11/30 Cobb AMPS 266,+2 209,+6 338 +8 475 +10 491 PMPS 454

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/30 Cobb AMPS 266,+2 209,+6 338 +8 475 +10 491 PMPS 45

they work slightly differently, so maybe. but the point is that a 2u dose of insulin got him into the 30's.

i don't know exactly how to answer the rest of your question - with most of FD, what we do is look forward. i think your decision to restart at 2u has some good reasoning behind it. we'll see what happens over the next 4-6 cycles and then decide what to do next.

one of the most frustrating parts of this is having to take things one cycle at a time. the numbers we see influence what we do next. so for now, you've made a decision to go to the 2u, let's hang with that for at least 4 shots unless he gets below 50.
 
Re: 11/30 Cobb AMPS 266,+2 209,+6 338 +8 475 +10 491 PMPS 45

julie & punkin (ga) said:
they work slightly differently, so maybe. but the point is that a 2u dose of insulin got him into the 30's.
I did edit that dosage after looking back. It was 4u that got him into the 30s, but yes...the point stands.

I'll monitor his BGs closely now that I've reduced it. Hope to see some good numbers!
 
Re: 11/30 Cobb AMPS 266,+2 209,+6 338 +8 475 +10 491 PMPS 45

just to double-check - did you switch syringes when you switched from Prozinc to Lantus? you are using u-100 syringes now, right?
 
Re: 11/30 Cobb AMPS 266,+2 209,+6 338 +8 475 +10 491 PMPS 45

julie & punkin (ga) said:
just to double-check - did you switch syringes when you switched from Prozinc to Lantus? you are using u-100 syringes now, right?

Yes. We are on u-100 syringes.
 
Re: 11/30 Cobb AMPS 266,+2 209,+6 338 +8 475 +10 491 PMPS 45

I'm glad to see you thinking things through. You have to be comfortable with what you're doing.

In the original Tight Regulation protocol (as opposed to our modified version), there is a provision for increasing the dose faster for cats with consistently high/flat curves:

However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.
If you look at the top of my Jazzy's spreadsheet, you can see that that is what I did. When I got her, I reduced her dose to 3u (was 7u), but then because her numbers stayed mostly over 300 I increased by 0.5u every 4-6 cycles until her numbers started to move. It didn't take too long. Then I slowed down to be sure I didn't pass a good dose. Her "good dose" at that time turned out to be about 7 units, which is where she was when I first got her, so reducing her dose did turn out to be a bit of a waste of time. Oh well. :lol:

Since you have made a significant dose reduction, what I would suggest would be to gather as much data as you can so if Cobb needs to be fast-tracked, you can do that with confidence. Looking at your PZI numbers, I tend to think he will end up needing to go up in dose a good bit, but we'll see! I also agree with the others who have suggested ketone testing. That is important when you have reduced the dose.
 
Re: 11/30 Cobb AMPS 266,+2 209,+6 338 +8 475 +10 491 PMPS 45

Libby and Lucy said:
...I also agree with the others who have suggested ketone testing. That is important when you have reduced the dose.
I know it's imperative when rebooting cats on a high dose. :smile:

Suzanne, do you understand how to test for ketones? Trace ketones might be an early indicator of not enough insulin.

Pick up ketone test strips at any pharmacy ($10 or less) and follow the directions to test Cobb's urine for ketones. You can post the results here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top