11/30 - Maverick PMPS 90 Dose decreased +3 61+4 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30951

it looks to me like you could try a dose reduction. maverick has been doing very well on this dose for a couple weeks. since he's a newly diagnosed kitty, you could reduce by 0.25 unit. good luck with the reduction!

So I chickened out. I did a 1 Thin this morning. Just curious about why a dose decrease will possibly work - does the pancreas work harder to make up for the insulin decrease? Just wondering why he isn't dropping on his own if his pancreas is healing (when the insulin dose isn't adjusted).

Thanks guys.
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick AMPS 94 - chickened out on the decrease

Good luck with the new dose. You shot a skinny 1.0u instead of .75u, correct? It can be shown on the SS as S1.0u.

ETA: It would be good to get PM checks at night to see where he is going. Lots of kitties get their lowest numbers during the PM cycle, so at least a before bed time check should be done. And by the way, this reduction today is not really chickening out Karrie ;-) ..going form a F1.0u to a S1.0u is a good sized dosecrease. That was great! Let's see how Maverick does on this reduced dose!
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick AMPS 94 - chickened out on the decrease

Mavericks readings look great!
Its always nice to see when a kitty does so well.
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick AMPS 94 - chickened out on the decrease

I don't know the answer to your question but I do know that sure is a nice amps! Keep up the great work guys and have a great day!
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick AMPS 94

You guys are the best.

I have a hard time remembering his test numbers just going from upstairs to downstairs. Crazy how I can't remember such small numbers. Oh well stairs are good for the heart I guess.

I didn't expect him to be at 70 at +4.3hrs. Cool. He's eaten a pile this morning too - his appetite has been as good as when he was first diagnosed - which was abnormal for him. I really expected his appetite to die off. I never ever expected that I may have to ration his food. We'll see what the combo of insulin and appetite does to his weight. I want him to stay just where he is - no more losing.

Eager to see what the next few days brings. Have to remember how exactly I did the skinny shot this morning so I can replicate it as close as possible tonight.
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick AMPS 94

Wow Maverick's numbers are a thing of beauty. You guys are doing so well. Keep it up and you may have a short stay here at Lantus Land.
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick AMPS 94

Karrie, it won't hurt to try the decrease, and if Maverick's numbers rise, you can always go right back up to the F1.0u. So far, it looks like he's liking the reduction just fine! I'm glad his appetite is continuing to be good, I know that's a concern for you.

If you are worried about consistency, you could take a syringe and measure the dose using milk, and keep it in the fridge for comparison.

I saw the question you asked in Bid's condo. Not saying this is what will happen with Bid, because it's too soon to say...but some newly diagnosed kitties do go OTJ quickly with a diet change and insulin for a short time. Some kitties go into remission without insulin, but I think the common belief here is that it may lead to a more durable remission if insulin is used for a period of time to take the strain off the pancreas and allow it to heal.
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick AMPS 94

Ahhh - thanks for answering the question on BID here. I wish I had known that when Maverick was first diagnosed. He was in remission from Feb - September :(

Great idea on the milk - very smart! :cool: I'll be doing that for sure.

I am so nervous about a dose decrease for some reason. I think in the beginning I was excited for it, seeing all the OTJ posts and videos. Its such a small decrease too. I had posted before - I think my 1.0 Fat got more and more conservative and was just a 1.0 really lol.

Thanks Laurie.
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick AMPS 94

Karrie, you caught him coming out of remission quickly, and you have him on the right path. You did and are doing a GREAT job with Maverick, so no regrets, ok? That does not mean that the reason he came out of remission is because you didn't use insulin...there's no way to know if that is true in *his* case. There are plenty of cats who did use insulin that relapse, too! So please just put that out of your head, it won't help to look back and say "what if..." because you can't change it, and it just keeps you from moving forward. :YMHUG:

I'm excited to see the decrease! Go Maverick!
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick PMPS 90 Dose decreased

Well I did it, I reduced his dose as close as possible to .75. I practiced with milk and have a reference syringe for next time. Thanks again for that suggestion.

No idea what his numbers will do. No clue what to expect.
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick PMPS 90 Dose decreased

I've been falling asleep reading condos lately. How do you guys keep up?

I was just reading Do Lou's condo and the 29 number today. Do cats often surprise you with a really low number like that out of the blue? What would cause such a low number? I think I'm supposed to ask questions in my own condo... just want to learn in advance of having to actually deal with these things personally.
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick PMPS 90 Dose decreased

Actually, you reading other condo's is a good way to learn and pick up on how to deal with those low number situations. Good for you!
Some kitties can nose dive into those low numbers, and some don't go that low, Luna's lowest ever recorded was in the 30's. Can you say panic? :shock:

I think you're doing great with Maverick by the way! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick PMPS 90 Dose decreased

as far as i understand it when decreasing/increasing the dose a +1 and +2 are a must so you see where he is going....also a more diligent curve if possible....those scary low #s are puzzling to me too....i still don't get it....hopefully you will get the answer and do share if you do ;-)

nice pmps for Maverick and who knows his stay here may be a short one....which is good!
 
Re: 11/30 - Maverick PMPS 90 Dose decreased +3 61

Wow the +3 really surprised me especially considering he got a dose decrease. Would this be a result of the shed draining - if it happens that quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top