11/30 Michelangelo AMPS 283, +3/131, +4/166, +9/347

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.
Not sure what happened this morning, but it looks like his nadir hit only three hours after I gave him his dose. confused_cat

Looking back over his previous mornings, I see that this has actually happened a couple of other times and possibly more (I have a hard time testing him the first few hours after his AMPS shot because I'm working). It makes me wonder if on all those previous days he seemed to flatline around +6 was because his nadir had actually occurred much earlier??

He doesn't seem to have this problem at night with his nadir around +5/+6, so I don't know what to make of it all. Is his kitten metabolism screwing with me again? I swear he thinks this is funny.... :roll:

I was planning on increasing his dose tomorrow, but now I'm not so sure. Maybe to a fat 1u still?

In other news, I stopped by my vet's today to drop off a copy of Mikey's spreadsheet and some of the info I printed out (catinfo.org, AAHA guidelines) and to get his email address again (since I lost it) so I could send him that email finally. There were quite a few people in there and when he saw me, he immediately smiled and asked me where that email was that I was supposed to send. Once it had cleared out a bit, I showed him and the two lab techs/vet assist. everything I had brought and they were very complimentary and interested in all the information I had learned and asked me if I wanted to come work for them (I assume they were jesting). :lol: Then, as I was leaving, they asked if they could use me as a referral. :mrgreen: Yay!!!! I love my vet! I'm so happy they're open to everything I've been learning and I'm so glad that it wasn't willful ignorance on their part; just a lack of knowledge. :thumbup
 
It really sounds like you have a great vet!

I suspect you are thinking that nadirs should always fall mid-cycle. They don't. Some cats have early nadirs, some late, and some play by the rule book and have a mid-cycle nadir. And just to make things even more interesting, the nadir can shift around. If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see her nadir is typically at around +3 or +4 and then some cycles it's later. The bottom line is that the nadir isn't a fixed point. It does move and it has little to do with Mikey being a kitten. Where his age may effect numbers is that kittens are very active and as a result, burn off their food more quickly. That may end up having an effect on BG.

I think you have room to increase Mikey's dose.
 
Yeah me too sienne, what do you think 1.25? Or fat 1?

It's great you have such a supportive vet, you are charting unknown waters for future diabetic kittens... It's so great!

Tiggys nadir moves around too, depends whether he is bouncing or not..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top