11/30 Nico +10- 80,+11/amps- 87,+1-189,+2- 228, pmps- 406,+3.5- 85,+5- 83

Pmps- 134
+2@10pm- 61
+3@11- 67
+3.5@11:30- 87
+4@12:40- 60
+4.5@1:20- 88
+5.5@2:20- 60 (that was 2nd, got 45 at first and didn't believe it/
+6.25@3:15- 55
+7@4- 75
+8@5- 56
All these test were using the AT?

And you shot an hour late, last night, right? Usual shot time is at 7am/pm? What time is it now for you?
 
@Bandit's Mom
I think I messed up the ss. So I wrote this down at a semi-lucid moment.
Pmps- 134
+2@10pm- 61
+3@11- 67
+3.5@11:30- 87
+4@12:40- 60
+4.5@1:20- 88
+5.5@2:20- 60 (that was 2nd, got 45 at first and didn't believe it/
+6.25@3:15- 55
+7@4- 75
+8@5:00- 56
+8@6:00 80

My '+' and actual times don't match up. But I'm 100% sure on the times as I take pics with my phones camera each test result.
His last test was 6am and he didn't even finish his treats. He's been eating all night long. At 5am, when he was 56, I said screw it and gave him a tiny bit of dry kibble because I've read those carbs can stick with them longer and I really feared what all these super low numbers were doing to him. An hour after that it was up to 80. About to test him again. But I'm so afraid of giving the 3.25 and last night happening all over again.
Using a pet meter
:(
 
Have you been able to get any tests after the 80 an hour ago? Has he eaten since?

What time is it for you and when is his shot due?
 
At 5am he was 56 and at 6am, he was 80. And it's 7am now for you? His usual shot time is 7am but he got his shot at 8pm last night?
Do I have this right?

Has eaten after the kibble at 5am when he was 56?
 
That was a long stressful night for sure. You did great keeping him up. I've given dry kibble too for the same reason, only trouble is you don't see the affect for awhile.

I'm really surprised he's not bouncing, that's great, just gotta let the depot drain a bit. Hope you get a nap in today. 🤗💜
 
87! But this is only his 2nd time above hypo in a row. I'm really afraid of throwing him head first into another 12hr event. But I want to do what's right for him. I'm just lost as to what that is.
Thanks
 
At 5am he was 56 and at 6am, he was 80. And it's 7am now for you? His usual shot time is 7am but he got his shot at 8pm last night?
Do I have this right?

Has eaten after the kibble at 5am when he was 56?
Yes that's right. No, aside from his treats he hasn't eaten. I figured in giving him that dry carb kibble, it would help boost him up for more than just 30-40min, which is what he's done all night/morning long.
It's 7:30 now.
 
Yes that's right. No, aside from his treats he hasn't eaten. I figured in giving him that dry carb kibble, it would help boost him up for more than just 30-40min, which is what he's done all night/morning long.
It's 7:30 now.
So it's now 2.5 hours since he had the HC dry food?


When did he have ketones? Only at diagnosis? Do you test regularly for ketones?
 
I see that you tested for ketones on 11/26 and it was negative.

With a history of ketones, we don't recommend a skip. How about a token dose? Would you be OK with giving him 1U?
 
OK. Will that be enough? Like I said, I'm a bit terrified of giving him a shot at this point. But I've never been through this, and don't know what I'm supposed to do. I also don't want to lose all the great progress he'd made. Until yesterday
 
The depot takes 4-6 cycles to adjust to a reduction. What you were seeing yesterday was still the effects of the 3.5U depot. However, given the numbers yesterday, it's possible that you're dealing with an overfull depot and it might not be a bad idea to drain the depot a bit. You've also got no sleep last night and you need to take care of yourself too.

You could try 1U this morning and go back to 3.25U tonight.

Even with a token shot (or a skip), the depot will affect the first part of the cycle, so you want to get tests at +1 and +2.

Have you offered him any food? Is he willing to eat?
 
Ok, giving the 1u. Food's in front of him, but he's taking a while at it so will let you know. He agreed hungry when I came into the room, hollering at me. But he's had some more tasty stuff and eaten all night long. Will see if I can get him back to reading his proper food now. So far no good. Can I shoot him if he refuses food?
 
1
Yes. You have time till onset to get food into him.
Ok.
Right now I so wish I had given him the dry kibble earlier. Is there a 'good' time to do this? In case I go through that sort of thing again? I'm always trying to prepare for what I consider the 'inevitable'.😞
Wish do I do if he still refuses to eat within next 2hrs? Should I ever use an appetite stimulant on him? I'm not giving him the carb food for his entertainment, that's for sure
 
Right now I so wish I had given him the dry kibble earlier. Is there a 'good' time to do this? In case I go through that sort of thing again? I'm always trying to prepare for what I consider the 'inevitable'.😞
You want to avoid giving kibble to the extent possible. If he won't eat, and his numbers are dropping low, you could just apply some honey/syrup to his lips/gums. Not shaming you for feeding kibble - needs must. And last night was one of those crazy cycles and you were all alone.

I don't know how much you fed after each test last night, but you could try feeding smaller quantities - just a tsp - so that he isn't too full to eat every hour.

I don't think it was just the kibble that brought his numbers up. It was later in the cycle and insulin action was waning and any carbs he would have eaten at that time could have had a similar effect. Kibble was all he was willing to eat at that time though!
 
You want to avoid giving kibble to the extent possible. If he won't eat, and his numbers are dropping low, you could just apply some honey/syrup to his lips/gums. Not shaming you for feeding kibble - needs must. And last night was one of those crazy cycles and you were all alone.

I don't know how much you fed after each test last night, but you could try feeding smaller quantities - just a tsp - so that he isn't any too full to eat every hour.

I don't think it was just the kibble that brought his numbers up. It was later in the cycle and insulin action was waning and any carbs he would have eaten at that time could have had a similar effect. Kibble was all he was willing to eat at that time though!
Ok. So, feeding him the kibble might hurt him later in the day? Especially with giving only the 1u? I just can't win here.
I only feed him 1tsp each time, as that's what 1 of the sticky's said, and it didn't seem to do anything for him.
I didn't apply the karo to the gums, because someone had mentioned I could just try adding a few drops to his food. So that's what I did. It's that not as effective? If I need to apply directly to the gums later, how much? I'm sure I read it, but I don't remanded any specifics at the moment.
 
Ok. So, feeding him the kibble might hurt him later in the day? Especially with giving only the 1u? I just can't win here.
No no. What I meant to say was that feeding carbs later in the cycle can boost numbers more than feeding carbs earlier in the cycle when insulin action is stronger. The boost in numbers you saw later in the cycle last night might not have been because you fed kibble rather than HC wet food but also because it was later in the cycle and insulin action was weakening. Does that make sense?

I only feed him 1tsp each time, as that's what 1 of the sticky's said, and it didn't seem to do anything for him.
Yes. In some cycles carbs could have no effect on the numbers - especially in the first part of the cycle. In such cases you might need to just feed honey/syrups which is the highest carbs at the lowest volume.

I didn't apply the karo to the gums, because someone had mentioned I could just try adding a few drops to his food. So that's what I did. It's that not as effective? If I need to apply directly to the gums later, how much? I'm sure I read it, but I don't remanded any specifics at the moment.
Sorry if I confused you. Yes, you can add honey/karo to wet food to increase carb%. But in cases where a cat refuses to eat and numbers are low, the only way to get carbs into them would be to apply the karo/honey to his lips (so he's forced to lick it off) or to his gums.

Hope I am clear?
 
No no. What I meant to say was that feeding carbs later in the cycle can boost numbers more than feeding carbs earlier in the cycle when insulin action is stronger. The boost in numbers you saw later in the cycle last night might not have been because you fed kibble rather than HC wet food but also because it was later in the cycle and insulin action was weakening. Does that make sense?


Yes. In some cycles carbs could have no effect on the numbers - especially in the first part of the cycle. In such cases you might need to just feed honey/syrups which is the highest carbs at the lowest volume.


Sorry if I confused you. Yes, you can add honey/karo to wet food to increase carb%. But in cases where a cat refuses to eat and numbers are low, the only way to get carbs into them would be to apply the karo/honey to his lips (so he's forced to lick it off) or to his gums.

Hope I am clear?
Absolutely clear. Thank you.❤️
Here's to hoping he never goes symptomatic in that lows. I do not look forward to the other way to give the honey or karo.🫣 I'm clear on all now excelling how much are we supposed to give it either honey or karo. I don't remember reading specifics.
I'm trying to redo the ss now that I can think for a minute
 
No no. What I meant to say was that feeding carbs later in the cycle can boost numbers more than feeding carbs earlier in the cycle when insulin action is stronger. The boost in numbers you saw later in the cycle last night might not have been because you fed kibble rather than HC wet food but also because it was later in the cycle and insulin action was weakening. Does that make sense?


Yes. In some cycles carbs could have no effect on the numbers - especially in the first part of the cycle. In such cases you might need to just feed honey/syrups which is the highest carbs at the lowest volume.


Sorry if I confused you. Yes, you can add honey/karo to wet food to increase carb%. But in cases where a cat refuses to eat and numbers are low, the only way to get carbs into them would be to apply the karo/honey to his lips (so he's forced to lick it off) or to his gums.

Hope I am clear?
So is this a bounce, which he loves to do. Or from all those carbs I gave him?
He's still refusing to eat. Probably a mixture between traumatized and stuffed, though he ate a few treats. I had to sing his favorite song to get him out of hiding to test him again. But 189 sure beats 40-50's on my Pet meter!
Oh! I'll keep trying, but should I worry with those high numbers, if he doesn't want to eat for a while?
 
Last edited:
Probably the beginning of a bounce plus the token shot. If he's higher at +2 than he was at AMPS, it's okay for you to take a break from tests and get some much needed zzzzzz!

And it's okay if he doesn't eat when he's high. Might be full from last night and holding out for kibble!
 
Probably the beginning of a bounce plus the token shot. If he's higher at +2 than he was at AMPS, it's okay for you to take a break from tests and get some much needed zzzzzz!

And it's okay if he doesn't eat when he's high. Might be full from last night and holding out for kibble!
What do I do next with him if his numbers start coming down? I know they probably won't, but checking so I won't have to drive you crazy later in case.😁
And thank you SO much! Needless to say, I was super frazzled by the time it was getting to do his morning shot and so lost. I don't know what I would've done without your help, so thank you so much.🥰
 
I have to say that brand of pet meter doesn’t come up here too often. Their website looks nice, strips are expensive. I’m just wondering why you were getting such drastically different numbers last night. I guess your ReliOn could be bad too, that’s happened before. I’d be wanting to get to the bottom of that situation.

And, yes Bhooma is the best.
 
What do I do next with him if his numbers start coming down? I know they probably won't, but checking so I won't have to drive you crazy later in case.😁
Not driving me crazy at all!! Let's see the +2. He's unlikely to be lower. He's going to be a good boy and give you that much needed break!


And thank you SO much! Needless to say, I was super frazzled by the time it was getting to do his morning shot and so lost. I don't know what I would've done without your help, so thank you so much.🥰
Not at all. I still feel bad you were alone at night! :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Oh wow, what a 24 hours you’ve had! Hoping once Nico’s depot drains things will calm down!!
I hope you can get some badly needed rest today 🫂

Great work keeping him safe.
Now Nico, enough with the limes and come up and surf safely! 😻🏄‍♂️🌊💖
 
Not driving me crazy at all!! Let's see the +2. He's unlikely to be lower. He's going to be a good boy and give you that much needed break!



Not at all. I still feel bad you were alone at night! :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
It happens. It's like I have you tell myself about my vet. My cat might be the most important thing to me. But they have others to take care of. I get that. I'm guessing aside from hand holding, there really isn't much that can be done in that situation. And it's bad enough I was up. I would not wish that on another. You were here when I desperately needed help in the morning and I appreciate it.
He did go to. 228. So do I need to test him again today since he's in full swing, until his pmps? Thanks to last night, I was off my box of 200 lancets. Talk about feeling guilty. I've stabbed my baby over 200x now. :( I'll try my best to get some rest now, but my husband had no Quiet Mode and of course, he just turned on the washer. Which is on the opposite side of the wall my bedroom is.😑
 
My little boy still isn't eating. He last ate at 5am. He drinks the broth that comes with his food, but refusing the actual food. I don't even think he even ate the last treats from his last test. I don't know if he's feeling sick from the different foods he ate last night? The bounce is smacking him around. Full still? Or something else. Should I worry?
And yes, I was actually able to get a couple hours rest in there. I'm just nervous with it being so long without food.
Thanks!
 
I'm glad he's at least drinking the broth - that's better than nothing, I think! I wish I had advice to offer but I'm a bit out of my depth. I hope things straighten out and get easier quickly. Sending all my best thoughts to you both. 💚
 
He’s likely full and perhaps his tummy is a bit off from the food mix. Since he’s bouncing no worries if he doesn’t want food now.
Oh! Since we're trying to clear out his vault some at only giving him the 1u this morn, does that mean he can go back to his 7pm feeding and then shot? Or is that just wishful thinking? 😅
 
The short, in case someone can answer this...
Stalled last night's from 7 to 8.
Horrible night of lows.
Gave him a token dose of 1u at 8.
Going back to 3 25u tonight.
**Due to it only being 1u, can I shoot the 3.25u around 7 as usual? Or still at 8?
Thank you
 
Let’s see the pmps. You could shoot a half hour early tonight and again tomorrow nght to get back on schedule for sure. Your boy just might have a different plan though.
 
Back
Top