11/30 Blitzen AMPS 93 +12, 208 +7, 255 +12

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/30 Blitzen AMPS 93 +12

Are you going to be around to test today?

Looks like Blitzen might still be feeling the effects of that 2U dose he got yesterday. Although I hate changing doses all the time, I wonder if a .5U would be better today to help drain the depot some more.
 
Re: 11/30 Blitzen AMPS 93 +12

I have a wake to go to today but won't be gone very long. Things is it's right about the time that he would be at his lowest.
 
Re: 11/30 Blitzen AMPS 93 +12

Can you leave him by himself in a room with some food and a litter box? That way if he gets low he has food to eat. If not, given how much he's been coming down, it might not be safe to shoot if you aren't there to monitor.

Sorry for your loss. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/30 Blitzen AMPS 93 +12

Yes I can Wendy. This is the part I get anxiety ...the guessing game. I did give him 0.50 (1/2 unit ) and see where we go from there. I remember having this with Dasher so I think it will be ok. Blitzen is way too spoiled as this morning I could only get him to eat if I held his plate on the back part of the chair while he ate...we create are own monsters :shock:
I should of known better then to push the 2 units , hind site is 20/20 , I'll be sure to give myself a slap later :-D

Thanks once again everyone.
 
Re: 11/30 Blitzen AMPS 93 +12

I'd get a test before you go, and then you can decide if you need to leave him with some higher carb food to keep him safe while you are gone.
 
Re: 11/30 Blitzen AMPS 93 +12

Wendy&Neko said:
I'd get a test before you go, and then you can decide if you need to leave him with some higher carb food to keep him safe while you are gone.
Will do.
 
Re: 11/30 Blitzen AMPS 93 +12, 208 +7

Going to stick with 1 U , thinking I should of gave that in the AM and not 0.50
 
Would you mind labeling the spreadsheets at the bottom of your signature line so we know which is Blitzen's? That would be so helpful! thanks!

With a depot insulin, one of the examples people here use is that you are steering a barge. You give a slight adjustment in dose and then you wait to see if you've got the barge headed in the right direction. You often won't see a quick response to the change, so you want to wait and see if it's headed where you want it to go.

With a non-depot insulin, it's like adjusting the steering of a speedboat. Little turn of the steering wheel, big and immediate response.

You're steering a barge with Blitzen, so unless there are other unusual circumstances, you'll want to stick with a dose for 6 cycles most of the time unless he's gone below 50 and earned a dose reduction.
 
I'm going to stick with the 1u for the next 6 cycles as suggested and if he goes below 50 I'll ask for direction. I should of never reduced to the 0.5 this morning but stuck with the 1U.
Thanks for you help.
 
hi Robin
good luck with Blitzen. i love that steering the barge analogy. that really helps me to understand it. i hope he stabilizes soon for you. take care
Nadine & Tibbs
 
It was OK going to .5U this morning. The goal was to get rid of the effects of the 2U dose you did yesterday. Plus you weren't going to be home today during his nadir time and you started in green. It was the safe option. Going back to 1U tonight was a good decision.
 
Ok good , I'm glad we're all on the same page with the 1U.
Thanks for always being here for me as I sometimes really think I can't do this . I hope someday I can learn to take it all in stride like you guys do.

:-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top