid dots indicating pancreatitis and the "normal" test results. The vet doesn't have an explanation other than to change foods until we find something that she will eat. For whatever reason, she's decided she doesn't like anything we offer.
She did suggest continuing to give her fluids every other day for a while and Potassium Chloride was added to the fluids. She said it would benefit her at this stage since she's not wanting to eat on her own.
Now here's the other piece of news which is good, but at the same time it's not going to happen if we can't get Olive to eat on her own. She had me bring in a syringe that I pre-filled with insulin so that she could see for herself what .12 looked like as she couldn't believe she was only on an 8th of a unit. She wanted to see the calipers as well as my physical log book where I record all her BG numbers and stats. She looked over everything and just couldn't believe I was indeed giving an 8th of a unit and how I measure that every time. Then she looked over the notebook and actually made copies. Before she even looked at Olive's notebook she said the lab work suggested that Olive was going too low while on insulin for HER. ECID, she said, but for Olive, she needed numbers higher. Then she looked at the book and confirmed that she wanted to see Olive higher. I told her again just to confirm that I was using a human meter and she said she knew, but the fact there was zero sugar in her urine along with everything else she was seeing, she said she was more worried about her slipping into a diabetic coma and that she'd be healthier at a higher number. Again, ECID. She said she wanted to see Olive stay around the 120'ish range and nothing below 70 for sure. She would still be happy if she stayed at 200. She said Olive is probably one of those cats that stay at a higher number naturally and that at that level isn't going to harm her. She said her BG is up right now because she's not eating on her own and being force fed and this is stressing her out. I'm stressed out because I'm having to force feed and Olive is picking up on my stress too making it worse. For the time being, until we can find something she'll eat and want to eat, she said to continue with the .12 IU but that once Olive is eating on her own again she wants to pull Olive off the juice for a week and see what happens. She totally believes Olive will go OTJ at some point. So that's the good news. And what I found totally amazing is that she's the one who doesn't believe in the raw food approach, but now that she's seen the labs and my notebook and stuff with her own eyes, she told me today to KEEP HER ON RAW because it's been exactly what Olive's body has needed. So that was very nice to hear. Her thoughts are that Olive will actually FEEL BETTER if her insulin doesn't drop below 70. She's been treating diabetic cats for 35 years. I guess some cats do better lower and others higher. She also said to only test a few times in a 8-12 hour period now and she'll do better too not being pricked.
So how do I get her to eat? I've tried enticing with baby food, liver flakes, Purina RX probiotic packets, warming her food, Different proteins, I've watered down FF which she used to love and sprinkle on top. She actually did lick up a quarter size of the liquid on her own so that gave me a little hope. I've put her back on Primal turkey to see if that helps. So far nothing is really doing it. I've tried a lot of the suggestion you guys have given me so I'm up for anything else you can think of. If Olive is FINE, then why won't she eat on her own anymore? You'd think she'd get so hungry she'd eat. Maybe I should hold off on food the entire day until shot time and see if that sparks her to eat on her own.
I'm really at a loss, gang. It's stressing me out so much and no doubt stressing Olive out to the max. She's so upset with me she stays behind furniture or under the covers just to avoid me. She has stopped being the happy kitty she used to be.


