11/30 Autumn amps 212, +6~83, pmps~238, +3~274

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
We are coming back to posting a daily condo for awhile since I'm finding that now that both Onyx and my Mom have crossed over I need a new routine. <sigh> I got so use to the last few months of having to check on mom and give Onyx meds that now that I don't have those responsibilities to do I'm at kind of a loss. Plus right now while I still feel like I'm moving through a dream that I can't wake up from I could use the extra eyes on Autumn's spreadsheet just in case I'm missing something.

Overall I think we are doing pretty well, and hopefully when I can finally get her in for a dental I can get her even lower and hopefully OTJ. Unfortunately the money that was set aside for her dental went to Onyx's vet bills,and the soonest they can get her in for a dental is next year. Although I was pleasantly surprised that yesterday when I went to pick up Onyx's ashes and pay his final bill, the sum total of that bill was $15.78 + $50 cremation fee. Now there should have been at least 2 after hours emergency office calls and at least one more set of xrays but my wonderful vet decided not to charge me for those services. All that was on his bill besides the creamation fee was the last batch of meds that I picked up for him.

Then yesterday not only did we get a sympathy card for Onyx from them along with a lovely yellow rose, we also got a sympathy card for mom from them as well. On mom's card was a list of all the pets that they had seen for the family over the years that have passed on that they had listed as "Welcoming Committee" It was so strange to read those names some I had even forgotten about over the years as some of the names go clear back to when I was little so either they have a great memory or someone did a bit of research through their files to make out that list. But it also brought back some great memories of those long gone furbabies.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/30 Autumn amps 212

*hugs*

Sounds like you have a great vet. :)

Do they maybe offer dental discounts during Pet Dental Health Month? Which is in February. I have a friend who's a vet and she says some practices do that, it's worth asking.
 
Re: 11/30 Autumn amps 212

Mel, what an absolutely wonderful, caring vet you have!

Glad to see you back, and I truly hope that you are blessed with only good news and good health for everyone for the rest of the year and well beyond 2013. (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
Re: 11/30 Autumn amps 212, +6~83

Mel, I am so sorry to hear about your mom. I know you posted that she on hospice care and not doing well, but I hadn't know that she had passed already. It is so touching what the vet's office did in naming her welcoming committee. Whatever the source of those names, it was a very thoughtful and loving thing to do. Yes, you do have a great vet - in the "great" being the whole picture and not just in health care.

I also know what you mean about being at a loss when one of your charges has crossed over. It makes you feel like you are forgetting something important! I can only imagine what it is like for you with both Onyx and your mom gone from your daily priority list.

Autumn looks like she is doing pretty well, as you say, right now. My only suggestion would be to make any dose changes in very small increments. Like, you are at a fat .5u now. If she were to drop into the 40s, you would probably want to only go to a reg .5u and not lower.

So sorry that her dental has to wait now. It will be "next year" sooner than we know it though.
 
Re: 11/30 Autumn amps 212, +6~83

Yeah I figure from here on out if and when she goes below 40 I will just reduce her drop by drop until there are no more drops to reduce by. :-D

I had to let Onyx go at 11:15am on November 14th, and by 8:30pm that same day we got the call to come quick if we wanted to say goodbye to mom. She hung on until just shortly after midnight Saturday morning right after Black Friday, needless to say Black Friday will always have a secondary meaning for me now. At the very end mom was telling me how nice it was that I brought her favorite cat to see her (Onyx was her favorite) and that her poodle Sugar was there as well. Now while mom knew that Sugar had passed many years ago, we hadn't told her about Onyx.

One of the most bittersweet parts was that towards the end mom got very scared that she wasn't going to go to Heaven, until the animals started showing up..If Sugar could come to me than I must be going to Heaven because that is where he was..direct quote from my mom. This from a woman that all her life collected Angels, in the end it wasn't an angel (in the classic sense) that came to collect her and guide her through the veil but all the dogs and cats that she had loved over the years. I would have thought if it was just her mind trying to give her comfort she would have seen one of her beloved angels, and I guess in a way she did, just those angels crept in on four feet. I know it was probably on my clothes and dropped on mom's blankets when I went to kiss her good-bye but on the last day after she was petting something on the blanket that we couldn't see, I spotted a shed cat claw that I now have in her funeral card. Why did I keep something like that? Because mom never had a cat that bed. The last cat in the house was Marmie and she passed almost a year ago and everything on that bed including the bed itself was new. (It was a rental hospital bed) so I can only wonder which angel kitty left it.

And yes I feel like I'm forgetting something very important all the time right now. But my incredible DH is already making noises about that fact that there is a vacancy at the inn...lol. He keeps asking if the Diabetic Kitty Store has any long haired males in stock...lol. But I've told him they are fresh out at the moment but if they get one in stock HE has to learn to test and shoot..lol. That should insure that at least for awhile there will be no additions to the family, because big bad tough man I married who can slice his own hand open with a tile knife, whimpers like a baby everytime Autumn gets her ear poked in front of him. :roll: He just can't stand to see any of the furry babies hurt, and I can't convince him that it really doesn't hurt her.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/30 Autumn amps 212, +6~83

Mel sorry about your mom and Onyx. That's really an amazing story about the shed angel claw. It would perhaps be even as amazing if it is Onyx's claw (very possible) and it came in by then on your clothing. Isn't that the way these things work, and also that you zeroed in on it?

And you have to feel it was fate that you found yourself back home to spend that time with her, through all the ups and downs, because you will also have that with you always as well.

And not to get back on topic but Autumn Solstice's SS is really an interesting study.

You generally have all those extra spot checks and the somewhat distinctive dose changes. Which allows tracking those changes as they filter down through the depot in all the spot checks. There is a wealth of info/data about the Levemir depot there. And of course Autumn's famous super *low* surfing always makes me feel silly to freak over every 49, and test 21 hours a day.. The lowest I ever recorded for Chip was a 34 on NPH. At the time I really didn't know it was anything I needed to "do" anything about other than lower the dose. Which I did. And Chip was back surfing blue all day the next day. On NPH. Weeks later he was unofficially OTJ, exactly one year ago this month.

Who will be the next to go OTJ after Cami?
 
Re: 11/30 Autumn amps 212, +6~83

Oh, Mel, I am sorry to hear about your mom but what a peaceful passing she had surrounded by her angels who no doubt escorted a beloved fur parent home.
 
Mel, I love that story about your mom and her escorts to heaven - and the claw sheath. I have been doing a (Deepak) Chopra Center 21 day meditation and one day was about "synchrodestiny". There are no coincidences. The messages we need to hear are there if we heed them. Sounds like you 'heard' that one.

I guess you better not tell Jon about Dakota or Tink, huh? And did you see that beautiful girl in FL that looks exactly like Beau? Can't remember her name at the moment. I want all three of them, but the inn is full and my pocket book is empty.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
I guess you better not tell Jon about Dakota or Tink, huh? And did you see that beautiful girl in FL that looks exactly like Beau? Can't remember her name at the moment. I want all three of them, but the inn is full and my pocket book is empty.

lol Now while I would love to snap up Dakota in a heartbeat, or Tink for that matter, Jon has pretty much said Solid black long haired male or another Himmie, but absolutely no more torties...lol Now this isn't the first time I have been given a list of qualification my SO considered impossible to find in one cat and within 2 weeks had a beautiful little girl purring in my house that met all the qualification. ohmygod_smile

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Mel

Glad see you back.

For the spouse ... maybe get him testing himself so he feel how minor it is.
 
I agree with BJM.

Last Sunday, my mom was here for dinner, which also encompassed Pumbaa's testing/feeding/shooting time. Mom finally paid attention, and was AMAZED at how calmly Pumbaa sat on my lap while I pricked his ear and drew the blood, and how calmly he stood there, eating, while I injected the insulin. Mom has seen firsthand how her two cats fight me to give eye drops and pills. Mom now concedes that my cats are better behaved than hers. *LOL*

But I digress...
Jon has seen you test and shoot FD cats for years, and should realize that, if done correctly, it doesn't hurt them or cause them trauma.

Is Jon just squeamish about needles in general?
 
MommaOfMuse said:
lol Now while I would love to snap up Dakota in a heartbeat, or Tink for that matter, Jon has pretty much said Solid black long haired male or another Himmie, but absolutely no more torties...lol Now this isn't the first time I have been given a list of qualification my SO considered impossible to find in one cat and within 2 weeks had a beautiful little girl purring in my house that met all the qualification. ohmygod_smile

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Hmmm, let's see, solid black, male, 9 years old, sweet, neutered, medium haired and best of all - OTJ - meet Soldier!

:razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top