11/30 Nico +10- 80,+11/amps- 87,+1-189,+2- 228, pmps- 406,+3.5- 85,+5- 83

You'd told me not to worry about testing until either his +3 or 4, so I did 3.5.
I think I albeit for 2hrs earlier this afternoon, but I'm still exhausted. And I'm in so much pain, as I had to have the bright bedroom light on almost the entire time from when his drop hit till around 6am. I'm allergic to all visible light, and amongst other things, it makes me feel like I have the flu when exposed to too much light. I just now finally took a muscle relaxer to help with that. But need to know if I have to set the alarm to test him again since he dropped do low after that 406. It seems to me, like he might be insulin sensitive? Unless I don't understand that term right.
And yes, he just ate after the 3.5 test
 
Bhooma told me not to worry about testing until either his +3 or 4, so I did 3.5.
You mean Elise :-) Yeah, normally one would have expected him to stay higher after a token dose this morning and that super-high PMPS, but I guess cat's decide to keep us on our toes.

I hope you feel better soon. You're also seriously sleep deprived!

Can you get a test at +4 or +4.5? I know you're exhausted and need to go to bed.
 
You mean Elise :-) Yeah, normally one would have expected him to stay higher after a token dose this morning and that super-high PMPS, but I guess cat's decide to keep us on our toes.

I hope you feel better soon. You're also seriously sleep deprived!

Can you get a test at +4 or +4.5? I know you're exhausted and need to go to bed.
Was it someone else? Sorry. I am tired.😅
Yes, I can set my alarm to make me back up at midnight, cause with the meds I just took, I might pass out. That will be +4.5 if you think it's safe enough to wait to that. If you think he needs to be checked at the +4, I can do it in a few minutes. I want whatever is best for him and can live with some discomfort and sleepy eyes. I do have an amazing book to get back to if we wait fir the +4.5.
I don't know what time it is there, but I don't think many are online here at this hour or later. But I can still get it
 
Yes, leave some food out for him and test at +4.5 or even +5.

I'm in India so it's 10 am for me. I'll be around. :-)
 
Yes, leave some food out for him and test at +4.5 or even +5.

I'm in India so it's 10 am for me. I'll be around. :-)
I can go get him food, and I know he'll eat it that his appetite is back. But would that falsely elevate his numbers if I test within 30min after his food? Just want to check before I do. And if you think 5 is better, I can do that.
 
Yes. Please feed him. Leave some food out and test later. Food can helps keep numbers flat and prevents further dips in active cycles.
 
Finally got a chance to get caught up on yesterday and today in Nicoland.

I have an alternate suggestion for his dose tomorrow morning, and it's to go down to 3.0 units. I'll give my reasoning. Last night was his 3rd cycle on 3.25 units and he dove down low. Normally we suggest the larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction and not to reduce if he goes lower for the 4 cycles after if following TR. However, there is a caveat to that and it's complicated.

The caveat is if a cat goes below 40 on a human meter, then we strongly suggest a 0.25 unit reduction. That's where the complication lies. He got down to the 50's on your pet meter - twice. We say that below 68 on a pet meter (AT) is comparable to the below 50 on a human meter. Note, not that they are the same values, just that reductions can be done below 68 on the AT. Where it's complicated is that we don't know what "below 40" means on the AT, much less on the Pet test meter. It's possible the 50's on a Pet test meter would be below 40's on a human meter. A Relion test might have been informative, but you were rather busy at the time. We also have a saying that if it's really hard to get a cat above reduction point, and hard to keep him up there, he really wants a reduction.

I know you've commented before on contradictions in suggestions to you. FDMB is an open peer reviewed board. That means that people can give their comments and suggestions on what to do. And sometimes that leads to differing suggestions. Your job is to sift through the rationale given by people and see that makes sense to you. No hard feelings if you pick one suggestion over another.
 
Does this mean I can finally go to sleep for tonight then?
Do I need to feed him again, or do you feel he's good?
What you say about the reduction makes sense to me, and believe me, after yesterday's battle, I won't complain. That was a bit hectic, desperately trying to raise him, which in my opinion, I never did. But I'll take your suggestion of trying him at the 3u tomorrow morning.
I did go out and buy an AT3. If nothing else, just to compare it to my pet one and know that's working, as well as it's the same as my vet uses. So hopefully hasn't the same readings and I don't have to worry about the differences between mine and the AT3 for the ss.
I stopped with the Relion, because while my pet one showed it going up, the Relion went down. And you'd mentioned once before the numbers between my pet and the Relion were too far apart in the lower range. Making me think something's wrong with it? So I just stuck to the one.
 
Hard to say if it was the Relion that was wrong, or the Pet test. Getting a few comparisons with the AT should help.
 
Back
Top