11/30 Chloe's biggest jump ever!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roberta and Chloe

Member Since 2020
PMPS was 35, then a couple hours later she was at 164 and I gave her one unit dose. This morning, she woke me up crying and peeing on the bed. She was at HI. I gave her 1 unit immediately. I hope I did the right thing. I'll test her in an hour.
 
I've been checking Chloe every 1-2 hours and she's been HI all day. She doesn't seem lethargic because she jumped onto the bed and she's been nibbling and drinking. I missed getting a ketone check. Vet said to inject .5 dose which I did at 3:20 pm, which is +9. I've been posting everything in the Lantus thread, but I would like some more opinions after you read through those. Gill has been helping a lot.
 
Hi Roberta,

I've been posting everything in the Lantus thread, but I would like some more opinions after you read through those.
I've read the replies you've received on the Lantus thread linked above.

The advice you have been given on the Lantus thread is rock solid. Everyone replying to that thread is doing their level best to help you to keep Chloe safe.

I, too, am concerned that you will not consider reducing the dose that brought Chloe down to 35 - possibly even lower. I don't think that's a safe course of action. The bounce could clear at any time and you'll still be left with the problem of too big a depot and that carries the risk of Chloe's numbers dropping too low again. I'm also concerned about your dosing at erratic intervals. Please listen to the advice that @Sienne and Gabby (GA) has given you in this respect.

I appreciate that because of Chloe's DKA history you get very spooked by high numbers, but low numbers are more dangerous.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Hi Roberta,


I've read the replies you've received on the Lantus thread linked above.

The advice you have been given on the Lantus thread is rock solid. Everyone replying to that thread is doing their level best to help you to keep Chloe safe.

I, too, am concerned that you will not consider reducing the dose that brought Chloe down to 35 - possibly even lower. I don't think that's a safe course of action. The bounce could clear at any time and you'll still be left with the problem of too big a depot and that carries the risk of Chloe's numbers dropping too low again. I'm also concerned about your dosing at erratic intervals. Please listen to the advice that @Sienne and Gabby (GA) has given you in this respect.

I appreciate that because of Chloe's DKA history you get very spooked by high numbers, but low numbers are more dangerous.


Mogs
.
For right now, I'm keeping her at .75 and all day today she was in the blue range. I'm also trying very hard to keep her shots 12 hours apart and to test, feed, and shoot within 10 minutes. I'm also using the refridgerator light and being very careful that there's insulin in the syringe. She's been in the blues all day today which makes me very happy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top